We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights , our room was great & spotlessly clean , we had a balcony which looked out to the sea, we found ourselves very comfy very quickly , really helpful & friendly staff. Will definitely return to this lovely hotel .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen_Nishan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    422
    160
    50
    32
See reviews for
361
463
35
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was a last minute booking and we could not have been more happy. The Hotel was a little tricky to find and didn't look to great from the outside (although lite up at night it looked lovely). The rooms are compact but have every thing you need. It was nice to have a bath and shower in the bath room. Everything was very clean. Although we were on the side we could see the sea from our room. The swimming pool was warm although the changing rooms on pool side were a little small. Also didn't find the hair drier till the last day as it was at the top of the stairs. The breakfast was excellent with both continetial and full english. The dining room overlooked the sea which again was an added bonus. The walk down to the sea front is fine and we enjoyed the walk along the front but it could be a bit of a trek for any one with mobility issues. The hill climb back up would be different if you are not fit. But there is an excellent cheap car parks on the front and its only 5 minutes by car. We had a late deal of £39.00 which we could not fault. I don't know with the size of the room if I would pay the full price of £119.00 but when you add the spa facilities, the bar and the breakfast you couldn't get much better for that price

Room Tip: Don't ask for a sea view as that is really expensive but ask to be put on the side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheyanne50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights between Christmas and New Year. Location very good, quiet and nice view of sea. Staff very friendly and food lovely. On second night my husband and I didnt fancy any of the deserts so they brought us cheese and biscuits. A nice touch. The only down side was the room. We paid extra for a superior room with a balcony. Couldnt use the balcony because of the weather but that is no fault of the hotel but the room was hardly superior and the shower was bordering on dangerous. It went from icy cold to scalding in seconds. Also the floor boards outside room 201 creaked all nights. We did walk the length of the corridor to see if it was just outside our room and it was!!!
Would I stay here again - probably but not in room 201

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulkaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Having been to the Hotel in the summer we decided to have a New Year Break with my Sister and family. The break was Excellent, Food Fantastic - although the little afternoon nibbles may need a revamp in the future (too many cakes and not enough savoury) Staff Brilliant. I hope they all enjoy their Xmas Party on Sunday, as it is well deserved.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 36TheRussells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is our 6th year at this Hotel, and 3rd year on the trot as a 10-day break. Great to see so many faces from past visits. Manager Jonathon Gould runs an outstanding set of teams. Very well looked after room - thanks housekeeping, food gets better every year - chef's gala nights to die for! For a hotel at this level, entertainment is excellent - all entertained to the level and ages of the guests. Staff so friendly in all departments - special thanks to Justin for the smooth running of the restaurant and to Eleanor on the bar for keeping us well lubricated. The Xmas, twixmas and New Year breaks can be taken seperately, but we now fancy the whole 10-day package. Whichever way, we think it is excellent value for money. We've booked next year already.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny6598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern england
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We went to a Xmas party and stayed the night, the Xmas meal in our view was 7 out of 10. The evening was excellent. The hotel stay was really good with the best ever breakfast and the staff were really good. After breakfast we walked into Bournemouth via the prom which runs the whole length from sandbanks and further on than Bournemouth. For any one staying at this hotel there are a lot of walks but quite a steep walk down to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R6CRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Just been to the Riveria for a Christmas Party - fantastic value for money.

Whole experience was much better than we had anticipated.

Staff very helpful and friendly, food good.

Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaygirll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#38 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Property: Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Address: 12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good value hotel in Bournemouth which is renowned for its warm service and excellent food in spectacular surroundings – perfect for holidays in Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HRS, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel And Holiday Apartments
Riviera Hotel Bournemouth
Riviera Hotel Holiday Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing