We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Corsham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Lovely hotel, extremely polite and helpful staff. Our "star" was Jaques, our waiter in the Highcliffe Grill, he couldn't have been more attentive, but in a very quiet and unobtrusive way. He had a lovely sense of humour, couldn't have been better! The food is superb, a lovely mix of tastes and textures. We had the Sunday Spectacular, which included dinner and breakfast - both excellent, we are still full!
The bed was enormous, very comfortable, with lovely pillows, being able to choose feather or manmade was a bonus. The sea - view room was very warm, however we missed the fact that there was a thermostat by the door. Windows were openable. Weather was attrocious, so we spent most of our time in the hotel, which has several comfortable areas to sit and chill.

Room Tip: Choose a sea-view room, as others may look onto the car park. Very quiet at the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GailS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    468
    229
    100
    57
See reviews for
252
574
31
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I've stayed at this Marriott twice, both times to attend concerts at the BIC. The first visit I was given a two room, sea view suite with an enormous bathroom with both shower and jacuzzi. Service and attention were great. The food in the restaurant was inedible, however, and I couldn't bring myself to eat it. After the concert I had room service sandwiches in the dining room of the lovely suite in front of the fireplace. Wonderful! The next day the kitchen made sandwiches for my train journey. Apart from the restaurant meal it was a magical stay.

Fast forward two years. When I arrived I was told the room was in the back wing off the car park. It faced the kitchen and the smell was overpowering. Being a a vegetarian from birth the odor of cooking meat makes me nauseous so I called reception and asked for a change of rooms but was told there were no other rooms available. The room was stuffy and small but I could not keep the window open for ventilation. The bed was terribly lumpy and uncomfortable which was surprising for a Marriott. I went for a walk along the sea front to get some air and when I returned I ordered a room service dinner which was expensive but ghastly and inedible. Good thing I had a Cadbury's with me or I would have starved to death. The heat, stuffiness, and smell in the room made for a very uncomfortable night and I was on the train back to London by 9 a.m.

My advice would be to stay in a seaview room or stay elsewhere, but most definitely do not eat in the hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay in this hotel unless you have a seaview room. Rooms in the rear wing are small, cramped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JadedTourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed as part of a large group. Found the staff extremly helpful especially the restaurant staff they could not have done more and catered for our special diets/requests without a problem. The food was excellent. Only niggle was the one lift that couldn't cope with a large group and was very slow.

Room Tip: Try to get room with sea view in old building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flossy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed in a junior suite with side sea view. The room was of a 4 star standard and a good size for 2 adults and 2 children. The only niggles with the room were the toiletries which were poor quality, and the TV remote which was not compatible with the TV, so the buttons had to be pressed several times in order to change the channel.

Although the customer service and general upkeep of the hotel met our expectations, the food was truly awful. The quality of the produce was poor, the pastries and breads were dry, the choice at breakfast was extremely limited and the food offered for roomservice is inedible.

As long as you don't plan on having any meals at the Marriott I would recommend this hotel for the pool, room quality, overall cleanliness and the excellent customer service.


Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
388 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed for two nights and used Marriott points that we'd amassed and thankfully so as I would have been quite upset to be charged £169 per night for a sea view room. We arrived on Friday afternoon and it took a while to check in as there was only one receptionist on duty, whilst we were stood waiting a concierge and a porter came over to see if they could help, but alas they couldn't, perhaps staffing levels need to be looked into. WE were given room 409 on the top floor, and it was nice, but very warm and despite opening the windows we couldn't get the temperature down so had to resort to putting the a/c on which to be honest was no better. The room was typical Marriott, however it has to be pointed out that although this was as upgraded room there were none of the usual upgraded features such as an oversized king bed, free bottled water, bathrobes, slippers or hair conditioner. The bathroom was very small, the basin was well and truly hidden behind the bathroom door and the shower (which was over the bath) had a cheap shower head which didn't allow for much of a decent flow of water. We didn't bother mentioning this as we wanted to get out and about and explore whilst the sun was shining, not spend time waiting to see a duty manager. We opted not to eat dinner in the hotel as it seemed really overpriced and there were far better options nearby. Breakfast was a let down, we arrived just after 8am on both Saturday and Sunday mornings and it was fairly quiet, but still took an age to get plates cleared from tables, the staff need to be more attentive, they actually showed us to a table on Sunday which had big ground in dirty cup marks all over it, we moved!! The food was not as good as what we'd normally expect at a Marriott, the cooked food looked as though it had been sat around under the lamps for ages, the bacon looked to be cheap, poor quality and the fried eggs on Sunday looked burnt underneath, there was no sign of an egg chef. The dining room itself hadn't been vacuumed so there were bits of old food and litter on the floor. On the Sunday morning we went for a walk after breakfast and were disgusted to see hundreds of cigarette butts littering the front steps to reception, this was at 8.50, we arrived back at 10am and they were still there, I pointed this out to the concierge and someone did go out and clean up, but really in this day and age should I really have to point out that the hotel entrance is hideously unwelcoming. Come on Marriott, you are letting yourselves down. This is not a Marriott that I would consider visiting again, there are far better places to stay in Bournemouth!

Room Tip: The sea view is lovely but the rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samiloupepperell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

This is a perfectly nice hotel right on the sea front and with wonderful views over the sea and coastline. However, unless you book precisely you will collect your key to be directed 'go out the back door, across the car park, and into the nasty looking extension'. The rooms there are perfectly nice and clean, but the hallways etc are dated from conference use. So, if you want to travel to Bournemouth to stay by the sea I suggest you ask for a room in the main hotel and ideally one with a sea view. The lounge & bar overlook the sea front with wonderful views. Service is fine. The bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was very basic but clean

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We assembled in the private garden area complete with pool although it was covered. An excellent outdoor view perched on the cliff top overlooking Bournemouth pier and beach.

We inbibed courtesy of our employers Coles Miller LLP enjoying the ambience. Friendly bar staff served up the drinks with a warm smile.

Soon we were treated to a wonderful spread for our al fresco soiree, taste buds working we filed in line to select from an amazing selection of BBQ delights, retiring to sit at the round tables dotted around the private garden area, returning to the spread before us for seconds and or desserts which were sumptuous and so bad for the hips.

The evening progressed and we were treated to the marvellous display staged by Bournemouth for the gratification of all who care to come to Bournemouth on a Friday evening during August.

Excellent venue, food, with the added advantage of o spectacular view of the fireworks on the night.

Room Tip: We didn't stay overnight on this corporate BBQ evening but from the reception and glimpses of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
0.2 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Property: Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Address: 105 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#23 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping sea views, an exquisitely detailed lobby and outstanding staff welcome you to the Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel. Located adjacent to from the Bournemouth International Centre on the Dorset coastline, we offer a setting that both business and leisure travellers will appreciate. Richly appointed guest rooms offer supreme comfort and secure high-speed Internet. In summer, the sun terrace and outdoor pool provide the perfect retreat. Wifi is available free of charge in the lobby, lounge and bar to all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bournemouth
Bournemouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing