We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Celebrity

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Celebrity
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Hotel Celebrity, the reception area and bar/lounge areas are very nice, our original room that we were shown was really lovely, large , with a big sleigh bed and matching light oak furniture,but unfortunately we had to ask for a different room due to quite a loud noise coming from extractors at the back of the hotel. Consequently we were given a room rather below standard, with very squeaky floorboards and not very nice furniture! we also had to wait until almost breakfast time to get hot water in the bathroom! but our T.V and bed were both very nice. There were a few 'faulty towers' moments! but the staff were all very nice. Great location and good value for money !!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GINGEREnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

We appreciate the comments the guest has made......the noise came from a faulty extractor in the hotel next door, since we were full the client could only be offered a room in need of refurbishment that is one of our 'last lets'. After the experience of this guest and their comments which we take very seriously our maintenance team are spending all their time currently upgrading all non-refurbished rooms. (Normally we concentrate on one room for a total refurb which takes 4 to 8 weeks but for the next several weeks we are concentrating on improvement areas in every room to lift the quality of the total stock of rooms ready for the very high occupancy levels of the summer months.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,232)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Celebrity
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

931 - 937 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Average looking hotel from outside. Was very impressed with the rooms and other ares in hotel. Decor to a very good standard, decent location from main areas in bournemouth. Food quality was very poor. The breakfast served was below par, not a great selection or quality of food. Also we planned to stay for an evening meal. We had to wait an hour due hotel reservation policy, and then once we got seated we waited 15mins before we decided to leave as we had not been served.
Food quality and service needs to be improved before I consider coming back, the only thing that saved this from a total negative review is the decor and good standard of the room we stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank am_0579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

It is worth reading the review below in conjunction with this review....same experience !! Everyone has their own opinion and it is the collective clients opinion that has resulted in TripAdvisor awarding the Certificate of Excellence 2013 - this goes to the top 10% of hotels worldwide with the highest average client rating....our average for the last 6 months was just under 90%...and it takes a lot of 5 scores across the board to make up for the shortfall of reviews such as this one.

Turning to the points. Breakfast is free and included in everyone's rate - it's a help yourself buffer breakfast so pick out exactly what you want from fruit juices, cereals, fruit, (tinned and fresh), hot buffet of sausages, bacon, fried eggs, potato & mushrooms, fresh grilled tomatoes, fried bread, beans. Coffee/tea. We are a working peoples hotel and our prices are set at a level that is fine by working people - our breakfast is for clients who want a good start to the day......not sure what this client expected !!!

Our evening restaurant is very popular and we ask people to book a 'time slot' so that we don't get too many arriving at once and so have delays in food service. Prices for our home-cooked food, (we don't buy in and make everything from scratch), from an extensive menu is shown on the review below. Fantastic value for money.

But then you can't please everyone....just the vast majority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just returned from a two night break in Bournemouth and stayed at the Celebrity Hotel, what a nice experience.
Although our room had not been re- furbished, (I was told this before we arrived) it was still very comfortable and clean, excellent value for money as it also included a really good buffet breakfast.

We opted to try the meal deal for our evening meal - £12.95 two course or £16.95 for a three course, this includes a free glass of wine or beer + coffee if booked in advance.
It was our wedding anniversary so was given a bottle of wine instead of a glass,Thank you.

I must say the staff are very friendly and go that extra mile. We would definitely recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Despite or because of the garish red exterior initial impressions were that of surprise. However, the happy, larky interiors with blow up photos of comedians and celebrities made the experience thoroughly individual and quirky. The service however was polite, straightforward and efficient, with rooms clean and neutrally coloured. No Basils. Staying in the childhood home of Tony Hancock made an impression and despite the gloomy end of his life, this place seemed imbued with lightness and fun.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. In addition to the ground floor we have now themed 7 bedrooms. Frank SInatra, Elvis Presley, (these 2 are accessible rooms suitable for wheelchair users and those with walking difficulties), then Ken Dodd, Tommy Cooper, Bruce Springsteen, Johnny Cash and David Bowie. We are placing write-ups of the celebrity in the rooms for clients to take away as as a memento of their stay. Every celebrity themed room is totally refurbished to a high standard before we finish off the theming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed for one night and were in the "David Bowie" room. The room was large, neat and clean and is one of the recently re-furbished rooms including the bathroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful on arrival and even allowed us to check in earlier as we had a wedding we were attending. They arrange a taxi for us to get to our function as well. The hotel was a 10-15 minute walk from Bournemouth Train Station and only five minutes from the sea front. Great value for money and if visiting Bournemouth again I would not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rach2010London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. We have themed a number of rooms now, David Bowie, Johnny Cash, Bruce Springsteen, Ken Dodd, Tommy Cooper, Elvis Presley & Frank Sinatra, (the latter two being accessible rooms designed for independent wheelchair users and those with walking or other physical infirmities). It takes us quite a while to theme a room because we start by taking the bedroom back to brickwork, re-plastering, re-decoration, new electrics throughout, new bathroom, new furniture. We often can put in a new floor and a new ceiling. This process takes us between 4 to 8 weeks depending upon the size of room, (we do all the work ourselves using a carpet fitter and a plasterer both we have known for years so know the high quality of their work. Then we theme the room with pictures and a write-up about the artist for clients to take away as a memento of their stay. A labour of love really.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Nice bright bedrooms. Some more modern than others. But the bathrooms were not very nice.Too small and very old. No areas to put anything on. Our one small shelf was at an angle that anything placed on it fell off. Old and in need of upgraded. Paint and a roll of wallpaper would not go a miss. The whole Hotel is looking tired but the helpful very friendly staff make up for it. Cost friendly walk in price of 44 pounds with breakfast was good. Food was also good. Free parking.I found the price of the evening meal a little "toppy" at approx 4 pounds more than the others in the area. May stay again but only if the price is good. We could hear our neighbours very clearly. Unfortunately they could not hear me when asked to keep the noise down.But you can get that in any hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the car park. Rooms are not very soundproof so you may need an early nig...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrellisTrinidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

We do offer a mix of refurbished, (celebrity themed), bedrooms and those we still have to upgrade. However all are very clean and we include free parking and free breakfast in what is a remarkably great 'value for money' price. (TripAdvisor have just awarded the hotel a certificate of excellence primarily based on our fantastic value for money.) Evening meal £4 more than others in the area - I disagree but leave it readers to decide. 2 course meal £13.45, 3 course meal £16.95 both including coffee/tea and a pint of beer or glass of wine and the menu is a wide choice hotel menu which is all cooked on site from scratch. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have stayed at 2 other hotels in this price range in Bournemouth (paid £45 for double inc breakfast) AND THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST. Very clean, pleasant reception staff, we took advantage of the special evening meal deal and despite chef not having Eaton Mess which was the girls first choice the meal was excellent and good value. We didn't have one of the new themed rooms but ours was quite adequate and breakfast (buffet style) was very good too. We will stay here next time. This is not a £100 per night hotel but it is good value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken R, Owner at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thankyou for your very kind review Kevin. By the by we have just been awarded the TripAdvisor certificate of excellence for 2013. This is awarded to the top 10% WORLDWIDE of hotels as 'rated' by client reviews placed on TripAdvisor. Normally this award goes to the plush exclusive hotels situated in the words best tourist destinations and to the ***** hotels. For a Bournemouth 3 star hotel to receive this award is something to be very proud of. Ours was awarded for the 'value for money' we offer. We aren't a big posh hotel and we don't charge big posh hotel prices. We cater for clients who see value for money as a key priority - and who don't see why a high *** standard of accommodation can't be provided at a reasonable price. Our pricing doesn't just stop at the 'room' rate. For example book direct and we give 20% off all drinks purchased at the hotel. Our normal evening meal 2 course price is £13.45 and 3 course price £16.95 and that includes tea/coffee and a glass of wine or pint of beer. We provide FREE a full English help yourself breakfast to set you up for the day and we don't unlike others in the area charge for car parking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,034 reviews
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,392 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celebrity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celebrity

Address: 47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $58 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celebrity 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tree lined avenue on the East Cliff, just one road back from the sea, the Hotel Celebrity is a family owned and operated hotel that prides itself on friendly and fully trained staff dedicated to spoil you and cater for your requirements, making your stay a memorable one!!!The Head Chef and his brigade have successfully gained an outstanding reputation for providing traditional “home cooked” food. Alternatively, our vibrant Lounge-Bar, with its stylish celebrity-themed décor, is the ideal place to enjoy tasty food and drinks that uplift your spirit without emptying your pockets!!! Each morning, all guests can partake of our complimentary “all you can eat” buffet breakfast (freshly-cooked traditional Full English, fruits, cereals and plenty of coffee to set you up for the day. The Hotel’s comfortable en-suite bedrooms, with their new mattresses and 32” flat screen TVs, offer very good value for money to guests on a budget seeking 3 star accommodation. We offer free off-road parking facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi. Superb location, just a ten minute walk from the main bus/coach and railway station, Hotel Celebrity is just a short stroll from Bournemouth sandy beaches, town, Pavilion Theatre and BIC. Whether you are on your own, you’re a family, in a party, on holiday or “down for business”, you can always be sure you will have a warm welcome and a lower priced 3 star accommodation as, we believe, great value for money beats a high price!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Celebrity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bournemouth
Bournemouth Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing