We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value, spoilt only by noise and lack of car parking facilities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Celebrity

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Celebrity
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Ely
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent value, spoilt only by noise and lack of car parking facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel is excellent which offers clean, comfortable accommodation at reasonable prices.
The downside of our room was that it was hot, and needed the windows to be open which meant it was quite noisy. The floorboards in our room creaked , and the bathroom was not up to the standard we had hoped for with a poor shower. Interestingly the water was softened which is quite unusual. The breakfast was a help your self buffet , and was very good , given the price was included in the room rate, and you could eat as much as you like. We were given 10% off vouchers for the bar . Other downsides were the fact we were unable to book a table in the restaurant on the first night and this also meant the car park was full, and we had to park in the road.

However these downsides were more than negated given the reasonable room rate, and the comfortable beds meant my wife and my sister in law booked again for the following week.
This time they had a shower cubicle which was fine so it looks a programme of updating the rooms is underway

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an upgraded bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Gary G,
Thank you very much for your fair review!
We are very glad to know you found the hotel to offer excellent value for money and that you appreciate the fact that there is a refurbishment program and some of our rooms are a bit updated. It is a shame our restaurant was fully booked, it is advisable to book in advance as with our special offer (2 course meal for only £13.45 included coffe and a drink) it does get fully booked occasionally.
We are very glad to know your wife and sister in law upgraded to a refurbished room that offer even better value for money!
We hope to see you again soon and, to enjoy a 20% off all drinks and 10% off food, book direct with the Hotel by calling us and check our own website for the best rates.
Kind regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    413
    174
    65
    59
See reviews for
196
502
79
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

A beaut hotel which offers clean, comfortable and spacious accommodation close to the beach and attractions in Bournemouth. The themed restaurant and the framed star shots provide an unusual atmosphere. Excellent meals. Great value for money. Friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
G'day Anne N and thank you for your lovely review, :-)
Your feed-back is very much appreciated from all the staff and it seems to summerise all the aspects we concentrate our resources on: cleanliness, comfort, excellent meals, great value and friendly staff!
We hope to see you again in the future!
Best wishes,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed her a few days ago, good price and our room was nice enough, recently refurbished by the looks of it. Unfortunately it overlooked the car park and the neighbouring boarded up properties which appeared to have squatters. Was woken up at 4am by lots of banging and glass smashing from these neighbouring properties so did not have a peaceful nights sleep.
Breakfast was very nice, buffet style. Overall it was cheap (£60) for premier room and good enough location but probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Emma W,
Thank you for your review.
I would like to clarify that the Hotel next door has been recently sold and it is now empty. During your stay, some individuals broke in this building causing disruption to our guests, we promptly informed the authorities, as soon as we realised what was going on and they were removed straight away. I appreciate this unprecedented accident may have coloured your opinion of our establishment, but I would like to reassure you and all the readers that this situation lasted one day and has now been rectified. We are glad you enjoyed your room, found it clean and good value for money, had a very nice breakfast and we hope to welcome you again for a peaceful and relaxing stay.
Kind regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I had stayed here for 1 night while down for the martathon weekend and had found the hotel to be clean and no problems. The room could have done with a makeover but it was clean and tidy. The breakfast in the morning was really nice, and had a nice selection. The hotel is only a 5 min walk to the centre of town. I would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gezzer30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you very much gezzer30 for your lovely review!
We are very glad you had an enjoyable stay with us over a very busy week-end, found the hotel clean and had a nice breakfast....with an all-you-can-eat cooked breakfast, sometimes a marathon is what you actually need to run it off! :-)
We really hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have stayed here twice a year since 2009 with a group and have enjoyed each stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable and although some are a bit dated they are gradually being refurbished. The food is second to non and always a good choice. The staff are really great, helpful and friendly whilst being very efficient. I look forward to my next visit in March and thank Ken, Rhona, Roberto and all the other staff for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Anne O,
A big, big THANK YOU for your lovely comments, they really mean a lot to all us!
We are so thankful we have the privilege to welcome you twice a year....since 2009? Gosh....time does fly...yet, we are still young, energetic and always ready to have a good time together! :-)
It's a real pleasure to look after you and your (our) friends over these years and it really does not feel like work, being so enjoyable!
We all look forward to seeing you again in March.
Best wishes,
Roberto and all the Staff at Hotel Celebrity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here in October for one night , the room was very clean with nice sheets, tea and coffee c. One of the best showers I've ever used in a hotel.
Breakfast included was very good, nicely served etc.
the area is quiet and off the main road so we had a good nights sleep.

For the price it was very good and would recommend it. Some things need updating but a good hotel

Room Tip: We had room 244 which was at the side of the hotel , nothing to look out on to but quiet, which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Papoulin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you papoulin for your kind feed-back!
I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay and found the Hotel clean. We have an established great reputation for our very high standards of cleanliness thanks to our housekeeping staff that have been working for us for years now!
As we upgrade the rooms we install power showers and this, combined with our water softener device, provides a great shower experience!
We all hope to welcome you again in the near future,
Kind regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Celebrity)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I would honestly avoid like the plague at weekends if you want to sleep before midnight. There were three different parties going during our stay on a Saturday night. Our room was two floors directly above the function room and not even ear plugs could cut out the music. We did complain to the manager and owner but of course they were making more money from the parties so really weren't bothered about us despite the fact we were up at 6.30 in the morning to run the Bournemouth marathon. Their attitude was that most of their guests didn't go to bed until after midnight so it was ok. We booked thru booking.com and it was stated on the website that the hotel was popular with functions. What upset us was that we informed the reception staff at check in we were up early in the morning but there was no mention of the parties and also the fact they gave us a room directly about the party. This displays poor professionalism and terrible customer service. I have worked in the travel industry for over thirty years and stay in hotels all around the world, this was quite possibly my worst night ever.
The floor boards in the room were very squeaky and the bathroom dated. The wardrobe was also missing a door and half the furniture didn't match. The room was clean and we'll serviced.
Food in the dinning room was excellent along with the breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We were expecting this review and were told by the guest that everything he would say about the hotel would be negative because of the parties. The guest booked via an agency who sent him details which in capital letters under important information did say that we had parties at the weekend. There is a 'request' area that if a guest wants a quiet room they can ask for one and we will accommodate at the time of placing the booking on our system. The space was left blank. Until the guest arrived we had no idea that he wanted to rise very early. There were lots of other guests in the hotel who also were on the same marathon but his was the only complaint. Very difficult to accommodate a guest who doesn't inform you prior to arrival - by which time since we were full it was not feasible to move his room to a quiet area. I did say we would phone around to see if we could find alternative accommodation but the request was turned dwon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celebrity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celebrity

Property: Hotel Celebrity
Address: 47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celebrity 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tree lined avenue on the East Cliff, just one road back from the sea, the Hotel Celebrity is a family owned and operated hotel that prides itself on friendly and fully trained staff dedicated to spoil you and cater for your requirements, making your stay a memorable one!!!The Head Chef (Owner’s wife) and her brigade have successfully gained an outstanding reputation for providing traditional “home cooked” food. Alternatively, our vibrant Lounge-Bar, with its stylish celebrity-themed décor, is the ideal place to enjoy tasty food and drinks that uplift your spirit without emptying your pockets!!! Each morning, all guests can partake of our complimentary “all you can eat” buffet breakfast (freshly-cooked traditional Full English, fruits, cereals and plenty of coffee to set you up for the day. The Hotel’s comfortable en-suite bedrooms, with their new mattresses and 32” flat screen TVs, offer very good value for money to guests on a budget seeking 3 star accommodation. We offer free off-road parking facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi in the public areas. Superb location, just a ten minute walk from the main bus/coach and railway station, Hotel Celebrity is just a short stroll from Bournemouth sandy beaches, town, Pavilion Theatre and BIC. Whether you are on your own, you’re a family, in a party, on holiday or “down for business”, you can always be sure you will have a warm welcome and a lower priced 3 star accommodation as, we believe, great value for money beats a high price!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Celebrity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bournemouth
Bournemouth Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing