We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carrington House Hotel
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here several times over the years when it was a Forestdale hotel. This time we asked for a ground floor room with disabled bathroom and were allocated a standard 2nd floor room that was a dirty mess (at 4pm when check in is from 2pm). Reception initially said they can't meet requests on internet booking! On threatening to book out we were allocated a ground floor room with some bars in the bathroom but a standard bath that was impossible for me. Food was a disappointing buffet. 'Curry' usually has some curry powder taste - this was vegetables in a cream sauce! Breakfast buffet was much better but understaffed and they couldn't keep up with the demands of a coach plus lots of others. It was half term. It was cheap. The room was large & clean. The pool was a bonus at this price. I might stay again but B&B only.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twoanddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    241
    301
    198
    352
See reviews for
277
420
54
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

m y daughter went to this disgusting hotel in september if it was not the fact she is a young girl she would have prefered to have slept in her car all night when she got there she was shown to her room where no lights worked they managed to get a light working it was 11.pm so she could not go any where else she could not sleep all night when she woke in the morning she saw all little red things in the bed which she thinks were bugs the carpet was filthy on the floor and the bathroom and toilet disgusting maybe that why the lights were not put on she phoned me in tears the staff were rude and arrogant and said they did not speak much english I got in touch with health and safety and very conveniant by they time they went there all the beds had been thrown out and replaced do not touch this place with a BARGE POLE EVEN IF YOU GET A FREE NIGHT THERE

Room Tip: do not enter this disgusting place if you do not want to be bitten by bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Terrible. Horrid room which had holes in the curtains with small stairs to get to the room which I nearly fell over. Have now found a hotel that has a menu you cannot order from!!
Food : evening buffet consisted of stews with fancy names and if you are staying when a German tour party is there they throw in a few gherkins! Frozen veg. and mass catering and nobody to find you a seat or indeed nobody to help most of the time. Bar staff - where? Receptionist did not know and had to return to reception to ask again only to find no receptionist either. Was sent a new bar bill as they had charged somebody else for our drinks. They took the money from my card anyway well after the stay, is that legal?
Val S

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 221ValS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel needs closing down ! from start to finish I could not say one nice thing regarding this Hotel and its staff, we had no lights as you walked into our room where the mirror and dressing table where , mould in the bathroom, dirty floors, musty smells and breakfast was worst than the value brands from the supermarkets, when you did have a problem they never answered the phones you had to continually have to go to reception !!! and the manager run around with and ear piece doing WHAT ????? not dealing with complaints for sure !!! I would never set foot in this place again and suggest that anyone who reads this find somewhere else !!!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatteris, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is definitely very tired and in desperate need of a complete update. The corridors and stairwells are particularly poor; peeling wallpaper, worn carpets, no paint left on the banisters and the chairs and sofas in the bar are threadbare or worse. Our room had clean linen but the carpet had seen better days. The cobwebs on the ceiling were interesting, the TV didn't work and despite being told maintenance would sort it, no one arrived.

However...we paid £49.50 for which we received, bed, breakfast, dinner and a bottle of wine. Make all the improvements needed and you won't get that bargain price again! The dinner was a buffet style and we ate far too much and the breakfast was excellent. Would we stay again? Probably!

Room Tip: We were in room 18 which has no view (on to a roof space, very ugly) but you have no neighbours on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as part of an organised line dance weekend. Arrival was chaotic as all the key cards were on a table and everybody was trying to find theirs. We were asked to dine between 6.00 and 6.30pm as dancing was due to commence at 7.30. A big mistake. The dinner was a buffet. The queues were horrendous and the food cold. To be fair, the management did apologise and offered us free wine with our meal for the remaining 2 nights. We were also allocated staggered dining times. Our group was the last to dine and that meant that there wasn't always the choice of food that the earlier diners had. For example, the new potatoes were all gone by the time we dined and we had sauteed potatoes each night. Another guest found that her bed was wet on arrival and, as the hote was full, couldn't be moved to another room. She did get a full refund. On the bright side, breakfast was good and we had great time but I would not return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor at the back of the property as there is road noise at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachcomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed at the Carrington for 1 night and I was a bit anxious, having stayed at another Britannia hotel in Folkstone which was beyond disgusting. However the Carrington exceeded my expectations. I had a very clean and well presented room, plenty of tea and coffee and new tv and a decent bathroom. I didn't check out the swimming pool but the the common areas were all clean etc.

The hotel is in a good location for the beach and a short bus ride to the town centre, BIC and shopping. Plenty of free parking in the hotel car park and on the road.

Breakfast was a little chaotic as it seemed very busy, but £29 for a single room including breakfast can't be sniffed at and I would definitely return if I'm in the area again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,999 reviews
1.7 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
400 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
483 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,483 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington House Hotel

Property: Carrington House Hotel
Address: Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carrington House Hotel, close to the town centre and all Bournemouth's top attractions, is situated on a quiet pine tree lined avenue on the East Cliff side of Bournemouth - perfect for a weekend break or short sightseeing trip. The hotel is close to both the railway and coach station and is only a ten-minute drive from Bournemouth Airport.There is so much to see and do in Bournemouth and its surrounding area, that you are bound to be back again and again whether it is a relaxing short break in Bournemouth that you are after, a cosmopolitan city break, or a weekend break for sight seeing and fun, Carrington House Hotel is an ideal base for all your activities.The hotel has 145 en-suite bedrooms, including 42 purpose-built family rooms plus conference and banqueting facilities for up to 700, a heated indoor swimming pool, table tennis, pool, table football and free parking for 85 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing