We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #38 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, although a little expensive. The staff go out of their way to help, and the whole atmosphere puts you in a very relaxed state of mind. Great location, comfy beds, good service.
When we arrived we had trouble parking due to a conference. I dropped the missus and kids off and drove around looking for a parking spot. The concierge on duty (can't remember his name, Chris or Christian) was ever so helpful, came and found me and showed me where to park, then moved my car to the Hotel car park when a space became available. Its this kind of service that makes you want to return to a hotel, and we certainly will.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennyBoyRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,137 - 1,143 of 1,620 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Marriott is known for its service. I reached the hotel in evening and was manned by one staff at reception. Quick check-in but no assistance for luggage.

The room was cozy with about the right size. Big toilet, but not enough mat to keep in toilet (it was freezing and keeping feet on un-carpet area was bad. Heating in the room was good, excellent mattress. Downside with the room - no free wifi.

Breakfast was very good with excellent service. I asked for vegetarian options and was disappointed. I had to survive on toast, juice, corn flakes, fruits. Unhappy but still could enjoy the breakfast which was part of the package.

The view from hotel lobby is fabulous. A walk outside is amazing - very breezy. Overall enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AjayJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The building is a little tired and please do not let this put you off. This is a lovely hotel. The beds are spot on and the showers are efficient and work well. The bathrooms are well appointed and the rooms much more than functional. The staff can't do enough to help and they should be hugely congratulated for that.

I had pollock fish and chips in room service and it was lovely. Breakfast was very, very good and the porridge was spot on (always a test) and the freshly made (in front of you) pancakes and waffles were gorgeous.

When I asked about the gym, the reception staff played down my expectations. However, it is better appointed than many other hotel gyms that I've used. The facilities overall are excellent.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warlock1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in one of the cottages off the main hotel this weekend. The rooms were nice but nothing special with uneven creaky floors and carpet that could do with an overhaul. The bathroom was ok, however the finish on the actual bath was peeling away quite noticably. We had a great sea view though and our bed was lovely, but that didn't make up for the price we had paid for the room. The room was freezing when we got there - they manage to leave the pay tv channel on, but not the heating?? I was also disappointed at having to pay £10 everyday for parking - it should be included in the room rate which is already very high.

The meals were very good. We had breakfast included in the room rate which offered a huge selection. We also ate the set 4 course dinner one evening which was a very high standard - absolutly delicious, well cooked and beautifully presented food. We stayed for the Sunday lunch, but wish we hadn't bothered as it was disappointing. It seemed very rushed and they were happy to get us in and out in just under an hour. Five minutes after we ordered our food was served. The food on the plate was a bit of a mish-mash also and portion sizes seemed to differ between tables.

Staff were very friendly and more than happy to help. They are definitely the best thing about this hotel.

Room Tip: The sea view cottages seem to get quite cold during the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lel_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely location, nice building, lots of character and the staff are fine, lots of smiles and always attentive. Restaurant was good, excellent breakfast spread.

BUT...its tired, well overdue a refurbish, by modern standards even their better rooms need to be uplifted.

When booking ask if if your room in main building or in the "Dorchester Suite" if latter then it is an annexe building which is a walk across the car park and its not same as main building, if offered this as a room location then avoid and go to another place.

If re furbished and modernized it will be great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My daughter had her hen do at the Marriott this weekend and I cannot praise the hotel highly enough. The service in the hotel was exceptional, we no sooner asked for something and it was there, both in the bedroom and the restaurant. The restaurant staff were particularly helpful when they laid on a champagne afternoon tea for 22 people. It was set up overlooking the sea and they constantly topped up both the sandwiches and the glasses all for a set price!The rooms were spotless, large and bright. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diana552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

the rib eye steak on the bone, is simply superb! Hotel parking is not great, staff are ok, some great especially the restaurant staff, some not so great, house keeping could be improved, which probably means management need to train and supervise more! Wi fi is not good and needs sorting out, as does hotel computer in business centre.
Had junior suite with side sea view, which was ok. Breakfast was very good, as was the rest of the food served, including the function on the Saturday night. Stayed 4nights,would certainly stay again. if it was local would eat there often! great virtually waters edge well cliff edge location.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, you really want a full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinkholidayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,218 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
828 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Address: 105 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $95 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping sea views, an exquisitely detailed lobby and outstanding staff welcome you to the Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel. Located adjacent to from the Bournemouth International Centre on the Dorset coastline, we offer a setting that both business and leisure travellers will appreciate. Richly appointed guest rooms offer supreme comfort and secure high-speed Internet. In summer, the sun terrace and outdoor pool provide the perfect retreat. Wifi is available free of charge in the lobby, lounge and bar to all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bournemouth
Bournemouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing