We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Right on the Beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #32 of 79 Hotels in Bournemouth
Level Contributor
296 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Right on the Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is the first time I stayed in a hotel right on the beach. It was absolutely fantastic to be able to walk from the room down to the beach. The hotel grounds were lovely.

Parking
The cottage was away from the main hotel. We were able to park our vehicle right outside of the cottage. Be sure to give front desk your tag number of vehicle. We were told we didn't have to use the parking eye kiosk.

Room
The room was clean but some of the bath towels left lint and fuzz all over the body. Our room was a cottage with a portable air conditioning unit. That A/C unit sucks. We dealt with the heat for one day because the hose was not properly attached to the wall. Someone came to check the unit and decided to open a window and stick the hose out. It leaked water on carpet and with the window been propped open for the hose a bee flew into the room!

Breakfast Buffet
Breakfast buffet is good but pancakes taste doughy sometimes. It was crowded on a Friday morning. After waiting for more than 5 minutes I was seated at a table and when I went to get my breakfast only to return to find another family sitting at my table. I had to wait with a plate of food in my hand while the waitress find me another table. I was seated at a dirty booth that had not been cleared yet. Had to wait for silverware, pot of tea, napkins and a teacup. Had to flag down different waiters to get each of those items. Me and another guest were looking for the glasses for the juice. We summoned a waitress and she came back and handed the other guest two glasses instead of bringing out a tray of glasses for all the guests. I had to wait for a glass. Spent Friday morning just waiting for things and dealing with absent-minded waitresses. It was unbelievable how inept they were. Overall, it was lovely place to stay in spite of the minor annoyances.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canyanyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    421
    213
    91
    54
See reviews for
232
516
28
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I have just come back from a week away at this destination and 1 word to say about this place is great!
The staff are extremely pleasant and welcoming(always looking for tips), the food at the grill is astonishing and the food in the restaurant is also tasty however not a wide range of variety. The pool is great however in hot weather it can be busy at times and not enough sun beds, on the other hand pool staff are polite, friendly and pleasant as well.
The rooms are cleaned everyday and some days we had chocolates placed on our beds and curtains closed, and the air conditioning in the room works however, we noticed when staying there that they kept turning the air conditioning off even when it was too hot.
The bad thing about this hotel for me is that I have a peanut allergy and they don't have consideration for those people who do have allergies, we ordered drinks at the bar and straight away they gave us peanuts and didn't ask if we would like them or not when the waiter went to remove the peanuts they spilt them on the table this made me feel uncomfortable as I was scared of a reaction to the peanuts.
Also on multiple occasions we went to sit down to have a drink and there was peanuts on the table which hadn't been cleaned up, the waiter came over to order our drinks but still left the table dirty, we had to specifically ask them to wipe down the table because of an allergy and they were really understanding and happy to.
Breakfast, the options and the taste of breakfast is amazing, one of the best parts there is so much on offer and you can have something different everyday. However, they also here had peanut butter out with dirty spoon on side which also had jam on and they were also serving peanut cereal, I have been to this hotel many times before and this was new to me not a good idea to keep encouraging nuts especially when nut allergies are popular.
I would finally recommend this hotel to go to but the staff do need to informed about allergies.

Room Tip: The hotel has wifi for free downstairs but in the room you are only allowed 24hours free and the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 769Lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony E, Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you 769Lily,
A great post which I have shared with my team, we strive to deliver this level of service every day and your comments have certainly kept the team focused here at the Highcliff.
Over the past month I have been personally conducting refresher training for all of the relevant team members in regards to allergy awareness, this is certainly a focus for the industry at the moment and we as a hotel are passionate about making sure this aspect of our business is as strong as the others, thank you for your comments in regards to this.
We look forward in being able to welcome you back to the Highcliff very soon.
Yours sincerely
Tony Edwards
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
998 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. Even on a corporate rate, it was not cheap. The hotel has a car park with a guest rate of £10, but I think I got the last space at 4.30. I was upgraded to a very pleasant suite and welcomed the air conditioning as it was a hot afternoon. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The view was over the car park, but the view from the main building was superb with a panoramic view of the sea and the Isle of Wight. I didn't eat at the hotel and tried out the new Marriott app to check out, with my bill being sent to me via email.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sdwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Even on a corporate rate this is £200 per night. For that money I would get a great hotel and change in central London.

Most public areas are showing bad signs of wear - grubby sofas, peeling paint etc.

Rooms are a reasonable size and have most of the items you would expect for a 4* hotel, but again it looks like this hotel is in bad need of a refurb.

At this price it is very poor indeed.

Room Tip: If you don't like the heat ask for a room at the back, but you will need to forego the sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotChilli99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony E, Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Kersi01,
My apologies that we have not met your expectation at the time of your visit, I can assure you we continuously review the condition of our product and up date certain areas where it is necessary.
That being said your comments do aid myself with future planned renovations.
I trust we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Highcliff very soon and please feel free to contact myself directly so I can personally oversee your next stay with us.
Kind regards
Tony Edwards
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Marriott, our 6th year at this hotel and we had such a great time. We can't understand why this hotel does not rate number 1 on trip advisor so we want to let everyone know that it should!! Big thank you to Rebecca Osbourne who organised everything for us perfectly and made sure our stay was totally stress free and very enjoyable. The staff could not do enough for us, good to chat to Mark, Restaurant Manager and hear all the exciting plans that the hotel has in the future. Staff to mention who go above and beyond expectional customer service are Peter on Reception, Alexis Conceirge, Housekeeping were great, At Your Service were efficient and helpful at all times and overall we couldnt fault anything. Our room was lovely and clean with a fantastic view. Breakfasts were outstanding. My partner had a wonderful birthday weekend and we cant wait to come back again soon! Big thanks to all at the Marriott. A great team. Helen Phillips and Andrew Mackay

Room Tip: 308 is a lovely room, gives a fantastic overall view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HLPSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony E, Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
WOW, thank you HLPSurrey,
A great post and one that has brought smiles to the persons you have mentioned and great recognition.
We look forward in being able to welcome you back to us again at the Highcliff soon and being able to host you for your future breaks away.
Kind regards
Tony Edwards
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

If you want an amazing and affordable .5* meal look no further! They do a set meal for £31.50 , 4 courses. You can however go off meal and select from the al a cart meal at no extra cost. You may have to pay a little extra for premium meats Beef. The service is second to none and when I could not decide my dessert they made me two at no extra cost!! Wine is priced well and very good. On top of all this you get a sea view if requested. Cannot wait to return!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony E, Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Lisa P,
A big thank you for your post, such great comments and real recognition for the team here at the Highcliff Grill for all the hard work they do every day.
We look forward in seeing you again and if you come to us most Fridays in July and August I would recommend our lobster dish, however we now have specials everyday!
Kind regards
Tony Edwards
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton On Trent
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I have stayed at the Highcliff many times and I have to say it is a lovely hotel. The staff are always very welocming and friendly and the location is excellent. So close to everything.
I have already previously written a review on this hotel but felt that I had to write one again as the staff never cease to 'WoW' me.
My husband and I arrived really early and decided to pay and have breakfast never expecting our room to be ready. However Peter Wilkinson the Reception manager was superb and very professional. He found us a lovely cottage room that was already serviced and allowed us to check in. His 'can do' attitude and friendly welcome was excellent. This early check in was very much appreciated.
The following day we took advantage of the lovely weather and sat by the pool. Here we met Darian Abley who is one of the pool attendants. Darian is lovely. He is friendly, helpful and welcoming and a pleasure to talk to. He most clearly loves his job. Weather permitting Darian cooks on a BBQ and easily persuaded us to try what he had cooked. The chicken burger with salad was superb and sensibly priced at £6. It was very tasty and great to eat your lunch whilst sat on your sunbed.
My only negative comments this time of the hotel is that the breakfast was no where as nice as the previous times we have stayed. Whether this was because the hotel was very busy but it apprears that 'corners have been cut'. All of the preserves are now in pots next to the toaster. You have to help yourself. Gone are the small individual pots on the table. There was also no sign of any honey. When I asked for it none could be found. The cooked breakfast was also dried and not as tasty as I have experienced at this hotel. All of the staff though were friendly and helpful. All in all a poor breakfast with not a great deal of choice.
The cottage bedroom we stayed in was nice with a lovely garden/sea view. The bathroom is very small and dated and in need or refurbishment. Thank goodness there is air con in this room or we would have swealtered. It is not a room I would choose again as the rooms in the main hotel building overlooking the sea are the best.
I did not stay for dinner this time due to other commitments but I am sure it would be good as it always has been when I have eaten in the hotel on previous occasions and as I have kept on saying, the staff are lovely.
All I can say is that the 2 members of staff that really shone on this stay was Peter and Darian. Every hotel need a Peter or Darian that offer the same customer service that they gave my husband and I.

Room Tip: 513 is one of the cottages overlooking the gardens and sea. It has a very tiny bathroom but is a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#10 of 79 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 3,011 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#16 of 79 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 79 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Property: Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Address: 105 St. Michaels Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#23 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping sea views, an exquisitely detailed lobby and outstanding staff welcome you to the Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel. Located adjacent to from the Bournemouth International Centre on the Dorset coastline, we offer a setting that both business and leisure travellers will appreciate. Richly appointed guest rooms offer supreme comfort and secure high-speed Internet. In summer, the sun terrace and outdoor pool provide the perfect retreat. Wifi is available free of charge in the lobby, lounge and bar to all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bournemouth
Bournemouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing