We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings , amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here for two nights in July we felt compelled to write a review.
I can honestly say that this hotel has the friendliest staff that I have ever encountered in a uk hotel .
However ....
We arrived in Friday and were show to our room which was clean (or so we thought ) and adequate , we had chosen not to pay £25 per person per room for a sea view room.
We spent the day out and came back to swim and use the jacuzzi , and so were disappointed to find out that it was out of order (the spa facilities were one of the main booking criteria) :-(
We dined out and came back to our room to retire , unfortunately on pulling back the bed sheets we were greeted by a pair of someone else's worn pyjamas !!
To be fair the management rectified the situation immediately with the manager herself changing our bedding at 1130 at night and providing a fan , for the room that was hot ,
If the pyjamas hadn't of been there though we would never have known !
The following night we were woken by fighting in the street outside by a wedding party that had held their wedding breakfast in the hotel , again , the same female manager sorted the situation ! Not the hotels fault , but when guests are asking directions to buy booze , and the wedding party was drinking their own alcohol in the car parks and outside hotel areas , do wonder if more restrictions need to be put in place !
Although we were apologised to for the dirty bed linen etc , i do feel that some goodwill gesture could of been extended , and were somewhat surprised to be charged £3 for a pot of tea as our final checking out bill !! The young suited reception manager and the female night manager were fab , but come on , sort out your teething issues !!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suecoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Director of Sales at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear suecoyle

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to see that out of 5 stars you have scored us a 4 and that you were impressed by our team. We are all very helpful and try our best to make our guest feel at home.
Regarding your first point ; I can reassure you that the Housekeeping Manager is investigating the issue. With regards to the wedding guests the Duty Manager controlled the situation as best she could, however this can be out of our control.
I hope that you will give the Riviera another chance, if you did wish to return then please contact me personally and I will take in consideration your above points.

Kind Regards

Silva Bala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

984 - 990 of 1,374 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is the third time we have been to Riviera and the accommodation has improve due to a revamp of the rooms. The week we went it was very hot in the rooms due to the temperature being in the high 20's but they did provide fans and they knew it was difficult for some guest and staff. The staff were very courteous and helpful which does not do justice to a 3 star rating and very helpful with the parking since there was a wedding on our first day. Breakfast was a full English but they did offer some alternatives if required. On the whole we have a very good stay and we will be going back at a later date. The outdoor pool was great for kids and there is an indoor pool for when the weather is not so good.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view if possible on the south east side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Robert L,

Thank you for your comments. Great to see that you had a great stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Riviera.

Kind Regards

SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We celebrated our wedding there on 19th July with many of our family and friends staying over for a long weekend.
Every single detail was perfect ! The staff were amazing, the food was served quickly, was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious, the chefs there are great, the evening buffet was equally scrummy, great music in the evening. Having the evening do in the main bar was great for everyone and the other hotel guests enjoyed joining in the festivities.
Silva the events manager is wonderful, Jonathan the GM was a great master of ceremonies, Alex and Charlotte do a great job on reception especially with our numerous complex bookings.
All the staff were great, too many to mention all by name.
All our guests were delighted by the attentiveness and genuine warmth shown by the staff.
5 stars aren't enough for this level of service.
We will be back as often as we can and needless to say our anniversaries will be spent at the Riviera, big thank you

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank pat o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Director of Sales at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Mrs Pat O

THANK You so much for your beautiful comments. It was a pleasure looking after you on your big day and thank you for letting us be part of your's and Andy's Big Day. I shall make sure that all the team sees the lovely comments - It was a pleasure and a joy to have met you both and we all look forward to seeing you soon in October for your Birthday Party !!

Kind regards
SIlva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

great hotel with very friendly and attentive staff great food and service.
I have stayed here several times including a newyear package.This hotel is within walking distance of the beach and aleisurely stroll along the prom will get you to Bournemouth in about 20 mins.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nwjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear nwjw

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I shall pass it on to the rest of the team.

Have a great summer and we hope to welcome you soon.

Kind Regards

SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend break at the Riviera, it was our 1st time at this hotel and they did a great job looking after us. In all there were 15 of us age ranging from 2 - 60 on a dinner, bed & breakfast basis.
The staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough to help, the food was fantastic with a great range at breakfast and a good but limited evening menu although what they lack in menu selections they certainly make up for in quality of food.
We would definitely use this hotel again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becciCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear becci Coventry,

Thank you for your fantastic comments !! I shall pass your comments to the rest of the team who will be happy to see that all the hard work is paying off. Once again Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back !

Kind Regards
SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Hotel is in a nice road, plenty of parking and walking distance to beach. Plenty of amenities at the hotel although didn't use them was out most of the time. Room clean and bed comfortable but basic decor and water took ages to flow out of taps. But for a weekend it served a purpose. Breakfast was great, plenty to choose from and the service was good. We ate out for lunch and dinner as so many places to do so in Central Bournemouth and towards Sandbanks as situated in between. Would book to stay there again for its location and service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Director of Sales at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Donna R

Thank You for your comments. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Riviera Hotel.

Kind Regards
SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We received a room upgrade to a room with a large balcony & sea view. The room had 3 beds (1x double & 1x single) & had plenty of space. The bathroom was modern, clean & also spacious, although the water pressure in the shower was a little weak & we couldn't remove the shower head from the wall. The hotel was clean & tidy & facilities were good for a UK hotel. All the staff were lovely & really made the effort to be helpful & pleasant. The food at breakfast & the evening meal was exceptionally good also. Nothing was too much bother, so it seemed.
I would really recommend this hotel & would definitely stay again. Plus it was a short 5 minute downhill walk to Alum Chine beach, which is beautiful. So location was an added bonus too :)

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms with the balcony & sea view.. worth the extra cost :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, General Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Natalie L

Thank you so much for your kind words . We are thrilled that you had a great break with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
JG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,035 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,095 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Address: 12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $55 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good value hotel in Bournemouth which is renowned for its warm service and excellent food in spectacular surroundings – perfect for holidays in Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel And Holiday Apartments
Riviera Hotel Bournemouth
Riviera Hotel Holiday Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing