We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have stayed in worse places!!”
Review of Elstead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elstead Hotel
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Have stayed in worse places!!”
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Nice enough place, stayed there for a couple of weeks on business. Breakfasts were fine but wasn't overly impressed with the other food. Pool, sauna, steam room fantastic after a long day!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaydee2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    223
    76
    16
    9
See reviews for
144
175
59
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2009

I stayed at the Elstead hotel for 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend with my partner. The outside looked nice with the Conservatory but nothing outstanding, but the inside could do with updating as it was a bit dreary. We were greeted by a male receptionist and manager who were pleasant but not overly friendly as others have commented on. I got the impression the hospitable act was just a front, in fact my suspicions were confirmed when we met another female receptionist with long black hair and glasses, who was quite frosty and did not crack a smile once - except when we were leaving! We had a room on the first floor which was immaculately clean and smelt gorgeous. The only gripe was that for a double it was a bit cramped with the bed being too near the door. Also the creaking floorboards of all the guests above was a disturbance, we heard guests thundering downstairs for breakfast each morning. The bathroom was spotless but be warned that there is no soap provided except the bath gel which bizarrely is in a container which is screwed into the wall. Also the water pressure is poor, so don’t expect a power shower, and as for running a bath, well, just get ready for a long wait.
We went out the night before and a little bit worse for wear decided to have breakfast delivered to the room, which is £3.00 per tray. The breakfast was delicious, cooked to perfection but not very big portions. The following night we were peckish again after having been out all day on the beach, and decided to order a sandwich, which at £4 I thought was a bit of a rip off. We rang reception only to be told that there was no key to open the fridge so they could not make sandwiches for us, despite the menu stating that sandwiches were ’24 hours’ – hmmm....
We then decided to order a pizza so ended up spending more money than we would have wanted, although the pizza was very nice :-)
The best part of the hotel was the Nordic leisure facilities. My partner used the gym whilst I used the sauna and the Jacuzzi. Although another small gripe, I did think there was far too much chlorine in the Jacuzzi which was very drying for the skin, but 10 out of 10 for the general cleanliness and hygiene, and I met some very friendly people (including the lovely young male worker who took the trouble to explain where all the facilities where and how to use them etc).
Another bonus is the free car park. We drove down from London and left the car parked all weekend, which was great. Although parking at the front might have been better as there appeared to be a CCTV camera positioned here. With regards to the location, it’s about a 10 minute walk to the town centre and beach so another bonus.

All in all I would recommend this hotel and would probably stay again but on the top floor in a quiet part of the hotel, and not for more than a night or two. There are probably better hotels or guest houses but we booked at the last minute and did not have too many options considering it was a bank holiday and most hotels were fully booked.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBlackPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

When my husband booked the Elstead the receptionist was extremely helpful. There were no family rooms so we were allocated a four poster room with a sofa bed. However, on arrival we discoved that this room was not available due to over booking in the week. Very disappointing, as we were expecting this extra special room. Never mind however, the family room was spacious and on initial inspection appeared very clean. However, it could do with a deep clean. The skirting boards were dusty, the decorative pillows were a little grimy and the bathroom needs a good clean. There was a ring round the bath and the soap holders were mil-dewey.

We initially booked for B & B, but as the hotel also does a special dinner, b & b rate, we were allowed to include dinner at an additional charge of £10 per adult and £5 for our daughter. The meal was four courses and very good value. The food was lovely and coffeee in the lounge afterwards a delight. Breakfast contained a good choice of food and was lovely, buffett style.

The hotel on the whole is too hot. The bedroom was so hot it was impossible to sleep, even with two windows and curtains open and the ceiling fan on. The pillows are the worst I have ever slept on. In fact I got little sleep as a result, so take your own as theirs are as flat as pancakes and have no softness or bounce.

The pool area was disappointing. The temperature in both the pool and the jacuzzi was very cool which made the experience less enjoyable and it felt a little grimy. The pool was also roped off to provide lane swimming, but as the pool is very small there is not much room to move about if you do not want to swim lengths.

The staff at the hotel are very nice, pleasant and helpful. Our stay (2 nights) was cut short as our daughter became ill on night 1. The manager of the hotel was kind enough to refund half the cost of our second night stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themogster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

A Excellent hotel, wonderful rooms, truly marvellous staff especially beatrice in the restaurant and the restaurant manager eddie they are truly very special to the restaurant and hotel. also the staff on the bar in the lounge were very attentive and the bar snacks were delicious and very very good choice to choose from at reasonable prices.

the one slight moan we had was that we booked an executive double and there didnt seem to be much difference apart from the fact there was a fridge that could easily be removed if they wanted to use this room as a standard.

however the single we booked was spacious and comfortable.

the leisure facilities are wonderful - i disagree with some comments about the changing rooms and having to walk through the gym - you just cover yourself up with a towel - common sense really!

we only booked B and B but were quite welcome to book in for a meal in the restaurant any time we wanted.

breakfasts yet again were amazing - in ALL respects, staff, food, choice and quality.

ALL IN ALL A LOVELY HOTEL

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmic84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
352 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We have just returned from an excellent break at this hotel - we were attending a function and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, all of whom were friendly, courteous and helpful. The food throughout our stay was of a very high standard (much better than we had anticipated!) and every effort was made to accommodate special diets. We had a problem with the water pressure in the bathroom and were immediately offered a choice of alternative bedrooms. The hotel is very welcoming and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2009

I am in the hotel as I write this its 10.55 at night and no hope of any sleep for another hour!!!! Friday night is DISCO night in the hotel it seems and that disco is right below my room 111....ABBA might as well be here in the room performing its that loud. No prior notice of this event and I am especially angry as when I booked in I asked for a quiet room as I am here following a family bereavement. I phoned down to reception to ask what time the Disco in the bar finished and was told well its supposed to end at midnight.....no apologies for how loud it is nothing. I will create merry hell if it doesn't end in 60 minutes time.

The hotel is OK other than the attitude of some of the staff and the fact the key cards repeatedly fail to work....its 15 minutes fast walk to the shopping area and 10 minutes to the cliff tops but be aware the lifts to the beach don't work October - April so you can see the beach but not get to it without a brisk 10 minute walk and a very steep (no buggies or wheelchairs) path and steps combination down the cliffs.

Nice but heavily chlorinated pool and the spa uses pool water and the bubbles seem to use air from outside as (given its below freezing today) they are very very cold. The hotel Gym & Pool is also a private members club so there are plenty of people using it and you also have to walk through the gym to get from the changing rooms to the pool...bit intimidating as a lone 40+ female in a swimming costume in a gym full of fit young men...not that pleasant. its also a pain when you get out of the pool soaking wet to have to walk back through the gym soaking wet across a carpet (thats wet and seen better days.....I would have bought a bathrobe if I had known)

All in all if your looking for a nights sleep on a friday don't bother

  • Liked — Free Wifi
  • Disliked — Awful loud disco on friday nights till midnight...you can hear it word for word all over the hotel!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MissCakeyBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2009

My partner & I experienced a wonderful New Year stay. Our room spacious, scrupulously clean, had everything needed, inc a most comfortable bed & good bathroom. Dining room & food excellent.
Swimming pool most enjoyable. Manager & staff always available, most helpful & pleasant. A superb break - thank you for a marvellous start to our New Year.
Alan J. denman, Hilperton, Trowbridge, Wilts.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank duckweedhilp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
2.0 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elstead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elstead Hotel

Property: Elstead Hotel
Address: 12-14 Knyveton Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elstead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Elstead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elstead Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing