We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bank holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Celebrity

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Celebrity
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Bank holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed overnight once again at the Celebrity hotel, as always fantastic hospitality. We are always impressed with the staff, standard of cleanliness and surrounding areas of the hotel. We ate breakfast the next morning and as always well stocked and tasteful.

Good value accommodation and would like to thank the staff and management for another pleasant stay and hope to see you again soon.

Please take this as our personal thanks.

Room Tip: We love the refurbished rooms and this time had a room on the 2nd floor at the front and was not dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetAngel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear DorsetAngel12,
THANK YOU for such a glowing review!
It's always a pleasure welcoming you back at Hotel Celebrity and knowing we maintain very high standards of cleanliness and continue to offer good value is really rewarding.
We all hope to see you again soon.
OUR TIP: book direct with us and get our best rate and a 20% discount off all drinks for the duration of your stay. We are now in the process of developing our own website so you will be able to book direct on the internet as well as over the phone!
Thank you again DorsetAngel12 from all the happy staff at Hotel Celebrity...you truly are an angel!!! :-)
Kind regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Celebrity)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    419
    178
    66
    59
See reviews for
199
510
80
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have visited the hotel for the weekend.
The David Bowie room was spot on and we had a dinner at the Sherlock Holmes Restaurant. We have experienced one of the best service ever by Maria from Spain which she has really looked after us even that the place was busy. The menu was great even that my half is eating strictly macrobiotic way. The chefs prepared her menu as she wished and also there was already lots of vegetarian options on the menu. Thank you for the friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank czsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Czsk,
Thank you for the fantastic review!
We are glad you've enjoyed your stay with us!
Maria, the latest addition to our Celebrity family, is always happy to please, hard working, professional and smiley...I guess she deserves the holiday she asked for! :-)
Our Chefs are always willing to meet any dietary requirements and are very happy to know you enjoyed your dinner.
The friendly atmosphere is something that comes naturally when the staff love their jobs and we all love being here, so thank YOU for your appreciation and for making our job so rewarding.
We all hope to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have just returned from a four night break at the Hotel Celebrity. We were very impressed with the standard of cleanliness of both our room and surrounding hotel areas. The evening meal deal was very good value although the waiting time may deter diners. The breakfast choice was acceptable if limited.
The East Cliff lift is situated just a short walk from the hotel. The Land Train runs along the promenade and stops at the lift.
Local buses run a short walking distance from the hotel and these go on a regular basis to Bournemouth town, Poole and Swanage. Overall we thought this hotel excellent value for its location.

Room Tip: We were located on the second floor and although we are mature visitors the lift made this floor eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyB_836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear RoyB_836,
Thank you very much for your lovely comment! Maintaining very high standards of cleanliness is one of our main priorities and it is always nice to be appreciated. Our housekeeping team have been working at the hotel for quite a few years now, they take pride in their job and they all have a big smile when they read complimentary reviews like yours on the staff room board.
The evening meals are getting ever so popular and we are in the process of changing the service in order to be more efficient and faster in our delivery.
We all look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent the June Bank Holiday at the Hotel Celebrity: We only ate in the restaurant once because, having reserved a table for dinner, we then had to wait 20 minutes before being served (and only got served because I went to tell reception that we were still waiting). My starter was truly unpleasant to the point where I couldn't eat it and the waiter's response was to simply grunt at me rather than express any sympathy or understanding. Thankfully his superior was kind enough to take the price of it off our bill. The main dishes were average and not worth the price. That same night, a fight broke out in the hotel car park between some 18 year olds who were celebrating a birthday in the hotel bar. The fight escalated to the point where chairs were being thrown, I got woken up by the shouting and the police had to be called. Hotel security did very little to calm the situation and it continued into the night.
Breakfast was good unless you're a vegetarian, in which case the only real option was cereal or toast as the fruit was limited and unimpressive. Again, not something I'd expect from a hotel in this day and age.
The room itself was lovely - comfy bed and clean sheets. The bathroom, however, did not go with a modern hotel. The shower was rather pathetic and it was very "homey" rather than a bathroom you'd find in a hotel.
Location was good but for the price we paid, I wish we had been somewhere else that was more like a proper hotel and less like Fawlty Towers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IE1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear IE87,
I read your review and was very sorry to learn of your problems. On the Saturday night we experienced a disruption caused by the anti-social behaviour of an individual who attended a birthday party. It was an unprecedented incident for which I apologise. I have personally checked all our CCTV cameras with the police who were very impressed with how the 3 security staff handled the situation and can confirm that, while the noise must have been a nuisance, at no time chairs were thrown.
The room you stayed in is equipped with a power shower. For health and safety reason, the switch that turns it on/off is placed outside the bathroom, by the bathroom door. I can only assume that the switch must have been accidentally switched off. Shame you didn't comment about it during your stay, nevertheless, thanks to your comment, we have now put a sign on the bathroom door to inform our guests of this switch.
The starter you had is actually our guests’ favourite, our lovely mushroom melt. As you mentioned to the Hotel owner who took it off your bill, it is a shame you didn’t read the menu description. I understand you might have thought of something else and appreciate we all have different tastes but the menu is there for a reason.
The waiter on duty repeatedly asked if you wanted something else from the menu and it is a shame you declined the offer.
We try to accommodate all dietary requirements when expressed at the time of booking. If you are a vegetarian you can have cereal, fruits and toasts, as you suggested, and beans, eggs, potatoes, mushrooms, fresh grilled tomatoes and fried bread that, for some reason, you seemed not to have noticed.
Finally I would like to thank you for your kind comments about the bedroom as we pride ourselves on offering clean, comfortable rooms at a VERY competitive price.
I hope you will give us another chance to prove we take criticism very seriously and move forward and to make you join the great majority of our guests who have found, with us, a lovely home away from home.
Kind regards,
Roberto Sbavaglia
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

was a bit worried when we arrived as a bit garish from outside. entrance hall was lovely and clean. staff friendly. rooms clean. Well situated for walking to the beach. staff really friendly. discount off drinks for residents. good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Lauren, thank you for your review and comments We have 4 priorities - good value, clean, great staff, good food. It is nice to know we hit these targets. thank you again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night at the end of May in a double en-suite bedroom. Clean, tidy and enough space. Bathroom had shower in bath and a heated towel rack. Hotel is a little out dated. Buffet full English breakfast provided which was really nice. Hotel staff were really friendly too and allowed us to park our car in the car park before check in so we could have a walk around Bournemouth. Would recommend this hotel as it is great value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAUREN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Lauren, miss hit a button and sent my comments on your review to Carol who sent in slightly later. Sorry, Carol. The comment though fitted both as the comments on the reviews were similar. We try to hit the targets of 'great value' - clean rooms, good food and great friendly staff. Pleased to see we met with both your approvals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enfield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Hotel Celebrity, the reception area and bar/lounge areas are very nice, our original room that we were shown was really lovely, large , with a big sleigh bed and matching light oak furniture,but unfortunately we had to ask for a different room due to quite a loud noise coming from extractors at the back of the hotel. Consequently we were given a room rather below standard, with very squeaky floorboards and not very nice furniture! we also had to wait until almost breakfast time to get hot water in the bathroom! but our T.V and bed were both very nice. There were a few 'faulty towers' moments! but the staff were all very nice. Great location and good value for money !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GINGEREnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We appreciate the comments the guest has made......the noise came from a faulty extractor in the hotel next door, since we were full the client could only be offered a room in need of refurbishment that is one of our 'last lets'. After the experience of this guest and their comments which we take very seriously our maintenance team are spending all their time currently upgrading all non-refurbished rooms. (Normally we concentrate on one room for a total refurb which takes 4 to 8 weeks but for the next several weeks we are concentrating on improvement areas in every room to lift the quality of the total stock of rooms ready for the very high occupancy levels of the summer months.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#38 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celebrity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celebrity

Property: Hotel Celebrity
Address: 47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celebrity 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tree lined avenue on the East Cliff, just one road back from the sea, the Hotel Celebrity is a family owned and operated hotel that prides itself on friendly and fully trained staff dedicated to spoil you and cater for your requirements, making your stay a memorable one!!!The Head Chef and his brigade have successfully gained an outstanding reputation for providing traditional “home cooked” food. Alternatively, our vibrant Lounge-Bar, with its stylish celebrity-themed décor, is the ideal place to enjoy tasty food and drinks that uplift your spirit without emptying your pockets!!! Each morning, all guests can partake of our complimentary “all you can eat” buffet breakfast (freshly-cooked traditional Full English, fruits, cereals and plenty of coffee to set you up for the day. The Hotel’s comfortable en-suite bedrooms, with their new mattresses and 32” flat screen TVs, offer very good value for money to guests on a budget seeking 3 star accommodation. We offer free off-road parking facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi. Superb location, just a ten minute walk from the main bus/coach and railway station, Hotel Celebrity is just a short stroll from Bournemouth sandy beaches, town, Pavilion Theatre and BIC. Whether you are on your own, you’re a family, in a party, on holiday or “down for business”, you can always be sure you will have a warm welcome and a lower priced 3 star accommodation as, we believe, great value for money beats a high price!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Celebrity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bournemouth
Bournemouth Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing