We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. The hotel is very clean but quiet basic. We asked to change rooms as we were allocated a room facing the street. This was done with no fuss at all and we ended with a room that nearly overlooked the sea which was much better. The breakfast is excellent with plenty to chose from. I work in catering myself and the restaurant manager was second to none he ran things to an exceptionally high standard and the rest of the staff were a credit to him. Everyone working at the hotel was pleasant and this helped make this trip very enjoyable. The price was a bit high and maybe they should have a different rate for different rooms. Next time I book I will ask for a room with seaviews.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,065 - 1,071 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed for one night as I was catching an early morning ferry from Poole. The hotel was fantastic! All the staff were really helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble! The room was lovely and clean with a lovely sea view. The bed was really comfy. The hotel is in a lovely position minutes from the beach! I really enjoyed staying here and I'm sure ill be back for a weekend soon!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Dolly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were pleased to see that Jonathan Gould was still in charge, its good to see a friendly face at the Riviera after all these years. We had a lovely time, being there to celebrate my husband's 61st birthday. Food once again excellent, breakfast in particularly. Staff as attentive as ever, very helpful, polite and obliging, c
ould not do enough for you. Just one thing Mr Gould, if you are reading this, can you check out room 123, we were non smokers and for us it seemed that there was a not so good smell of stale smoke, it permitated to our clothes, as non smokers it felt someone may have smoked in there, particularly in the bathroom. But other than that as always a lovely stay :-)

Room Tip: Try and stay when functions are not happening can be noisy if you have a room above the bar but food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Shelley O

We are glad you enjoyed your special weekend at The Riviera and look forward to welcoming you back soon. I have passed your comments to our housekeeping department for further investigation.
Kind Regards
SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Don't be conned into thinking a family room is a family room ! It's a standard double with a wobbly camp bed put in ! Add a dog and the room is tiny.
Asked the receptionist if there were any larger rooms available , and he said " I don't think so " without even bothering to look .
Agree with all other travellers, the room was ridiculously hot So had the worst nights sleep ever
Room looked over the front, so with both windows open - really noisy .
Borrowed a fan but as there's only one plug socket in the whole room, you can't then charge your phones or a computer ! It's 2013 for heavens sake
The parking, as others have stated was abissmal . Ended up parking streets away !
If you have a toddler stay away from the children's pool outside - its filthy
Thank goodness for the indoor pool
Only decent thing is breakfast
Seriously not value for money and won't be returning
Didn't get the chance to express our views on checkout as no one bothered to ask if we'd enjoyed our stay :(((

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stortlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Stortlodge

We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, it is disappointing to hear that our reception team did not deal with your complaint effectively. Can you please send us an email with the dates of your stay so we can investigate this matter further. Here at The Riviera we pride ourselves on good value for money and excellent customer service, The hotel procedures are that the indoor & outdoor pool are cleaned twice a day and as previously mentioned we would like to investigate this issue.
Yours sincerely
SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Old hotel would need a major refreshing. Bare room with no air conditioning.

Breakfast OK. Good location, close to the top of the cliffs overlooking the beach. Beautiful view from there!

We didn't get a chance to try the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJLParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear MJLParis
Thank you for comments; we shall pass them onto the managing director. We are glad you enjoyed the location and Bournemouth.
Kind Regards
SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed for a short break with a couple of children.
Facilities brilliant, staff helpful, family room beyond expectations.
The beach is only a couple of hundred yards away, and there is a little land
train that takes you to the pier approach in Bournemouth centre.
Would reccommend. Thank you Riviera

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank castlecorfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear castlecorfe

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here at The Riviera and hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent a wonderful couple of days celebrating our sons wedding here. The whole event was planned well & the very best value for money. Our son & daughter in law had the time of their lives & the hotel could not do more for us. The views as they took their vows were breathtaking overlooking the sea at Alum Chine. We can't praise the hotel enough for everything. Fabulous food & service was over and above our expectations. A huge thanks to all.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace_Young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
191 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,571 reviews
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,065 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Address: 12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $55 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good value hotel in Bournemouth which is renowned for its warm service and excellent food in spectacular surroundings – perfect for holidays in Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel And Holiday Apartments
Riviera Hotel Bournemouth
Riviera Hotel Holiday Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing