We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #38 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Location....”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here on a Friday night, the location is great, and the staff were nice, the room was tired but pretty comfortable, the WIFI was £16 per day ???!!!!

The room service was terrible, and pricey, the breakfast looked like it should taste good but was just really poor quality, cheap ingredients and everything was over cooked, at £16 each it was a massive let down.

The Marriott owners need to go stay at a Doubletree and see what the competition are doing.

My advice, book the cheapest room and eat elsewhere

Room Tip: Book on a room broker site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ondnkasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighcliffGM, General Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent review following your visit to the Highcliff.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our wonderful location but sorry to read your comments regarding our breakfast and food in general. We are really proud of the Highcliff Grill; winner of the Taste of Bournemouth / Best Restaurant award at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards. All of our produce is of great quality with a "carefully sourced" policy to ensure fresh, seasonal and sustainable produce are used. This concept extends to breakfast for which our bacon and sausage are provided by our local butcher and all fruits are hand cut here at the hotel on the morning of service.

Wifi is in fact free of charge in the hotel's lobby, lounge and bar area. We do charge for high bandwidth secure connections from the bedroom, should you need to stream a movie or download very large files such as multi-media presentations

Thank you again for your feedback and for staying with us.


Andrew Francis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    486
    241
    112
    65
See reviews for
266
597
36
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boracay, Philippines
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel more, having stayed here many times over 20 years, the most recent being this weekend for a family reunion. The cliff-top location is excellent, being close to the town yet far enough away to avoid the crowds, the rooms are large and well equipped (I promise not to mention to marriott bed yet again). The outdoor swimming pool was a new delight, as it has been heated to 30c so whatever the weather, its a warm treat, and at 7.30am on a cool, still, but sunny may morning, it was one of the best sensations ever. Staff attentive and excellent as usual, (restaurant review as an additional review). Only downside is the car park, too small for the number of hotel clientele, there needs to be a greeter outside the hotel to explain the parking situation. £10 per day is not too bad, but dont try to find a space yourself, cos there never is one. looking forward to coming back soon.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must! else its car park view, which can be amusing watching guests trying to park up
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustHangingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while attending the annual Barbershop convention at the conference centre. The hotel is ideally placed with wonderful views of the coastline, easy access to the beach and within easy walking distance of the town centre and the conference hall. The service was impeccable. Every single member of staff was charming, professional and helpful, even at a very busy weekend breakfast time. We had a standard room but it was very well appointed with lots of luggage space, a good bathroom and tea and coffee making facilities. The choice at breakfast was excellent and if you're lucky you'll get a view of the sea.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view come at a premium but are worth it for a special occasion. Arrive early for b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Trawled the Internet as we wanted one night stay in Bournemouth on a Friday. Found the Marriott on LateRooms and what a brilliant find it was. Price was equivalent to Premier Inn, even with a fee for parking the car, but thats where the similarity ends.

Room was a great size, breakfast was really good. Staff were very helpful and the location was good (albeit a steep walk in to Bournemouth..!!). They even threw in a swim in the Spa Centre for me.

I can't understand why this isn't higher on the rating. No complaints from me...well done Marriott.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheEnglishTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I recently attended with a group of friends a 'Murder Mystery' Evening at the splendid location of the Marriott Highcliff Hotel on the West Cliff, Bournemouth. Not knowing quite what to expect, having never attended such an event before, it turned out to be a most splendid evening.

All that one knew was that you had to attend appropriately dressed as if one was attending the races. On arrival there was a welcome drink of Bucks Fizz and a betting slip given for a 'make believe' flutter with the costumed bookie on hand with the betting odds board. Everyone was seated after the placing of their bet and the scene set, which encompassed speculation of making lots of money from the winning horse, the love of money, greed, and finally murder.

After the 'wicked deed' of murder had been accomplished the rest of the evening was spent being ushered to the dining room. Over a most delightful meal the actors were questioned by the dinner guests, clues discussed, as to who had 'done it'? During coffee the suspects were gradually eliminated to reveal the murderer. A bottle of champagne was presented to the winning table and also to the best ladies hat for the races

The meal was superb which included an unusual pate, mouth watering lamb and a chocolate desert which was absolutely delicious.

A fantastic evening, Thank you

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriscolledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the highcliff for a short break in April. The location is fantastic right next to the beach with lovely views.

Staff are great and willing to help you out with anything you asked. The breakfast is also amazing and well worth the money if you are staying.

The only problem was that we stayed on a Saturday night in a room above a wedding party. The noise was really bad so we reported this to reception who immediately transferred us to a sea view room as an upgrade! So all in all we were happy with the change.

I would definitely return but ask for a room away from the wedding party areas if there is one on

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imo1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level Contributor
230 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

A really nice hotel in a good location athough up a hill so need to be fairly fit if you plan on walking everyehere. Breakfast was a really good buffet with propper sausages and lots of choices of food.
Bed really comfortable and room clean.
Excellent pools outside and in, although the outside one was closed it looked really.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loobyBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
947 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
865 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Property: Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Address: 105 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#23 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping sea views, an exquisitely detailed lobby and outstanding staff welcome you to the Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel. Located adjacent to from the Bournemouth International Centre on the Dorset coastline, we offer a setting that both business and leisure travellers will appreciate. Richly appointed guest rooms offer supreme comfort and secure high-speed Internet. In summer, the sun terrace and outdoor pool provide the perfect retreat. Wifi is available free of charge in the lobby, lounge and bar to all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bournemouth
Bournemouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing