We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cut above the usual” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Da Mario

Da Mario
Ranked #7 of 728 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Wood-burning pizza oven.Traditional, Neapolitan pizza. Authentic family restaurant.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A cut above the usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Got a take away from here after it was recommended by a friend. This place bucks the trend, no soggy bases and bland toppings. Lovingly prepared and authentic, well worth a try.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ellbeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    56
    17
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co Durham
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real stone baked pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Went here after reading positive reviews. We got there just before it opened and it looked like a really small place. There were about four tables suitable for 2 or 3 people to sit at. It opened about 10 minutes late but that didnt bother me much. We sat down and helped ourselves to a can of coke from the fridge which cost about 60p. The lady behind the counter took our order and gave us glasses for our cokes. She was friendly and was working with her family.

The pizzas were freshly made in full view but they took ages to arrive. There were other customers waiting for their pizzas and the phone was ringing in with orders every 5 minutes or so. The pizzas were delicious. Crispy and thin with a little chew, tasty toppings and a rustic shape. I ate it slowly to savour every mouthful. The pizzas were about £8 or £9 each which is about the same, if not less than pizza hut. Well worth it because they were so good. My advise is get there early to avoid a really long wait.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SATbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

better than pizzas i had in Italy they are amazing but you have to wait a long time to get it also more of a takeaway than eat in only 3 tables and no atmosphere. will still get my pizza from here even though its always a long wait !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank r4rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Da Mario No 1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

8 of us came here on a Saturday night without booking, the place was rammed full of people eating in (there are 4 tables and 2 stools at the counter) others were waiting for take aways. The phone rang constantly and probably didn't get answered all the time. We had to wait 40 mins for a table so we went to the pub next door. When we got back the lady had put 2 of their tables together for us and was still smiling even though you could see she was under a lot of pressure. They had sold out of pasta (they make one pasta dish) so we all had a pizza each, there was a bit of a wait but she did warn us and we were prepared for that. We all agreed that they were the best pizzas we have ever eaten, the dough was fresh and tasty and the wood fired oven only complimented it more. Just wish the place was bigger so we could have parties there. Da Mario, if you're reading this, you need to expand!
Well done for all your hard work.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart-jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Little Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Only visited this pizzeria on recommendation from a friend.
It's very small and mainly a take-away. It does have 3 tables though.
The pizzas were superb, and the staff friendly and caring.
You must visit. You will not be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Mario also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Da Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing