We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close to excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #38 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“So close to excellent”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Visited recently for just one night. lucky enough to have the last parking space available. Got checked in and the reception staff were very friendly and efficient. Given two rooms in a 'wing' at the back of the principal hotel building. The lift was surely the slowest in the modernised world! Nice enough room. Excellent bed, firm and comfortable and a surfeit of quality pillows (always a personal priority). Excellent en suite (but very noisy) and a large flat screen television, trouser press and tea/coffee making facility. For the cost, a bottle of mineral water should have been supplied free and not £2.50 ($4). Thought this was a tad mean.The corridors outside were somewhat undulating and creaky and I would have like direct access to the main building without using the open car park. (what happens when it rains?).
Went to the patio bar and ordered two drinks. Fifteen minutes later they had to be 'chased up' and were delivered without ice. Nice touch though, we weren't charged and that cooled my ire. Bit disappointed with the restaurant and not being able to get a table at short notice for evening dinner. The menu wasn't especially prepossessing though.
In rush to get there, forgot certain toiletries found wonderful help from a very efficient concierge who got me shaving and tooth brushes. A sublime Full English breakfast is offered and can last many hours.
Next day, the ever friendly reception staff extended my parking time again without charge (normally £10 daily).
Going to Bournemouth? Give yourself a treat and come here. It is in a superb position. And just down the same road there is a wonderful little pub called The Hop Inn; basic but atmospheric, selling a pint of good, honest English real ale and the live music was fantastic.

Room Tip: Seek a room in the principal building and not in the Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    488
    244
    115
    65
See reviews for
268
603
36
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

A fantastic location with great views, but it does need work to maintain its image as a first class hotel.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The bedroom was fine, although the bathroom needed an upgrade. Lounge is good, but drinks are on the expensive side, and charging for a dish of crisps or nuts on top of that is yet another extra which takes the edge off the visit. The other greedy extras would include £10 a day for parking and £15 a day for WiFi - something which most hotels in the UK now provide free of charge.

The breakfast was an average buffet - reasonable, but the tomatoes and mushrooms were soggy and there was no black pudding. Just as well it was included, as it is certainly not worth £15.

Like many of the buildings in Bournemouth, the hotel looks tired, and to get to our room in the Dorchester wing meant a flight of stairs (or a very slow lift), a winding, uneven corridor with another two small flights of stairs. Parking is also a nightmare (as well as being expensive) - not enough spaces for the size of the hotel. Really, they would be better knocking the whole complex down and rebuilding it to modern standards. People do expect more now, and this does not cut it as an upmarket hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy Bernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Fantastic staff from Steve welcoming us in the car park & carrying our cases to the comis chef walking past us wishing us a lovely day. Made paying a bit more really worth it. Service with a real smile.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sooogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Lovley hotel the staff were so nice and very polite would recommend hotel to everyone excellent surrounding and the view is to die for looking over the sea the food is great parking perfect and such a clean hotel we even saw the porter cleaning the brass on arrival the staff are first class so helpfull would deffinately stay here again

Room Tip: Any room it's a perfect hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We recently held an event at the hotel for 120 delegates, and was a fantastic experience. It was the smoothest event I have ever run and that can be accredited to the can do atttitude of all staff.
Customer Service was excellent, food was good. Location and views are lovely. We will be returning as a family, do make use of the fantastic facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richanddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Only the one night stayed, me and the missus , but was given an upgrade to the cottages as i'm not shy to hint it was a special birthday occasion, this without question is the best hotel I have stayed in , in Bournemouth luxury from start to finish , my only gripe was the £10 parking charge but given the weather was superb during our stay this was soon forgotten, would recommend searching for a good price and use Quido too , for £84 for 1 night in a cottage room...Bargain !

Room Tip: the cottages ,fantastic sea views ,very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vandykepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighcliffGM, General Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay - the cottage rooms are great, especially at this time of the year when the ocean view and access to the outdoor pool are such a delight.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the Highcliff soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Took advantage of the Fantastic friday offer £94.00 for delux room Bed and Breakfast. Compare this to Premier Inn rate of £72 room B&B. Hotel has fantastic facilities Both Indoor and Out Door swimming pools with large deck area for sunbathing - towels and loungers provided free!! Great Buffet breakfast - help yourself to a full range of English and continental breakfast foods. Room decent size and functional sized bathroom - the only glitch in a very relaxing two day stay was the small double bed. We had asked for a king size but non available. Next time will ask for twin beded room and push the beds together. Location of hotel also fantastic right beside the west cliff steps and the BIC Great views of the pier and promenade. Will definately go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 86MichaelA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighcliffGM, General Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Highcliff and for providing a review.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed staying with us and our great breakfast.

Our queen beds are fantastic for one and comfortable for two, but you are quite right, our kind size beds are great. Please make future bookings directly at marriott.com where you will be able to request a specific bed type at the point of booking.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the Highcliff again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
960 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
867 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Property: Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Address: 105 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#23 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping sea views, an exquisitely detailed lobby and outstanding staff welcome you to the Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel. Located adjacent to from the Bournemouth International Centre on the Dorset coastline, we offer a setting that both business and leisure travellers will appreciate. Richly appointed guest rooms offer supreme comfort and secure high-speed Internet. In summer, the sun terrace and outdoor pool provide the perfect retreat. Wifi is available free of charge in the lobby, lounge and bar to all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bournemouth
Bournemouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing