We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carrington House Hotel
Ranked #60 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

stayed here several times, staff are friendly and service is good, location isnt great for town centre however. rooms are clean however the hotel is a bit dated, overall cleanliness was very good. guinness is not on tap

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, General Manager at Carrington House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
thank-you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay.

I have passed on your very kind comments to my team and appreciate your continued loyalty to the Carrington House during your visits to Bournemouth.

On the Guinness front i agree it is better on tap being a Guinness fan myself however with the low volume we do the surger cans are much fresher.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Bournemouth.

Kind Regards
Stuart Kingsley-Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,042 - 1,048 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel Feb half term for 2 nights, we had adjoining rooms as the kids were with us, they thought it was fab that they had a room to themselves! No fighting with Dad over the t.v. remote, and no complaining to Mum about getting to the bathroom first !! The location was ok just a short drive to the town centre and amenities. We found the staff pleasant and breakfast was very nice, we had use of the swimming pool, only us using the pool at the time. All in all we found it clean and tidy and a pleasant break.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, General Manager at Carrington House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank-you for taking the time to review our hotel follwoing your recent visit.

I am so pleased you and your family found our facilites and staff to be what you were looking for during your half term mini break.
Our hotel is perfect for families for all the reasons you mentioned and i can agree as my kids and wife said exaclty the same follwoing their visit although they may be a little biased!
I do hope you will come and visit us again when you are next in Bournemouth.
Kind Regards
Stuart Kingsley-Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at the Carrington House Hotel. Lucky I was staying on my own but was given a family room. Decor of the room was something from the 80's, few holes in the walls and damp on the ceiling and needed a complete revamp. On the upside, breakfast was good and staff were friendly and helpful. Overall a tired hotel that needs to be massively updated.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, General Manager at Carrington House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review the Hotel following your recent visit. Your comments are really appreciated by all of us here at the Carrington House. We are currently carrying out a refurbishment programme which will address all the decorative issues you mentioned.

We look forward to seeing you again in the fututre.

Kind Regards
Stuart Kingsley-Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

a so so hotel ,.... had a one night stay none of the staff can speak english tried to ask one person on the recpetion a question got met with a shrug of the shoulders .. not very responsive when u need to ask a question a very very average room could do witha revamp the whole hotel ... bits of plaster missing and paintwork to ... was put out the back but could hear the carpark .. walked into the room the window were left wide open with the heating left on full ... then just got into the room and had the chambermaid just wlak into the room knowiing full well id just got in there and asked who i was ,,,, not impressed as i was on the phone and to barge in withoutr knocking is very rude ... then asked rec for directions to a resturant near by if it was quicker to walk or take a car ... she didnt know where it was at it was round the corner ,,,,
breakfast was good and to help your self but scrambled eggs were very warterey and didnt like have to do your own toast as the machine u had to feed and it got stuck and burnt more than once and didnt have the time to wait for it and let me breakafst get cold ... the sauces were in genie style lamps in one place not sachets on tables very odd ,., so needless to say if u dont have to stay here dont .... then was packing my stuff away after breekkie ... 9.15am .. being in mind it was a saturday and sdidnt have to out the room till midday i had the cleaner bang on the door and come in twice askin me to hurry up in chech language as she wanted to clean it very rude ... not worth the money i paid

Room Tip: dont go to the back of the hotel as it evry noisy esp fri nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bambi301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

It wasn't totally ghastly, but it's shabby, tired, tatty and in urgent need of renovation. It was useful to us as it was close to where a party we were invited to was. Staff were very laid back when it comes to customer service. Glad I only paid £40 for the night - anything more and I would have felt ripped off. Breakfast was lukewarm. The Premier Inn would offer much better value and quality of accomodation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peewam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, General Manager at Carrington House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review the Hotel following your recent visit. I must apologise for the laid back serivce and luke warm breakfast. I can assure you that this is not the norm at the Carrington House.
I am glad you found the rate value for money and would add that we are currently undegoing a "TLC and facelift"excercise to address the decor issues you mentioned.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Stuart Kingsley-Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Overall the hotel was very nice, very clean, very quiet, nice comfortable bed and the shower was nice and powerful, would certainly stay here again, although they do need to do something about there drains as the sink got blocked

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abbymat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, General Manager at Carrington House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review the Hotel following your recent visit. Your comments are really appreciated by all of us here at the Carrington and we have addressed all the concerns you reported.
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards
Stuart Kingsley-Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for my Stag night. It is a nice value hotel, comfortable beds, clean. 1 member in our party on returning in early hours of morning had forgotten which room they were in but was assisted by a very helpful security guard! biggest selling point was good quality breakfast buffet (Needed after heavy night before!)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, General Manager at Carrington House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review the Hotel following your recent visit. Your comments are really appreciated by all of us here at the Carrington House.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Stuart Kingsley-Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,065 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#58 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,904 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#35 of 66 in Bournemouth
987 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington House Hotel

Address: Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: $30 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carrington House Hotel, close to the town centre and all Bournemouth's top attractions, is situated on a quiet pine tree lined avenue on the East Cliff side of Bournemouth - perfect for a weekend break or short sightseeing trip. The hotel is close to both the railway and coach station and is only a ten-minute drive from Bournemouth Airport.There is so much to see and do in Bournemouth and its surrounding area, that you are bound to be back again and again whether it is a relaxing short break in Bournemouth that you are after, a cosmopolitan city break, or a weekend break for sight seeing and fun, Carrington House Hotel is an ideal base for all your activities.The hotel has 145 en-suite bedrooms, including 42 purpose-built family rooms plus conference and banqueting facilities for up to 700, a heated indoor swimming pool, table tennis, pool, table football and free parking for 85 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Carrington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing