We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Elstead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elstead Hotel
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We went for the weekend and had an excellent time. The rooms were comfortable, the staff were lovely and the food delicious. Thankyou very much to all through staff who made the weekend a memorable one!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdwardSalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 619 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have reviewed this hotel for what it is-a three star seaside hotel. The immediate impression is that of a well managed clean hotel with excellent staff, and superb food. The bedroom was large and quiet, the beds comfortable. There was ample parking. The only serious niggle was the state of the male showers in the leisure centre.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seascape20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A really nice stay here! The staff are absolutely lovely and the room was comfy, spotless and excellent value for money. The food was also great and would definitely stay here again. I also used leisure facilities- although the changing room was very small and communal -the pool was great.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwaysontheroad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My and my fiance stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel was okay, the staff friendly enough. But the lift up to our room has had to be the worst lift ive been in yet! It felt like it was just ready to break. Our room was nothing special either, the curtains didnt even meet in the middle and what I thought was underfloor heating in the bathroom turned out to be a broken pipe heating up the floors too much. The only thing I enjoyed was the breakfast. If your looking for a cheap hotel, in walking distance of the town then id recommend the Elstead hotel

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zcs89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed 4 nights over half term since the hotel offers a pool and is close to the sea. An old fashioned hotel with a bit of charm. Very clean and the staff are extremely helpful. The pool is much smaller than their photos suggest and quite dark, but pleasant all the same. Breakfast was part of our deal and the typical choices with the benefit of being able to ask for some extras from the kitchen. They also provided us with a voucher to eat in, being a 3 course meal plus a bottle of house wine for 2 people for a total of £39. The food was good and well presented. For the other nights we at out.

Room Tip: Avoid room 123 because the pipes set in the wall clunk during the night and disturbed my sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meerkat_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed here with sons for a one night break. Had a triple room.
Pool was ok - a bit cold. Breakfast very good and plentiful. Staff very friendly.
Whole place needs a bit of an upgrade but for £59 per night for 3, B&B it was a bargain!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 69Stephen69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Elstead Hotel for 2 nights, thursday and friday. We got a great deal on the price, through lastminute.com, who were doing a 50% off deal. That, together with the reviews that I had read on here was what made me book the hotel. We would have loved to have stayed for the saturday night as well, but the hotel was fully booked that night. The hotel is about 5mins walk from the station, so there is no need to get a taxi from the station. The town centre and beach is a pleasant 10-15 minute walk away and there are bus stops right near the hotel to take you to surrounding areas. We got a bus to Poole and getting there and back by bus was no problem. The hotel itself is a little tired, there is not getting away from that, but it is spotlessly clean, very cute, nice and warm, (we had the radiators pumping away and it was very snug). The water is hot and the shower is powerful. There is plenty of tea/coffee and biscuits in the room and we had no problems getting more supplies when we asked at front desk. There is an ironing board/iron and hairdryer in the rooms. The dining area was very nice, we had a fantastic breakfast on one of the mornings we were there. One evening we ordered a room service meal and it came exactly on time, piping hot and fresh, very tasty and the price was very reasonable. In the bar the drinks are reasonably priced and the hot chocolate is to die for. There is a fully equiped gym and an indoor pool. Unfortunately we did not take our swimming gear so did not get a chance to use it. The staff at this hotel are so helpful, very polite and very friendly. Our stay was a delight from beginning to end and we were so sorry we couldn't have stayed longer. Overall, this is a great, cosy, friendly, well located hotel that offers amazing value. For a short stay in Bournemouth you would be hard pressed to find something better for the price. We will definitely be going back in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dollyxdimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
228 reviews
0.9 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,111 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,578 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
943 reviews
2 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elstead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elstead Hotel

Address: 12-14 Knyveton Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $51 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elstead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elstead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elstead Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing