We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“dissappointing”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

On arrival the appearance of the hotel is like a barnacle amongst a really pleasant area. The entrance is really uninviting with the whole foyer badly stained and venturing further detected a musty smell. My 25 year old son and I were given a room on the lower ground floor around the outside pool. It was very cold as the main door went directly to the outdoors and wasn't very insulated. The radiator didn't work and was promised delivery of a heater which didn't arrive. My sons bed was a bunk bed! The beds were low quality and could feel the springs. I woke up several times with icy skin. The en-suite was very dated with dirty grouting and the shower head full of limescale. The evening entertainment reminded me of walking into a sad retirement home with most guests sitting motionless and without expression and totally bored. The staff were quite friendly; the expression style over substance comes to mind but sadly there was definitely no style. Would definitely not recommend.

Room Tip: Definitely don't go for a room on lower ground floor around pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pilsbury4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    462
    184
    55
    35
See reviews for
421
500
40
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
2 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Booked a double room to stay on a friday night, when the air festival show was in bournemouth. As it was late notice (we booked about 3 days before) it was one of the only hotels with rooms still available. We was able to park the car in the hotel carpark at around 12pm, we then checked in (just doing the paperwork, as it was too early to get the key for our room). Later on we came back to get our room key, and although we wasnt expecting much, we was very surprised to have a lovely room, with balcony and sea view! Overall the hotel was lovely, very very clean. Breakfast was good too, in the conservatory overlooking the sea!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TS292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I booked a one night stay at the Riviera hotel over the bank holiday weekend, only 1 week before. We had a really warm welcome when we arrived at 11am from a really helpful receptionist. Whilst we couldn't check in completely we were able to do all the paperwork, park our car for free all day and head off to thebeach. The hotel is in alum chine which is outside the centre of Bournemouth but in a nice residential area which is literally a 3 minute walk to the beautiful beach. The room was a decent size, we had a double bed, single bed and bunk beds! So for 3 of us there was plenty of room. Whilst the rooms could do with modernising they were clean and comfy. We were given vouchers for evening meal and breakfast as we had room only. After a day at the beach we used the hotel pool, which although very strongly chlorinated was a lovely pool, sauna and jacuzzi was good too. Our 8 year old daughte loved the pool. Again staff were extremely friendky and helpful and extra towels wee provided for the pool. We ate dinner in the lounge bar which was quiet but fine for a one course meal, decent choices and tasty. At breakfast we had a 2 for 1 adult voucher but our daugter was also able to eat for free which was a bonus. Again staff very lovely. Breakfast was a great choice and realy delicious- very impressed. We checked out but wer able to use the hotel car park for the whole day. Overall we really enjoyed our stay, mainky down to the exvellent customer service and friendly staff, they are a credit to the hotel. Great location too. We will probably be back for further weekend stays to enjoy the beautiful beaches of Bournemouth again. Great staff at the Riviera Hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineLeamington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We came across this hotel after trying to find a last minute bank holiday break for my partner, our 10 month old baby and I. The welcome we received was warm and helpful.

Our room, though a tad outdated, was clean, spacious and comfy and we pleasantly surprised to find we had a balcony over looking the sea. I would suggest they hid the wires from the TV though.

The hotel itself was spotless with a lovely restaurant, lounge bar area with a dancefloor and although we didn't use the entertainment in the night it appeared to be lively and fun and we could not hear the entertainment from our room which worked having a baby fast asleep.

All staff were very friendly and attentive and nothing seemed too much to ask.

The food was delicious, though there could've been a bit more variety in the evening.

The pool outside is not heated and is a bit cold but there is a lovely clean modern heated indoor pool with a sauna and jacuzzi.

Alum beach is just a 5 minute walk away - be prepared for a steep hill on the way back.

We will definitley be returning to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamC090814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at The Riviera with family to celebrate a special birthday > The indoor pool was a godsend when the weather turned nasty on the Saturday afternoon. The evening meal was excellent and the staff were very helpful with the two toddlers. Food excellent and good value. Service great. The buffet breakfast was excellent also.lots of variety and plenty of food in very pleasant restaurant. The hotel situated close to Alum Chine beach which is great for children and adults alike. Lack of entertainment on the Saturday evening was a disappointment but didnt stop us enjoying our stay. The outdoor pool area needs updating but still a pleasant place to sit.

Room Tip: ROOM 231 EXCELLENT WITH BALCONY , but just have to mention the shower had no power but bath was exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked a short stay at the last minute and despite the good quality food, super staff and the obvious 3 star standard of the main hotel, I would cancel my booking rather than stay in the annexed 'Apartment' block again.
Every sound reverberates around the block so a quiet stay must be a rarity as you are treated to a symphony of closing doors and adjoining guest conversations. It is more akin to staying in a hostel.
There are probably apartments in the building but we stayed in a 'standard double' room which was housed in the dated, 'tired' looking apartment block. It really does need a major refurbishment... or a bulldozer. The apartments are accessed via an outdated 1950's style pool area .....which was closed . This may have been due to the green water filling the pool. I didn't check as I had no intention of going anywhere near it. Suffice it to say, a hotel with a pool area closed in August tells its own story.
In short, check whether you are in the main hotel when you book.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Yes, we have been back to the Riviera Hotel and had a lovely weekend. The food was superb and love the new black and red theme in the Conservatory Bistro.Thank you to Jonathan and his wonderful team for making us welcome as always. No doubt we shall return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bubblesBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.8 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,000 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,484 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,922 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Property: Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Address: 12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good value hotel in Bournemouth which is renowned for its warm service and excellent food in spectacular surroundings – perfect for holidays in Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel And Holiday Apartments
Riviera Hotel Bournemouth
Riviera Hotel Holiday Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing