We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Managers appalling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carrington House Hotel
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Yateley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Managers appalling”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hotel clean, came back from a day trip and left with no parking space, when told a member of staff the situation he said you would just have to come back later and i told him that was unacceptable and low and behold a space became available except it wasn't really a space, half of my car was on the pavement.
Bar closed at 8 for restocking - a prime time for going to the bar
people queuing for 20 minutes to get a drink
people queuing to wait for their change as ran out of change, after queuing to even get a drink
ran out of coke, lemonade, redbull, wine, larger in other bars.
brought two bags of crips at £1.25 each!!
Lots of guests complaining, manager left early.
Events going on at the hotel - shouldn't organise events when they haven't got enough staff.
Had a porter behind the bar that didn't have a clue what he was doing.
Pool looked shabby, no life guard - however did have cameras but doors left open s a child could of got in.

Our trip was from the fri - sunday 27th - 29th September.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eric_tib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    238
    296
    191
    340
See reviews for
266
410
54
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We read the reviews before we attended for a very special function and yes it is as bad as they say. Our first greeting was an arrogant aggressive receptionist who really couldn't be bothered. She was there the majority of the weekend and at least she was consistently miserable. The bedrooms were large and reasonable. It was clean but very dated. Basically the staff had no direction at all they did there best. Well some! We were in the presidential suite for our function and they tried to serve us coke from large plastic jugs that had been sat on the side getting warm. The breakfast was badly organised. Everything in the wrong place. you were leaning over the people making their own toast to get a tea or coffee. It was the most disorganised hotel I have ever stayed in.. To top it all they ran out of most alcoholic drinks towards the end of the night.

Room Tip: Do not have a function there. Save yourself the frustration and disappointment. Find instructions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Atkins S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

West Seussex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Faulty Towers! Attended for a Masonic Ladies weekend and whilst our room was large, spacious and very clean every where else was tatty, faded and run down. The chairs in the bar area were all stained and sagging, the decor in all public areas was very jaded at best, with wallpaper peeling and paint scuffed in many areas. The staff, mainly Eastern European, were hard working but there were so few of them that they couldn't cope with demand. Language was sometimes a problem - never thought we'd have to mime "bread roll" in a Bournemouth hotel. Long delays at the bar and then they ran out of vodka, whiskey and white Pino Grigio! The food was tasty and the service at our gala dinner was good, but delivered by just a handful of waiters who were run ragged. Very noisy in the night. Breakfast was an absolute farce - long queues for a small hot buffet that kept running out of key items. The whole breakfast area was badly planned and chaotic, many people gave up and went elsewhere to eat. Will not be staying here, or in any other Britannia Hotel ever again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trundlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Below average quality hotel and as there is so much choice and variety in the area, was surprised that it was so busy on my one and only stay. I certainly would not choose to stay here, it felt like fawlty towards. An age to check in and poor quality room are main points. Breakfast in dining room was also quite poor. One word to sum this place up would be : Odd.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jt0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. We have to agree with previous comments that hotel needs some cosmetic attention however it was adequate for our stay. Food was edible and hot. We enjoyed the soup ! I found the receptionist extremely helpful especially when i realised that I had left a pair of trousers behind! Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertfordshireNikki58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The whole place is a shambles, very few staff working .My dog gets better food than that.we only ate the toast as that was the only thing that was edible.they run out of tea and coffee was cold. No salad or fruit available.the bar had no lager or coke..The swimming pool was so poorly lit and no staff to be seen.the front of the hotel looks disgusting ,moss and weeds all around windows..Its a nightmare !

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I attended a Conference on the Saturday & Sunday & stayed the 1 night. The décor of the whole hotel is very tired & worn. It looks like it was last decorated in the early 1980's. The carpets especially are grubby throughout. In my hotel room the bed had white sheets that were tinged with some kind of old yellow stain. The duvet cover had numerous burn holes in it that looked like cigarette burn holes so it must have been used on the bed for many years & never been replaced. There was a trouser press/iron combo in the room. The iron didn't work. a bottle of shampoo in the bathroom was in a container with a push down button release mechanism which didn't work & the shower head holder was broken leaving a rough edge. There was no bars of soap in the bathroom. a colleague said to me that he had enquired about soap but the Hotel had said to him that they had run out. When I had my breakfast the following morning I had to wait ages to get toast as there was one toaster in use & the hotel guests had to all queue up & wait their turn use it. That really is obviously stupid as its not a little B&B with a few guests staying but a big hotel. The cooked items on the breakfast menu however were tasty. Staff interaction varied. A few were polite to a satisfactory level & others made no eye contact or smiled or spoke as you passed them. The person I shared the room with was from Germany & thought this was the standard of UK Hotels. I had to advise him differently & was quite embarrassed. If I was paying £30 for a room for the night I would not be writing this truthful review. The fact is the Hotel charged £70 for the over night stay in the room. This is disgraceful they should change their name to the Dick Turpin hotel as I feel like they robbed me. I do not recommend this hotel & will not stay there again. On a health & safety note the Hotel had windows open on the stair wells that are of an old design & in my opinion open too far which creates a risk of an intoxicated guest or child from falling out of the window.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,960 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,753 reviews
1.5 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,502 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington House Hotel

Property: Carrington House Hotel
Address: Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carrington House Hotel, close to the town centre and all Bournemouth's top attractions, is situated on a quiet pine tree lined avenue on the East Cliff side of Bournemouth - perfect for a weekend break or short sightseeing trip. The hotel is close to both the railway and coach station and is only a ten-minute drive from Bournemouth Airport.There is so much to see and do in Bournemouth and its surrounding area, that you are bound to be back again and again whether it is a relaxing short break in Bournemouth that you are after, a cosmopolitan city break, or a weekend break for sight seeing and fun, Carrington House Hotel is an ideal base for all your activities.The hotel has 145 en-suite bedrooms, including 42 purpose-built family rooms plus conference and banqueting facilities for up to 700, a heated indoor swimming pool, table tennis, pool, table football and free parking for 85 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Carrington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing