We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A special night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #29 of 78 Hotels in Bournemouth
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A special night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

On arrival the attention of the consierge cannot be underestimated. The customer service at the hotel is faultless. Receptionists say all the right things and the timing from arrival to room was faultless. A sherry overlooking the bay passed the time and once seen the room was well worth the wait.

We were part of a special event so truly cannot complain however the buffet that was provided for our function was horribly dry, cold and ultimately inedible. Not our hosts fault but disappointing as we were starving by 9.30 pm.

A highlight was the breakfast - amazing and as mentioned before the service impeccable throughout.

Thank You for an amazing stay but I would think twice about an event if the food was as bad as we suffered - maybe an all day breakfast is the answer!

Room Tip: Room was horribly hot, even in January. Tried to cool it with the air conditioning but to little ef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthbourneLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    416
    203
    83
    46
See reviews for
219
499
27
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

There are so many great things to say about this hotel. The included breakfast is fantastic - so much variety and just a great way to start the day overlooking the ocean from the dining area.

My wife and I had our wedding reception here and stayed in one of the junior suites. We've been back to the same room twice since and it's still as great as we remember it. Each time our room request has been met, which is wonderful and adds so much to our experience for nostalgic reasons. The room itself is very good - two large TVs for the bedroom and the sitting area, comfortable bed.

The staff are wonderful, the location is amazing, the rooms are great, the breakfast is fantastic and though I have never used it, the leisure facilities get great reviews. So why no excellent rating you ask?

The shower is not a great experience. The width of the bathtub at the showerhead end is so narrow it's ridiculous. It's fine if you actually take a bath and you sit at the wider end, but taking a shower is a pain. I seriously felt like I was taking a shower while standing on a balance beam. One step to the left or right and you would slip. There is just enough space to stand with your feet together, but that's hardly relaxing nor easy to maneuver!

And annoyingly, there's no free WiFi for guests! OK, I exaggerate, you are fortunate enough to get a small window of free WiFi in your room - about one hour if I remember rightly, but come on! For the price you pay to stay here, you should be getting free WiFi in this day and age. What's more annoying is the outrageous price for connecting to the WiFi for 24 hours if you wanted to, plus the fact that visitors to the restaurant get free WiFi downstairs. Seems a bit off to me...residents don't get it but lunch visitors do.

On this particular visit we were also disappointed to find some left behind rubbish in the room. Room key, water bottle, etc. Not a lot, but still not what you expect when you check in. Either the previous guest had managed to get back in to the room after housekeeping had been in, or housekeeping just didn't finish their work. It was taken care of quickly and we were offered a room change, which wasn't necessary.

I still like the hotel a lot, it has many things going for it, but the WiFi is a pet peeve of mine and the shower is of upmost importance in my hotel stays. For such a great facility in every other way, it's a shame.

Still, recommended for it's location, breakfast and overall room quality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighcliffGM, General Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Chris

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at The Highcliff here on Tripadvisor.
It is nice to hear that the hotel holds some great memories for you and your wife and I am very pleased that in the main, you enjoy staying with us.

With regard to the bathtub in your suite, could I ask that you kindly email me directly and let me know which suite you stayed in, as this is an issue that has never been identified before? We do have some smaller bathtubs in the bedrooms that occupy the former coast guard cottages, due to the configuration of these listed historic buildings, we in think that this is part of the charm of the cottages. Please do drop me an email though if you will.

The situation that you report regarding some waste items in the room is clearly a mistake on our part and I appologise for that. It is more likely that we missed emptying one of the waste bins, than a prior guest being able to access the room.

With regard to wifi, we do provide a completely free wifi service throughout the public areas of the hotel: lounge, bar, restaurant, lobby and health club. You are correct in that we do currently have a charge for the much higher band width service that is available in our bedrooms, ideal for streaming a movie or downloading large presentation type files.

Thank you again for returning to stay with us and I hope that we will see you back at the Highcliff again soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have stayed here many times and it is always a great place to stay. Have just returned from a great weekend here and it was better than ever. The hotel has a great location, the public rooms have a fantastic view. Lovely furnishings in the public areas and the bedrooms and everywhere spotlessly clean, I always say it is the only hotel that I would feel confident looking under the bed and find it as clean as everywhere else. The bedclothes, towels and choices of pillows is superb and best of all the. staff are amazing, they are very friendly and welcoming and exceptionally efficient. The food is good, particularly the breakfast. We can't think of any negative so thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sbcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighcliffGM, General Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write such a positive review - it is wonderful to know that you hold the hotel in such high regard.

I am very proud of the team here at the Highcliff, so greatly appreciate your acknowledgement of the service and engagement that you have received whilst staying with us.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to the Highcliff and to Bournemouth soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Visited with a company called Just You (for singles) and can find only good things to say about this Hotel. The service, the food, ambience - all excellent - will definitely visit again. All the staff went out of their way to make the experience a happy one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank step4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighcliffGM, General Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing to spend Christmas with us at The Highcliff this year. It was our pleasure to host you and your fellow guests in your group.

Please do come and stay with us again soon - maybe a nice Spring break, or a Summer stay ahead of a return at Christmas?? Thank you for posting your feedback here, we appreciate your comments.

Kind regards


Andrew Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had afternoon tea on Sunday with the rain and wind beating at the windows but the view over the coast was still spectacular. afternoon tea was fine,the usual sandwiches,scones and cakes. I was disappointed by the cakes, it seemed to be left over Christmas cake and a large piece of brownie, no patisserie or tempting delicate treats. The pastry chef could pick up some tips from the great British Bake off!!
However the staff were attentive and friendly and the champagne delicious.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlottejd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighcliffGM, General Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Charlotte

Thank you for your feedback and for visiting us for Afternoon Tea, I love the view from the Highcliff Lounge - Whatever the weather it is a great place to sit and watch the sea, so I am pleased that the rain didn't spoil your visit.

Your feedback on the cakes is very welcome. We certainly were not using up Christmas cake; in fact our fruit cake has always been a popular item on our afternoon tea. However we are literally just in the process of sign off of the new season's afternoon tea (tough job all this tasting) and I think that you will really like it, based upon your comments.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope that we see you again soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

A really great location and a really nicely furnished hotel. I have stayed here a couple of times and was very happy both times. I've said everything I want to so why oh why oh why oh why oh why oh why oh why do I now I need to write more words to meet the minimum requirement.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighcliffGM, General Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear RP
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting your review here on Tripadvisor.

I'm sorry that the system requires you to type a little bit more than you felt you needed to - but I am glad that you did! I appreciate your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed staying with us.

We hope that we can welcome you back to the Highcliff soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
194 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Had a very restful stay from midday on New Year's Eve to midday on January 1st.....everything was very pleasant. We were impressed to get our rooms at midday when we were told prior that it would be 3. Used the spa area before the super afternoon tea. Rooms were comfortable. Nice canapés and kir royale before a tasty meal. The band were ok as was the disco, but I would have liked more modern music generally. Nice brunch...did not feel rushed to leave. I would definitely consider it again for new year and maybe other future events.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SKKBmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighcliffGM, General Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Happy New Year to you - thank you for choosing to celebrate New Year with us and for taking time to provide this feedback.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the atmosphere and pace of the hotel for the duration of our New Year's package.

Thank you for your feedback on the band - we chose them for their ability to play across a range of genres and to try and please the wide age range that our event attracts - we we think they did really well, but we will certainly share your feedback with them. Your timing is perfect as we are in the process of planning our Christmas and New Year package already for Christmas 2014.

I hope that you do join us for NYE again, if not before. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Highcliff.

Kind regards


Andrew Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,934 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Property: Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Address: 105 St. Michaels Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#23 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping sea views, an exquisitely detailed lobby and outstanding staff welcome you to the Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel. Located adjacent to from the Bournemouth International Centre on the Dorset coastline, we offer a setting that both business and leisure travellers will appreciate. Richly appointed guest rooms offer supreme comfort and secure high-speed Internet. In summer, the sun terrace and outdoor pool provide the perfect retreat. Wifi is available free of charge in the lobby, lounge and bar to all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Marriott and Travelocity so you can book your Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bournemouth
Bournemouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing