We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice short overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #39 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We paid around £190 for a Friday night B&B stay so were expecting the room to be pretty good, but in truth it was a little disappointing. Nothing to get upset about, just a little disappointing. The bed was comfortable however and the room was warm (just as well as it was like the Arctic outside) so no great shakes. We were in Room 202 but I imagine most of the rooms are the same. Reasonable size and a great view to the sea (if only the weather had been kinder.)

The bar was a nice place for a drink (expect your standard eye-watering hotel prices) although the service was very s..l..o..w. (Too many people ordering random cocktails that took too long for the one barman to mix up). Breakfast was great and the staff were pleasant and friendly.

Top Tip: Don't bother with the hotel car park. Cars are crammed in like sardines and you get charged £10 for the privilege of having your doors dented. Directly outside the hotel on St Michaels Road the parking is FREE. If that is full (it was for us) just drive another 30 metres along the road to the sea front part of the road and you can park from 5pm UNTIL MIDDAY THE FOLLOWING DAY FOR FREE (It's 2 hours parking between 10am and 7pm so that covers you 5pm till midday)

Room Tip: Room 202 gives good views of the sea and also gives a good view of St Michaels Road if you have take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,122 - 1,128 of 1,589 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

I am currrently 7 months pregnant and my husband had booked the hotel for a nights stay as we were going to see the comedian Mickey Flannigan at the BIC. The weekend started off very well when we were greated by the reception staff who were very helpful and efficient. However once we were checked and went to grab some lunch the experience quickly declined. After being told at 1:30pm we could not have a bite to eat as the restaurant as it was closed for afternoon tea we were told you find a place in the lounge area. I then had to ackwardly sit on a low sofa and try and eat a sandwich which was very difficult due to my large baby bump. I also had to return my steak sandwich after asking for it well done to be told that is comes medium and should have asked for it well done. To be honest with this, the rude scruffy staff and a lady server chewing gum we quickly ate up and when back to the room. The leisure area was a total let down and reminded me a a swimming pool back i used to go to with my school. It was cold, overcrowded not one memember of staff went around to tidy up the pile of wet towels and paper cups building up around the pool side.
Fortunately enough our early dinner in the restaurant managed to bring back some smiles as we had a wonderful meal and were looked after by a very charminig waiter who could not do enough for me. To sum up the whole experience I would say that is was very inconsistant. Half the staff didn't care and the other half went over and beyond. Parts of the hotel had been updated and the other half were so old. Our suite no. 107 was very traditional and the bathroom needs a complete overall as I could barely fit in the tiny shower cubicle. The grout was all discoloured and shower was about to fall off the wall. The cooked breakfast was very good the following morning and again restored some confident again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Henrietta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

There was good, bad, and ugly on this visit but overall ended up giving this a four rating. The good, the staff, very pleasant, not only willing but very quick to help with any issue. The location atop the cliffs with wonderful views of the water from all public locations is lovely, and you are only steps away from enjoying a walk along the English channel. The outside included a terrace with benches and tables, and apparently outdoor seating for the bar (although it was raining and cold so i could not enjoy), likely perfect late spring and summer months when a bit warmer. I stayed in one of the cottages on the first floor of the two story flats. Plenty of windows, and two doors, one to the garden the other to the street, not fancy but clean with minimal lighting. The bad, my room was very cold when I arrived and I quickly turned up the heat, an hour later still no heat so I called the front desk. They quickly sent someone to assist and he adjusted the heating units a bit, left for tools returned quickly and finally heat! The shower was powerful enough to blow the curtain out several times, and it was a struggle to keep the water from pouring out on the floor. The bathroom was freezing, the only thing warm in there was the towel warmer and the water. Now the ugly, the wifi pricey, and unreliable in the room, the hard line broken and i taped it to my laptop to make it stay put The bed was a lumpy, squeaky horror. Every time I moved (often to get away from the lumps) it would shudder as if about to collapse. The howling wind came through the windows and doors, but somehow added not subtracted from the ambience. In the end I decided the real fault was the horrible bed and freezing bathroom but the staff and location moved this from a 3 to a 4 in my review

Room Tip: Of course a view of the channel and a room with a new bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnT964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Have just returned from spending a lovely night at the Highcliff Marriott. As our room was not ready when we arrived we were upgraded to a junior suite...we only had to waist a couple of minutes and were then take to our room which was had separate dressing area and sitting area and a tastefully decorated bedroom with a huge bed.. Whilst we could not find fault with the hotel I feel it is slightly overpriced...probably worth the money in the summer because of its location, but nearly £200 a night for a room overlooking the car park, with breakfast, is a little steep. However, the service is great and the staff are just amazing and we certainly didn't have any communication problems due to language barriers...special thank you to Charlott on reception for her warm welcome..like all the staff we encountered at the Highcliff she is an asset to the hotel. We hope to return in the summer..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebrownfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

For a four star hotel, I expected better than I got. My experience did not start well when I arrived mid afternoon to find the car park already full. I found a spot outside the main car park on what looked like a public road but still got charged £10 for the pleasure.The reception was staffed entirely by people for whom English was not their first language so everything they said had to be queried.
The bedroom was comfortable and well, or even, over, furnished with little room around the double bed. On arrival in the bedroom, it was very overheated but, fortunately, for once, the heating and air con controls were easy to adjust, although the air con was very noisy, so I would not want to be in that room in the summer, when air con would be a necessity at night.
I was attending a function in one of the entertainment suites, which, unfortunately, meant a walk across the courtyard, in the rain.
After a good night's sleep, the buffet breakfast was fine but, once again, checking out at reception was a bit of a pain, due to the language problems.

Room Tip: The higher number rooms on each floor are a trek from the main lift but possibly benefit from less n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Set high above Bournemouth, overlooking the beach, pier and promenade, this four star hotel is the perfect place to enjoy excellent service, good food and a wonderful sea view.

We stayed in a converted coastguard cottage, within the hotel complex, and renovated to a high standard. The bedroom and lounge were both spacious with three sofas, a dining table, desk and large flat screen TVs in both the lounge and bedroom. Excellent heating/air conditioning kept the cottage at just the right temperature during the rather wintery March weather. Both the bedroom and the lounge have sea views.

The room boasted the usual facilities with room safe, fridge, (empty, but useful), tea and coffee facilities, fluffy dressing gowns and slippers. Fresh milk in the empty fridge would be a nice touch instead of the four small UHT pots delivered daily by the excellent housekeeping staff. Mrs Angus appreciated the power socket beside the dressing table for her hair dryer.

The bathroom, although quite old-fashioned, was in keeping with the cottage feel. The shower (with a quaint shower curtain) is integral with the bath, although powerful and effective, with hot water as soon as it is turned on. There was a magnifying shaving mirror, so often missing from the bathroom.

If you choose a coastguard cottage, go for a ground floor cottage, as the stairs to the cottage are narrow and difficult to negotiate with large suitcases. In large hotels, there are often functions and conferences on the go. Being slightly detached from the main hotel meant no corridor traffic or extraneous noise at night.

Both the continental and cooked buffet breakfasts were excellent, with a wide selection of fruits, yoghurts, cereals, with good quality hot foods, including omelettes cooked to order. Coffee by Costa was rather more pleasant than the usual bitter, stewed hotel morning coffee.

Dinner at the Highcliff Grill was so exceptional it features in a separate report. Do eat here, even if you are in Bournemouth, but not staying in this hotel. Dinner is Michelin star quality at half what I have paid in Michelin starred restaurants in and around London.

The bar overlooks the sea. Prices are the expected 4* hotel rates, but a comfortable place for a relaxing drink. We were kept topped up with nibbles and ice-cold champagne by the glass.

The staff are the real jewel in the crown of the Highcliff. Throughout our stay, we were impressed with the friendly efficiency of the staff that were always helpful, informative and found no request too much trouble. Everyone from the front of house and restaurant staff to the maintenance and laundry man were friendly, but never obsequious. The concierge team deserve special recognition. Clearly Marriott select their staff well and deliver the industry benchmark in-service staff training.

For summer, there is a sun lounger area and outdoor pool. The hotel has a health club adjacent to the main hotel.

Onsite parking is £10 daily, but included in the room rate for a coastguard cottage. The car park is controlled by a third party provider and monitored by CCTV using number plate recognition. Residents are automatically charged on their room account. If you have visitors, do tell them to pay at the machine or expect a fine through the post a few days later.

From a superb stay, only two criticisms:

How can any hotel charge £15 daily for Wi-Fi? Most coffee shops and even some of the vilified banks now offer this gratis. I also understand the Wi-Fi was quite slow and patchy, so perhaps if you need Wi-Fi in your room, take a dongle. Alternatively sit in the pleasant public areas where the Wi-Fi is available without charge or use the business centre.

The bed was unexpectedly dreadful, and out of character for this fine hotel. It was small with a lumpy mattress and a duvet that had no overhang, so that any movement uncovered the other person sharing the bed. Spare blankets would have been welcome.

We were willing to forgive Marriot the bed (as long as they promise to replace it before we are next there) for such good service, food and the overall warm ambience of this traditional, high quality hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in a coastguard cottage or book a sea view room. Whatever else you do, have dinner in the Highc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angusM25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

As a Marriott reward member I tend to try to stay at Marriott's wherever possible. So a trip to Bournemouth meant we would try out the Highcliff Marriott. We were there midweek in March so found a car park space right outside the hotel (£10 for 24 hours) and booked in. On booking in the receptionist managed to upgrade us to a room with the sea view. Wow, what a view and what a room! Very happy with the friendliness of the staff.

The only downside is that the room was very hot (4th floor) even without the radiator on. Not sure if the air con was turned off for 'out of season' but didn't have much affect trying to get to 17C. In the end we had to sleep with the window open overnight which was nice hearing the sea lapping on the beach during the night but a bit of an early wake up from the seagulls :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,618 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Address: 105 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $94 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping sea views, an exquisitely detailed lobby and outstanding staff welcome you to the Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel. Located adjacent to from the Bournemouth International Centre on the Dorset coastline, we offer a setting that both business and leisure travellers will appreciate. Richly appointed guest rooms offer supreme comfort and secure high-speed Internet. In summer, the sun terrace and outdoor pool provide the perfect retreat. Wifi is available free of charge in the lobby, lounge and bar to all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bournemouth
Bournemouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing