We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not That Bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carrington House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carrington House Hotel
Ranked #63 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not That Bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Having read the terrible reviews I have to say the hotel is not that bad.Yes,it does look tired,but the new manager said updating will happen soon.Our room was spacious with a king size bed.The bathroom left something to be desired,but you aren't in there long are you?Don't know about the food as we ate out,looked a bit pricey though.I agree the manager isn't always 'hands on' we had a couple of issues,one where some idiot had parked across 2 spaces,hotel must have had a record of the guest from registration,but nothing done.Second some noisy kids in room above,while parents were presumably in bar.Nothing done again,so I guess the new manager must try harder as they say.Would still stay there again,if in area ,if only for the bed!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cherry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    230
    285
    176
    316
See reviews for
250
387
50
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Had been looking forward to a romantic night away with my man who is currently at the other end of the country in the forces. We arrived and after he had booked the hotel 3 days earlier they had no knowledge of it and despite giving them our booking reference we were told all doubles were gone so it would have to be a twin room (no apology). We booked and only after I enquired as to the cheaper price due to different room were we told it would be £79.
On walking to our room we realised that the hotel resembled something like The Shining, not helped by a large blood smear on a wall in the corridor. It all looked tired and old.
Our room was alright except for the once white bathmat that almost certainly needed changed as was a rather dark brown colour. The carpets needed a good hoover and although the room was spacious the small tv was stuck to the wall not facing us and unable to be moved... Not to good when the World cup is on!
We cut our loses and went for a swim. Myself and another female were locked out of the female changing area unable to get in and despite pressing the 'call for assistance' buzzer four times no one arrived. We walked through the dirty looking mens changing area into the small dark female changing room. The pool itself was lovely and warm but you just have to not mind things not being clean or floors looking like they may have every disease going. The shower (one shower) was broken and the soap dispenser empty. You also have to pay for towels and if you want to use one of the worlds smallest lockers it is £5 deposit EACH.
The towels in the hotel room they supplied us with were basically hand towels! Oh and the lime scale in the bathroom was thoroughly disgusting.

On complaining the 12 year old scruffy looking manager told us we could have 10% back but this most certainly is not a hotel that should be charging £79 per room..(£90 for the double).

Worst night sleep in a long time due to the oven like temperature and only one small window.

Overall very poor and two very unhappy guests

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

I booked 5 rooms for myself and extended family who had traveled for a family party. We stayed 2 nights other stayed 3. We found the staff pleasant and helpful for the most part. The rooms were clean and tidy and our corridor was quiet. I have stayed in a Britannia before and complained so my having told the staff at this hotel about my previous experienced probably helped. I would stay again but would probably ask for a certain room just so i know what i'm paying for. Breakfast was very good, dining area was immaculately clean. Only draw back was my step father is diabetic and when we needed a drink after the bar had closed the staff refused which was potentially serious.... Very cheap deal and I got what i paid for. So worth a punt i'd say.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsB034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We only stayed here for one night but we really enjoyed it. They have an indoor swimming pool which is nice for an early morning swim before your breakfast.
The only down side was the room was so very hot. I know it was lovely weather but it would have been nice to have a fan as we found it hard to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjk67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed here with Leisuretime, had a refurbished single room which was ok but the bath had a yellow stain in it, and the shower was difficult to turn off. The walls are very thin I could hear the people next door and one night they put on the TV at 4am!. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to Bournmouth and Boscombe but there is a bus stop at the top of the road.There was no entertainment in the hotel. The food was buffet style ok but not much choice, no fruit juice in the evening and no salad.I stayed in room 101 facing the lift and you can hear it going up and down all day and night.

Room Tip: do not choose 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roscwmbran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

I know we had a cheapish deal but that is no excuse for the appalling condition of the bathroom of room 104.

The shower curtain was dirty, the basin had a huge black crack across it and was also blocked.

Room Tip: One previous comment has remarked that there is no clear signs for the upper rooms. We went up in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

My husband & I stayed at this hotel last week, NEVER AGAIN ! It is dirty unkempt & a health & safety nightmare. Carpets poorly taped down, fire doors propped open, cooking oil stacked outside under steps, grounds overgrown , building work going on , food terrible, curtains in our room filthy, bathroom fittings all broken, shower unusable, Toilet badly stained, very little choice in room for tea & coffe & no choice of milk. I could go on , continental breakfast doesn't exist , restaurant & bar staff treat you as if you are invisible & all look really fed up ! Only one saving grace a lovely & extremely helpful receptionist called Ava she was a star, very professional in difficult circumstances, well done Ava. Possible guests beware this place is not what it looks !!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#61 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#58 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#27 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
1.7 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#54 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#19 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington House Hotel

Property: Carrington House Hotel
Address: Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carrington House Hotel, close to the town centre and all Bournemouth's top attractions, is situated on a quiet pine tree lined avenue on the East Cliff side of Bournemouth - perfect for a weekend break or short sightseeing trip. The hotel is close to both the railway and coach station and is only a ten-minute drive from Bournemouth Airport.There is so much to see and do in Bournemouth and its surrounding area, that you are bound to be back again and again whether it is a relaxing short break in Bournemouth that you are after, a cosmopolitan city break, or a weekend break for sight seeing and fun, Carrington House Hotel is an ideal base for all your activities.The hotel has 145 en-suite bedrooms, including 42 purpose-built family rooms plus conference and banqueting facilities for up to 700, a heated indoor swimming pool, table tennis, pool, table football and free parking for 85 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing