We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable but evenings meals not good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carrington House Hotel
Ranked #61 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Redruth Cornwall
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable but evenings meals not good!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 weeks ago for a family funeral. My son and I had a large double room with nice bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and the basics taken care of..I.e tv with basic channels tea and coffee, hairdryer and toiletries in the bathroom. Not enough milk or towels though bt this is usual in most hotels! My mothers room was very different form hrs. Small, dark and old. Her curtains actually had holes in them! The bar is basic..they had no diet coke and no j20,s and no fruit shoots. The chairs in the bar were hard and uncomfortable. The restaurant was the only place to eat at that time of year in the hotel, their bar menu stops running after august i believe. The restaurant although cheap a £10 all you can eat the food is really mass catered and not very good! Maggi soup and strange chopped up starters! Stodgy would best describe the food and the same food re appears as a different dish the following night! The breakfast however was very good! Overall I would stay here again as it was good value of money. My son and. Also had the swim pool t ourselves although its a faf to get n as you can only enter b using your room door key and also the pool area is quite dark...could locate light switches at all!? The one really good thing about this hotel is that they had an nod or kids play area which in unusual for a hotel?!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AnnRedruthCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    232
    287
    179
    321
See reviews for
255
389
50
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Wow. I have stayed in some bad places before, and have been to hotels in Africa and Asia. But this is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I am actually tempted to recommend that you stay there too, just for the experience. Think Fawlty Towers but without the humour.

Staff are incompetent from top to bottom - the hotel has recently changed management, and no-one has a clue what is going on. Reception were losing bookings, and the whole hotel is literally falling apart: my hotel door didn't close, and a friend's window wouldn't close, and another friend had no carpet. The tap water is brown. The lift is terrifying. The wallpaper is peeling away, the bar and tables are sticky, the carpets are worn or coming away from the floor, the chairs are broken, and my double bed was two DIFFERENT HEIGHT single beds strapped together. It really is an unbelievable place. Somehow even the bottled water tasted tainted. Oh, and my entire group now have bad stomach bugs.

I paid £29 for one night. That is £30 too much.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridgejamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Really pleased chris from Dorset enjoyed the jazz, I didnt as our room was directly above the constant racket being made. Food horrendous, staff ok apart from rude pompous manger -I feel sorry as they try hard but givenno tools to work with. Carpets filthy and bath stained and mouldy. Please don't waste your money on this hell hole.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiiiiip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Not a hotel I would like to visit again in the near future. The hotel is badly organised with not enough staff on duty and the ones that are can be very rude and unhelpful. I would have not owned up to cooking the food that we had, the lift was out of order and had to carry bags up to secont floor.

Room Tip: Dont use this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Risca, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

The only thing missing from this hotel is Basil Fawlty. Stay well away....

Window was broken..,.
Iron didn't work....
Taps didn't work....
No remote for the TV...

And the person at reception just wasn't interested.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Duffer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is owned by Britannia and they switched a whole coach load of pensioners and many disabled at the last minute to this Hotel and the first thing that greets you are steep stone steps and no disabled access. The hotel is run on a shoe string of staff and many staff had more than one responsibility which brought nothing but misery for the guest 90% of the time you could get reception to answer the phone which meant you had to keep going down to reception to see one person dealing with everyone, there is not one good thing I could say about this place and the failings are to many to list here. If ever you see the words Britannia run a mile.

Room Tip: There are none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

staff make this hotel a really great place to stay, always helpful, breakfast and the excellent room size, make it an excellent place to stay. in need of a refresh but clean and comfortable. Had a loveley room with a sitting area and you get free Wi fi.

Room Tip: stayed in two different rooms as have been twice both rooms were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,681 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#57 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,332 reviews
1.7 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington House Hotel

Property: Carrington House Hotel
Address: Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carrington House Hotel, close to the town centre and all Bournemouth's top attractions, is situated on a quiet pine tree lined avenue on the East Cliff side of Bournemouth - perfect for a weekend break or short sightseeing trip. The hotel is close to both the railway and coach station and is only a ten-minute drive from Bournemouth Airport.There is so much to see and do in Bournemouth and its surrounding area, that you are bound to be back again and again whether it is a relaxing short break in Bournemouth that you are after, a cosmopolitan city break, or a weekend break for sight seeing and fun, Carrington House Hotel is an ideal base for all your activities.The hotel has 145 en-suite bedrooms, including 42 purpose-built family rooms plus conference and banqueting facilities for up to 700, a heated indoor swimming pool, table tennis, pool, table football and free parking for 85 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing