We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Elstead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elstead Hotel
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed here previously and the standard remains good. Staff are friendly, the waiting staff especially so.
A few points:-
(1) Bed v comfortable but pillows were a bit sub-standard on this occasion.
(2) Window opened & closed awkwardly (have written to the Management separately).
(3) Shower produced little more than a trickle.
These are things than can easily be fixed so raised for management attention, not complaint.
Breakfast excellent, nothing too much trouble. Made use of the fitness equipment gym & pool, steam room & sauna, all excellent. Some further updating is needed eg. lift is a bit old fashioned and, amusingly, doesn't always obey instructions! Indeed, the whole exterior would benefit from a spruce-up to match the warmth and ambiance of the interior. That said, the hotel does retain a sort of old world charm where courtesy & manners count so if your preference is a slick, ultra modern style this place may not quite float your boat. Location is good - situated in a quite road and a short walk to the front, ample parking albeit tight. Lastly, the security system for accessing the fitness centre is a tad confusing, ie. sign-in book provided [despite electronic key entry] but no requirement to sign out (?) Current policy to issue towels from Reception, along with surrender of room key for the duration, is an unwelcome change.

Room Tip: Prices vary considerably depending on demand /season so research via different booking agencies and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deltablade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    221
    75
    16
    9
See reviews for
143
173
58
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Having been a guest at this venue for four decades, stayed last week with grown up son. Warm welcome by female receptionist name unknown, dining room staff very helpful at breakfast with porridge made to order and poached eggs. Bar and room service very good. The atmosphere remains relaxed and homely. The gym was a bonus to my son with superb facilities. A final word of praise to Heather, Head receptionist whose willingness to help is something rarely found these days.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barneyc45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Prefect values in this lovely traditional feel hotel, good service, good food and very clean. Love the wood paneled lounge, so relaxing in there. Free Wi-Fi which is a great bonus. Nice gym and pool area. All the staff are so friendly yet professional. Thank you to Heather for looking after us so well, you're a real credit to The Elstead. One niggle is the male receptionist, lets just say I can't figure him out, not always helpful, I try to avoid him.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy-c01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

A very welcome and relaxing stay,staff were brilliant,room large and comfortable ,after a slight mix up on arrival the receptionist made apologies and sorted out our room without fuss,the breakfast was plentiful and fresh,definately would stay again.

Room Tip: twin room very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulwood
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

I paid just £35 for a one night stay, including a full breakfast, and got upgraded to a double room on arrival. Staff were very pleasant especially the woman at reception and the young lad behind the bar. Wi-Fi was free and worked all over the hotel, good working area in the large bar. Overall, a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: Try to get a front view room as the rear view is nothing special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryFulwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Very nice and clean hotel with very friendly and helpful staff.The weather turned wet and windy,so we spent an afternoon in the Nordic health suite.Plenty of fitness machinery and a lovely warm pool and jacuzzi.Food at reasonable prices and good breakfast.Easy walk to seafront and town centre.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Have just come back from a stay at this hotel receptionist very helpful. room was clean and lots of tea and coffee. Breakfast very good really nice food good quality. Arrived whilst a dinner dance evening was going on I was the only guest not in the event but I was looked after very well

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie_clarke61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Debbie
Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and as we had a large number staying at the hotel who were also attending a dinner dance, I am pleased that we were able to give you that individual service which is so important when you are travelling on business.
Regards Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,332 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
2.0 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elstead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elstead Hotel

Property: Elstead Hotel
Address: 12-14 Knyveton Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elstead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elstead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elstead Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing