We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good riddance!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carrington House Hotel
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Athlone, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good riddance!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I'm so glad the SFBall is moving to another hotel. At least three times per day during my stay my room key stopped working and I had to to go the front desk to get it recharged.
The internet was a joke, hardly worked all weekend, I know it was free internet but I've stayed in £10/night hostels which had better internet (not that the internet was decent when you had to pay for it in the Carrington though)
The service during the Ball's meal in the main hall was terrible, my chicken chasseur was cold and someone who had ordered raw vegetables for dietary reasons received chicken chasseur with cooked veg. Some people were only getting their main course when we had finished ours.
Also there was no bell on the desk to alert staff that there was someone waiting at reception during the night

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grainne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    237
    295
    187
    334
See reviews for
264
402
54
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southwestuk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here for valentines night . Paid extra for larger room . Meals very Nice .hotel needs updating but not bad for the price we paid. Would stay again but would not pay too much unless hotel is updated.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busymum6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Well first off if I owned this hotel I would be pretty ashamed of it! Stayed here last night on the group on voucher deal, staff were very uninterested and seemed liked they couldn't be bothered! Wallpaper ripped off most the walls, I think I saw about 5 different carpets all clashing that were hideous and saw alot of duct tape stuck all over them :/ room was just ok bed was comfortable but the blanket and throw were both filthy and I woke up a lot due to feeling itchy, bed bugs maybe? :/ luckily I brought my own blanket! When we went down for dinner it was self service which is weird for a 3 star and tables were filthy and very old looking, food was just ok. Worst of all was the indoor swimming pool, advertised as heated which was funny as it was ice cold and filthy! It would be a health hazard to swim in there! My advice is to shut this place down and redo everything...

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P0lkad0ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Damp, dirty, very slow service and poor food. The staff tried their hardest and were polite but they were horribly understaffed. Apart from the friendly staff this was a bad experience. I was here last year and although not great it was far superior to what it has descended to now. I wouldn't stay or attend any function there again. Shame.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Schafner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I attended this hotel for a weekend convention in February, which I have been attending for several years. I am truly shocked at how badly this hotel has deteriorated since my last visit. I amm very thankful that I was unable to get a room here and had to stay at the Travelodge round the corner. My friends, who were unlucky enough to get rooms here were charged over £88 for a double room, only to find stained mattresses and sheets, mould in the bathroom and many other horrors. The Fire exit was locked - apparently due to a flooded path. sorry but in the event of a fire, I'd much rather get wet feet than burn! Completely illegal. Hotel completely uninterested - in an event which filled the hotel with several hundred guests, they bothered to put one peson on reception and most of the time, only one person on the bar. the saturday banquet, for 300 people, had six people serving and took so long that the food was cold when it arrived and for the price they charged was extremely poor quality. Corridors in the hotel shabby, duck tape on the stairs, peeling wallpaper, broken curtain rails, torn curtains, I could go on and on listing the problems (not least of which was the complete lack of interest on the part of management) but I think you get the idea by now. The hotel is a complete disaster and a health and safety nightmare and should be shut down.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kehlan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Food was boil in the bag with very little choice. Rust stained bathroom. Reported that 50% of the lights in my room not working.they were still not working when I left. Would not even recommend to building contractors

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank nigel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I attended this hotel for the weekend of 7/8th February 2014 for an event, and am so glad I decided to NOT stay here too. While the bar/serving staff were polite and friendly they were woefully ran off their feet. There were 2 people manning the 2 bars that were accessible by all (several hundred people), so it took sometime to get served.

The Saturday evening meal was a long drawn out affair, taking nearly 3 hours start to finish. The servers cannot be faulted but the management can. Our table got cold starters (soup) when some of the other tables were halfway through their main course. The table next to ours got so fed up with waiting the phoned out for pizza's to be delivered, thats how bad it was.

The event while good, it was clear from the hotel that they couldn't have cared less if we were there, not a way to impress potential customers. Managers occasionally appeared in the bar areas but did not serve anyone, in fact they didn't seem to care that there was only one person serving and a lot of people waiting.

The toilets in the main conferencing area were something else too, it took 2 days to find a cubicle that had a working lock on the door and the basins had taps that sprayed water in every direction except into the basin!

Worn out carpets (duct taped in places) and the general state of disrepair makes me glad I did not stay here.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dan_dtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,924 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,720 reviews
1.7 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#54 of 66 in Bournemouth
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
473 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,423 reviews
1.6 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#35 of 66 in Bournemouth
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington House Hotel

Property: Carrington House Hotel
Address: Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carrington House Hotel, close to the town centre and all Bournemouth's top attractions, is situated on a quiet pine tree lined avenue on the East Cliff side of Bournemouth - perfect for a weekend break or short sightseeing trip. The hotel is close to both the railway and coach station and is only a ten-minute drive from Bournemouth Airport.There is so much to see and do in Bournemouth and its surrounding area, that you are bound to be back again and again whether it is a relaxing short break in Bournemouth that you are after, a cosmopolitan city break, or a weekend break for sight seeing and fun, Carrington House Hotel is an ideal base for all your activities.The hotel has 145 en-suite bedrooms, including 42 purpose-built family rooms plus conference and banqueting facilities for up to 700, a heated indoor swimming pool, table tennis, pool, table football and free parking for 85 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Carrington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing