We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Celebrity

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Celebrity
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

My elderly parents and I stayed at this hotel at the end of Oct 2013. Although the hotel looks unimpressive from outside it is lovely inside. The staff were friendly and helpful. My parents room was fantastic with an Elvis theme, although the lighting was poor for older eyes. My room was a single at a great price. It was small but comfortable. A headboard on the bed would have been good because it was hard to sit up on the bed to watch TV and my pillows fell off the bed most nights! The pillows were a bit hard so my advice is to take your own. The rooms were very clean! Breakfast was good with a reasonable choice. The evening meal was great with good choice on the menu. Brilliant location close to town nd beach - reasonably quiet. The parking was a pain as I had to drive my elderly parents to places then could not park when I got back! This would have been ok if it was just me as I would probably have walked everywhere and left the car in a space! Or perhaps if the hotel encouraged more able people to park in their rear car park this may have eased the situation!

Room Tip: Single room on first floor - small but quiet. Room 117 was brilliant! Very good for older or disable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie2627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Annie2627,
Thank you very much for your feed-back!
We are very glad your parents had a comfortable stay in our fantastic accessible room dedicated to Elvis and ideal for wheelchair users and people less able to stand....and if you are not an Elvis fan and still need accessible facilities, we have our Frank Sinatra room with same standards and comfort! I'm sorry to hear you had some issues with our free car park. Our car park is on first come first served basis but we do reserve parking spaces for blue badge holders when informed in advance, and if you move your car afterwards, come to see us at reception and we hold the space for when you come back. Please, for your next visit, let us know and it will be a pleasure to reserve a space for your parents! Thank you for your comment on the single room, it has been passed on to our maintenance department!
We all hope to welcome you again soon,
Kindest regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    412
    172
    65
    59
See reviews for
196
499
79
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex england
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We just stayed one night at the Hotel celebrity and enjoyed it, the room was old fashioned and has not been renovated yet,it was spotlessly clean and had free Wifi.tea and coffee and free parking.The bed was lovely and comfortable and the room was really warm,the floorboards were the creakiest Ive ever heard,especially in the room above.The staff were lovely and very helpful.The breakfast was lovely with a good choice of food.We would definately stay here again but would book a renovated room next time with quieter floor boards.It is in a good location with a little walk to the beach.The hotel theme was great with amazing pictures and art deco style areas .

Room Tip: Request a renovated room as the rooms are old fashioned with very creaky floorboards
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bensnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
THANK YOU bensnan for your lovely review!
We are very glad you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Some of our rooms are still waiting to be refurbished, but as you mentioned, they are spotlessly clean. For your next stay with us, give us a call and we will upgrade you to a lovely, refurbished, modern room for just a small extra sum. From £10 you can upgrade to a newly refurbished room and have a great value experience!
Many thanks again,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed in November 2013 for one night with friends. This hotel is very clean, the rooms are big, the beds are comfy. The staff were friendly. This hotel is very good value for money as some other places I've stayed at in Bournemouth were definitley not upto the same standard (for the same price, or more!). It's just a short walk to the beach and shops and parking is free!

I cannot fault this hotel and we will be returning next time we come to Bournemouth. Would reccomend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RDJ1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear RDJ1990,
Thank you for your lovely comments, they mean a lot to all of us at Hotel Celebrity!
We are very glad you had a very good value for money experience and you found the hotel to be clean, spacious, comfortable and friendly!
We all hope to welcome you again very soon, perhaps for a longer break.
Please, give us a call and book direct for best rates and discount voucher!
Kindest regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We picked this hotel from other good reviews we read on trip advisor, and most people are correct, we wanted a good reasobable priced hotel for a couple of nights as we were taking our little boy to see the James bond car exhibition at Beaulieu and we had never been to Bounemouth.

When we first arrived the reception staff were lovely and very helpful, the room was not ready, but it was not a problem we just left the car and went for a walk about. The room we had was not a refurburbed one but was clean and plenty of space, the public space that had been refurbed was lovely and my little boy loved all the pictures on the walls.

The Sunday night we were there was the night of the bad storms so we decided to eat in the hotel, the food was lovely, my only criticism is that there was only one member of staff waiting on! It took quite a while to to be served and waited ages for the bill!

The breakfast the next morning was great and the staff in there were very helpful.

We enjoyed our stay and would return, it would be nice to stay in a new refurbished room, thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickyrobmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you very much Nickyrobmax for your lovely review, it really means a lot!
Our staff is very thankful for your kind appreciation of their helpfulness and so am I!
Glad to know you found your room to be spacious and clean and our dinner to be lovely, I'm sorry the service was on the slow side on the Sunday, Sundays were our quietest nights and we use to have only one waiter, things have changed now as we are getting busier, even if in low season, and our restaurant is getting ever so popular.
We all look forward to welcoming you again when next in Bournemouth; for your next visit, please, give us a call, it will be a real pleasure making sure you get the best rate for our lovely, refurbished rooms.
Thank YOU from all the staff!
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend end October/November. Both our rooms including the bathrooms were clean and functional. Room 128 was no problem for us other than the television was placed too high for comfortable viewing. There were some rowdy guests at the hotel for one of our nights but hotel management cannot take responsibility for badly behaved guests other than ban them from future visits. Well done for providing hangers that were not attached to the rail! The dinners were delicious and the breakfasts as expected. All the staff were very helpful. For what we paid, it was very good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie212013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Annie212013,
Thank you very much for your kind feed-back, it is really appreciated!
We are glad to know you found our hotel to be clean and functional and very happy about your lovely comments about our "delicious dinners", our dinner offer is proving ever so popular and our Chefs are thrilled to know our guests love our homemade, hearty food!
We occasionally have to deal with disruptive guests, as most hotels, and we make sure they don't come back. Thank you for your understanding.
We all hope to welcome you again in the near future for another "Good value" experience.
Book direct for best rates!
Many thanks,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights the last week of October. Receptionist was very friendly. Our room was at the end of the corridor so we had lots of light coming in from the windows.Could possibly have heavy curtains as well as the blinds to keep our the early morning light but as the hotel is still being refurbished, this may happen. Within five to ten minutes of being in our room we had a call from reception asking how we liked the room. Thought that was a nice touch. The room was compact but big enough for two. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable. It had a nice large flat screen TV and the wardrobe was very big. The room was warm at all times.There was a note that we could ask for more blankets, tea, coffee etc which was helpful. The bathroom was also very clean but had a very small bath - I am 5 ft 4 but my legs were quite scrunched up. Didn't become aware of this until the 2nd night so a bit late in the day to change rooms even if one was available. Shower worked well though and there is liquid hand soap and a shower/shampoo jel for use.

At one end of the room was a door which is now blocked/locked off but connects to another room. Once that guest arrived we could hear everything they were doing in their room and of course the hotel can not be blamed for noisy guest with habits you would rather not know about. Think the next two nights there were two different guest staying and they were much quieter but when we could hear the guest it was as if they were in the room with us. Its just unfortunate that the rooms are only have a normal door between them and their is no sound proofing.

Breakfast was good with a choice of food and the staff were very smiley and polite.

Hotel was a two three minute walk away from the beach and a few minutes more to the main shops. Train station about ten minutes.

All in all I would stay again but avoid that same room.The hotel is very competitive, we have stayed at other hotels this year and paid £30 more per night where the breakfast and standard of cleaning was not as good.

Room Tip: Avoid room 128 unless you know the people in the opposite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucynits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you Lucynits for your fair review,
it's great to know you had a positive overall experience with us and I'm sorry to hear you were not too happy with the room next door and size of the bath. The Hotel has 4 bedrooms that once where joined and as we carry on with our refurbishment process we are rectifying this situation, together with putting curtains as well as blinds.
We are very happy to know you were satisfied with our staff and cleanliness and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon. For your next visit, please, give us a ring and we will make sure you are allocated into a more suitable room and we will give you a discount card for all drinks!
Kind regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

this hotel is situated perfectly for access to the town and beach, looks a little drab from the outside but inside is fab,( It is in the middle of a refurbishment,) staff very friendly and helpful, rooms dated but very clean and comfy beds. Breakfast looked good and tasted OK , but i,m afraid it was cold! that's the only whinge really , would i go back? yes definitely , look forward to seeing what the rooms are like when they get their refurbishment, if the same standard is kept as downstairs, i'm sure the rooms will look fabulous.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cnards48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you Chards48 for your lovely comments.
We are all very glad you had an enjoyable stay and you would definitely come back....this, to us, is the best reward!
I'm very sorry to know your breakfast wasn't as hot as you like it, your comment has been passed on to our Chef, for future reference and for all future guests, please, if there is something that we may improve, ask one of our friendly staff, they are always very happy to help, it would have been a pleasure to warm your breakfast up or change it for you, no problem!
I'm glad to know you liked the decor of our public areas and I can confirm our superior rooms are fabulous and airy....book direct with us for your next stay and we will give you our best rate, an upgrade to a superior, refurbished, celebrity-themed bedroom may cost you as little as £5 per person per night extra and offers great value for money!
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#41 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celebrity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celebrity

Property: Hotel Celebrity
Address: 47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celebrity 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tree lined avenue on the East Cliff, just one road back from the sea, the Hotel Celebrity is a family owned and operated hotel that prides itself on friendly and fully trained staff dedicated to spoil you and cater for your requirements, making your stay a memorable one!!!The Head Chef (Owner’s wife) and her brigade have successfully gained an outstanding reputation for providing traditional “home cooked” food. Alternatively, our vibrant Lounge-Bar, with its stylish celebrity-themed décor, is the ideal place to enjoy tasty food and drinks that uplift your spirit without emptying your pockets!!! Each morning, all guests can partake of our complimentary “all you can eat” buffet breakfast (freshly-cooked traditional Full English, fruits, cereals and plenty of coffee to set you up for the day. The Hotel’s comfortable en-suite bedrooms, with their new mattresses and 32” flat screen TVs, offer very good value for money to guests on a budget seeking 3 star accommodation. We offer free off-road parking facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi in the public areas. Superb location, just a ten minute walk from the main bus/coach and railway station, Hotel Celebrity is just a short stroll from Bournemouth sandy beaches, town, Pavilion Theatre and BIC. Whether you are on your own, you’re a family, in a party, on holiday or “down for business”, you can always be sure you will have a warm welcome and a lower priced 3 star accommodation as, we believe, great value for money beats a high price!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Celebrity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bournemouth
Bournemouth Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing