We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Denewood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Denewood Hotel
Ranked #42 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent three nights at the Denewood, and considering what we paid, there can be no complaints. Although the hotel could do with some improvements to the decor, the welcome was warm, and we had a large room with a sea view. Bed was large and comfortable, and the room was very clean. Breakfast was good, and we were asked on each occasion if anything more was needed. Hotel is well located, about 5 minutes from the beach, and has ample parking. Only real complaint was that hot water ran out which meant cold showers. We did mention this to the staff, as did other guests. Overall a good value break.

Room Tip: Room 16 has a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gezalerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 172 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

I'd suggest that if you're looking for a top-quality hotel, you look elsewhere. If your priorities are good value, a comfy bed and a warm welcome, Denewood will suit you fine. This is a great but basic hotel in a brilliant spot, a stone's throw from the beach. There's plenty of parking and a comfy lounge, and really friendly and genuine service that makes you feel instantly at home. The staff are obviously carefully selected as being kind, caring and warm - great to see young staff who are aware of the importance of service. Sure, it's lacking the 'little extras' that you'd expect if you were paying an extra £30 a night, and a quick once-over with a screwdriver wouldn't go amiss - plus the hot water is patchy at peak times but once you know this, you can work round it - but we'd go back. Breakfast is fine (huge veggie breakfast) and the huge bed was a delight.

Room Tip: Pretty sure our room was number 16, a corner room with a HUGE double and a single - fab view with lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShroppieSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I went with my husband to meet up with my sister and her partner to the Denewood hotel we chose it because of previous reviews. We were slightly disappointed as the room was clean but in need of some work on the decor.
The breakfast was quite basic as everthing seemed to be minimal and had to ask a couple of times for more tea,toast and butter. On our first morning I had 2 poached eggs on toast and they were both solid.
The hotel was in a good position close to the sea which we could see from our bedroom window.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel to relations.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaylover4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denewood_Manager, Manager at Denewood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for your positive comments about the high standard of cleanliness and our good location.
We are sorry to hear that we disappointed you on your visit. We very much care about customer feedback which is also the reason why we have customer surveys in every room and at breakfast which unfortunately, you did not fill in. We wish that you had spoken to a member of staff during your stay or before your departure, as they do pride themselves on being there to help. They were very sad about your comments.
We are always attempting to improve the establishment but as with all big building we have to do things in rotation as we do not have the finances to do everything in one go while keeping costs and inconvenience down for guests. We pride ourselves on giving good service at a good price.
Decor of course is subjective and you opted for the most cost effective budget room available. We are surprised you described breakfast as basic as we have often been complimented on the wide variety of things available to our guests like cereals, fruits and yoghurt as well as a choice of full English, Vegetarian or Continental breakfast. Sausages and bacon are high quality and locally sourced, mushrooms and tomatoes freshly grilled and many variants of eggs are available. As to the poached eggs, I am not sure why you did not mention this to your waitress as she would have been happy to change it for you, you would have just had to ask.
Thank you again for your feedback, which we are taking very serious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed with our two girls for 3 nights , and had a brilliant time both at the hotel and in bournemouth. The welcome we received after our long drive was superb, nothing was too much trouble and we had 2 lovely sized and clean rooms on the 2nd floor. The breakfast each morning was great and we varied our choices each day and again nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The hotel is literally a very short walk (downhill) to the sea and we ambled all the way from boscombe pier to bournemouth pier and then explored the town . All in all the hotel offers great value for money ( we are on a tight budget) is well placed for exploring all the area and has great staff who do their utmost to help. Will definitely go back when in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms 15 & 14 have a small sea view and are very quiet, downside they are on 2nd floor up quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vesb1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed for one night with a friend whilst attending a course nearby. I chose the hotel because it was dog friendly and not too expensive. We had a very friendly welcome and were shown to our rooms. My room was a single which was easily assessible. The room was of a good size with an ensuite shower which was small but usable. Good choice for breakfast, however an extra rasher of bacon would have been preferable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights with our toddler (20months) and had an amazing time. So close to the beach and a lovely walk into Bournemouth center. The hotel staff were brilliant friendly and very helpful. they made my little boy very welcome with a cot and highchair along with a great breakfast choice for him and us. The breakfast was gorgeous with a full English (veggie option) along with fruit cereal and lots of other choices. The room was massive the biggest bed we have ever stayed in. the hotel was clean bright and tidy and could not be faulted. It was so quite at night we had a great sleep. thank you so much for making our trip away so nice. great value for money will be back when in the area again.

Room Tip: We had a high floor and had a larger room than a double, which was massive, bed was bigger than a ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vw92h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed four nights at the Denewood from 26 October and found it to be a comfortable base from which to see family and friends for the four nights we were there. We stayed in Room 2 on the first floor which was warm, clean and had an enormous, comfortable bed. Small but perfectly adequate bathroom. The breakfasts were good and the girls in the hotel (all seemed to be German) were really friendly and welcoming. Great location with off-street parking and only a stone's throw from the beach. Lovely walk along the seafront into Bournemouth. The Denewood's glory has perhaps faded somewhat but, for what we paid, it was good value and we have no complaints.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallyathome10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.9 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,096 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
937 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,042 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,598 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denewood Hotel

Address: 40 Sea Road | Boscombe, Bournemouth BH5 1BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $53 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Denewood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denewood is a smart, friendly family hotel. Ideally situated to take advantage of the Bournemouth Beaches and the new surf reef which are only 500 yards away, the popular Boscombe shopping centre and the famous O2 Opera House Music Venue. The hotel has situated within itself a complete Health and Beauty salon dealing with men and women. For the business traveller there is a complete set of office facilities available plus free Wifi Internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Denewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing