We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good. We will stay here again.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Celebrity

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Celebrity
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Really good. We will stay here again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Having read the varying reviews of other guests I would like to give my opinions.
The staff at this hotel were without exception brilliant. They went out of their way to help.
Our needs are different from the normal guest as my wife needs a wheelchair to get around, this means we can't just book online. The girl on reception listened to our needs and her detailed knowledge of the hotel meant that we were put in a room that was very suitable. We were also allocated a reserved accessible parking space to help with unloading the wheelchair.
The car park could do with being larger as all of the spaces were full every night, but there is on street parking. Access to the hotel is level from the car park, we had a room on the first floor which meant we had to use the lift for my wife's wheelchair. Everything apart from the bedrooms is on the ground floor and is accessible for a wheelchair.
We dined twice in the hotel restaurant and I have to say the meals were excellent.
Booking directly with the hotel has other advantages as you are eligible for a discount on food and drink.
The hotel is about 200 yards from the funicular lift on east cliff, this takes you down to the prom where you can walk for miles. Bournemouth's shopping centre is walkable from the hotel, but there are some hills so beware if you are pushing a wheelchair.

Room Tip: The hotel is a venue for weddings, parties etc. This means some noise at weekends so ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 29-1-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear 29-1-13,
Thank you very much for your review!
I'm glad you found our staff brilliant, had an excellent dinner and you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
The hotel has two of the best accessible accommodation in town, designed to meet the needs of wheelchair users, and everytime we receive a booking for this particular rooms we reserve a car space, otherwise parking facilities are on first come, first served basis...but still free of charge.
As you mentioned all the Hotel facilities are accessible, so you are free to enjoy our bars, lounges and restaurant without restrictions!
We are a popular party venue on Saturday evenings, as the great majority of the Hotels in Bournemouth, we try our very best to make sure this does not interfere with our guests and it's thanks to the revenue generated from these parties that we manage to offer to all our guests comfortable, clean accommodation to VERY competitive prices!
Thank you again for your kind comments and we all look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Kind regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    413
    174
    65
    59
See reviews for
196
502
79
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The working Staff are excellent, but a lot of the bedrooms are in need of refurbishment [we tried 3 different bedrooms on our stay of 4 nights! the first 2 were terrible] The breakfasts are good, with a fair selection to choose from.
The evening meals are good value @ £16.95 for 3 courses, but very, very, basic,and I had reason to return 2 evening meals, for being well overcooked and hard! The Decor in the
Dining Room and the Lounge Bar Areas is very nice ,and the Hotel is generally kept very clean.
The exterior of the hotel is in need of a little TLC,and first impressions it looks a little tacky.
[pinky red and cream? perhaps the red had faded?] Would I recommend it to a friend -- NO!!

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room that has been done up, and book direct with the Hotel,otherwise the room y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Stu47L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
The gentleman who wrote this review sent me an email that started 'I had a hellish 8 hour journey to get to the hotel' as if in some way we were to blame for this journey. He kept asking to move room complaining about each room this and that didn't work but we found nothing wrong when we checked after he had moved to another room. He said in the email that he ate with a group of people who enjoyed their meal but he didn't enjoy his but didn't mention it because he didn't want to cause issues for the others he was eating with. (In this review he conflictingly said he sent food back twice - which he didn't). I would ask clients to read this review with a pinch of salt and notice just how far away it is from the other reviews we receive. It is frustrating when we went out of our way time and again to meet his requirements and the thanks we get is a review that is inaccurate and unreasonable in the extreme. Still that's life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

A superb hotel with very pleasant and polite staff, (especially the small pretty girl at reception, the owner, his wife and their daughter). Yes, I did find one creaky floorboard, but this was no reason for it to spoil my stay. Clean rooms, immaculate towels and bedding, and a vast selection of pictures on every wall, something for EVERYBODY'S taste. The hotel also has water softeners ...which makes the water unbelievably soft! I live in Bushey, Hertfordshire, where the water is very hard, trust me the water at Hotel Celebrity was very soft!

I must also say that although the single rooms are a little on the small side, this does encourage you to get up early and get downstairs ...where the bars, chill-out areas and garden are supremely comfortable.

All in all a very pleasant experience and one which I will definitely try to emulate again in the future.

Keep up the good work!

Yours in Complete Satisfaction,
Savvas John Savva, (and Strauss, the Japanese Akita) :0)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SavvasJohnSavva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear SavvasJohnSavva,
Thank you very much for your lovely review!
We are all very glad you liked our Celebrity themed decor, had a lovely stay and appreciated our very soft water that provides you with a very enjoyable shower experience!
There is only one little issue with your review....we are not able to identify the pretty receptionist as they are all pretty girls and now they are arguing on who it might be! :-) :-) :-)
We all look forward to welcoming you again soon for another "superb" stay!
Many thanks,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Arrived to a light, airy reception and a very warm and friendly welcome for my 2 day stay from the 13th September. Check-in was made so easy and I soon found myself in one of the most nicest hotel rooms I have ever been in. It was extremely spacious, well laid out and so beautifully clean

Things got even better when I inspected the large bathroom. Huge corner bath with shower over the top and lovely fluffy pure white towels.

I took time when walking along the corridors to look at the wonderful pictures of many famous celebrities and found this very enjoyable.

Choosing to dine in was one of the best decisions I made. Extremely good menu, obviously designed to tantalise the taste buds, and it most definitely did. Chef excelled herself and the food was out of this world. With food this good there is no need to eat anywhere else.

On both nights I slept very well and going to breakfast in the morning was a joy. It was a buffet style breakfast, help yourself to as much or as little as you like. The cooked breakfast was continually replenished keeping it fresh by the very friendly staff.

Hotel Celebrity is close to many amenities including BIC Centre, Pavilion Theatre, Town Centre, Gardens and the Beach. It's ideal position and there is something for everybody.

My only regret is that I didn't stay longer. The Hotel Celebrity management and staff have got this so right. It is like a home from home with such warm and friendly people taking care of my every need. This is the perfect hotel for me and I am looking forward to returning in a couple of months time. Big Thank You to Hotel Celebrity

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PyeLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Linda Pye, thank you for your lovely review!!!
It's great being appreciated this way and we are all very thankful for having such lovely guests who make our jobs ever so rewarding and easy!
We are very glad you loved our recent refurb, enjoyed our Celebrities Gallery, had a lovely meal and we share the same regret: you should have stayed longer! :-)
It's always a pleasure welcoming you home from home and we all look forward to your next visit!
Many thanks,
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBYSHIRE
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Celebrity 15th September to 20th. Reception was very good. Room on first floor as we had asked for. Room was very clean and plenty of space. Breakfast was good help yourself. Home from home. Would recommend it. Easy parking.

Room Tip: We had room 112 very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you JOHN C for your kind feed-back!
We are very glad you had a "lovely week" at Hotel Celebrity and you found, with us, a home from home!
We all hope to see you again soon......Book direct with the hotel so we can make sure you are given the same lovely room and we will reward you with a 20% off all drinks tha you can enjoy in our lovely bars!!!
Kind regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights from September 18. Agree with many other reviewers that the staff were exceptionally friendly and the room very clean. Breakfast was ok but hotel needs to make it clear that other forms of cooked breakfast rather than fry ups are available on request like poached/boiled eggs etc. Discount voucher of 10% for bar drinks is a nice touch for an already fair price list for a hotel.

Unfortunately for the hotel its location is not the sleepy side street it appears on first arrival. We were at the front of the hotel and traffic noise and late night reveller noise were quite bad.

The small, inexpensive improvements: a hook on the back of the bathroom door - there is nowhere to hang any change of clothes; our room did not have either an outside handle or knob so the door had to be slammed slightly to close it so inevitably disturbing neighbouring guests. On returning to our room one late afternoon we were shocked to find that the picture previously on the wall had been replaced with 5 large photos of Dolly Parton! A strange thing to do in mid booking!

Overall the hotel offers reasonable value for money - that cannot be denied but with just a little more effort could be rated above average

Room Tip: If you are a big Dolly Parton fan room 255 is for you! Try to get a room at the back to obviate stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 517Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear 517Knight,
Thank you for your review and suggestions, they are ever so important to us!
I'm glad to know your room was very clean, like all our rooms, that the staff were exceptianally friendly and that you ended your comments by commenting on the undeniable value for money we offer!
I'm sorry to hear you were disturbed by the traffic noise, the area is generally very quiet.
Thank you for your suggestions, they have been passed on to our maintenance department and will be implemented!
Thank you again for your constructive comments,
Roberto Snbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, KY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We booked this hotel based on our last stay a couple years ago. Once again, it does not disappoint. The staff this time however, didn't seem as friendly as last time. However, our room was great and they must have improved the wifi as this time we had no issues connecting! On our last stay we learned it was haunted and now, I can tell you from personal experience, it IS! Both nights, our TV woke me up in the middle of the night with the on/off light flashing very brightly! It was AWESOME!!! I was so hoping for that, that it made my stay even better! We will visit again as this hotel has a lot of history and is very centrally located to walk to the beach, town, really anywhere in Bournemouth you want to go. Thanks Celebrity for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfoster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, General Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear jfoster4,
Thank you for your comments and for coming back to us!
I'm glad to know that, as a return visit, you were not disappointed and noticed the improvements with the wifi among others and it's great to know you will come back for your next stay in Bournemouth!
I'm sorry to hear you found the staff less friendly than last time, we are generally a genuine, friendly, helpful, happy bunch....and the great majority of the staff is the same as last year, thank you for your comment though, it is a great reminder that, however good things are, there is always room for improvement.
Thank you again from everybody at Hotel Celebrity.....included Nell, the Hotel Ghost
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celebrity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celebrity

Property: Hotel Celebrity
Address: 47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celebrity 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tree lined avenue on the East Cliff, just one road back from the sea, the Hotel Celebrity is a family owned and operated hotel that prides itself on friendly and fully trained staff dedicated to spoil you and cater for your requirements, making your stay a memorable one!!!The Head Chef (Owner’s wife) and her brigade have successfully gained an outstanding reputation for providing traditional “home cooked” food. Alternatively, our vibrant Lounge-Bar, with its stylish celebrity-themed décor, is the ideal place to enjoy tasty food and drinks that uplift your spirit without emptying your pockets!!! Each morning, all guests can partake of our complimentary “all you can eat” buffet breakfast (freshly-cooked traditional Full English, fruits, cereals and plenty of coffee to set you up for the day. The Hotel’s comfortable en-suite bedrooms, with their new mattresses and 32” flat screen TVs, offer very good value for money to guests on a budget seeking 3 star accommodation. We offer free off-road parking facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi in the public areas. Superb location, just a ten minute walk from the main bus/coach and railway station, Hotel Celebrity is just a short stroll from Bournemouth sandy beaches, town, Pavilion Theatre and BIC. Whether you are on your own, you’re a family, in a party, on holiday or “down for business”, you can always be sure you will have a warm welcome and a lower priced 3 star accommodation as, we believe, great value for money beats a high price!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Celebrity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bournemouth
Bournemouth Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing