We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“previous bad postings do not reflect our experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carrington House Hotel
Ranked #60 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This hotel was nothing like what some previous positngs lead us to believe. The staff were very friendly. We did have a problem not having our newspaper delivered one day, being given a wrong one. Upon telling receiption they apologised and said we could keep the wrong one and they would not charge us (they even offered to send someone out to get the right one). They did charge us but took it off the bill when we explained again.

Breakfast was good quality although the dinning room was a little too small for the number of guests when full. We did not have to wait for a table but it was crowded and we did have to wait for some items to be cooked as they had run out (fried eggs croissants). The tables were very efficiently cleared of our used crockery. We did not have dinner in the hotel - I'm sure we would have been told but I was unable to find out the cost. They did have posters offering free child meal with every adult one between about 18-00 & 19-00hrs and there was an offer on dinner for adults after 19-00hrs.

The room was hot and based on advice here we took our own fan, this was a definite advantage - the hotel did provide some but I got the impression that there was not enough for each room. We had a superiour room for the three of us and this was larger than some rooms we have had in Holiday Inns and Hiltons. The room was a little tired - the toilet flush handle was loose but worked. Towels were large and fluffy. The third bed was fine for a child but would be a little small for a teenager. (the hotel did however know we were travelling with our 7 year old). Our bed was two singles zipped together - not unusual in our experience of hotels as it allows them greater flexibility in their use of rooms. It was comfortable.

Shops are about 10 minutes walk away in Boscombe. Buses run from the end of the road into town and take about 10 minutes. Fares are about £2 return (cheaper than two singles) and run late until about 01-00hrs.

The pool was lovely and there is a small indoor childrens play area (climbing frames/slides/balls/tunnels type of thing. Both ot these are free to guests.

Other guests we spoke to also enjoyed their stays - some returning from previous visits. No one had any serious complaints.

This is a very good hotel - we would stay again. I asked management about some of the reviews here and why they did not reply to them. Their view was it would look too defensive.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyandchris117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,157 - 1,163 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

Having read all the negative reviews we were a bit worried. Take no notice of them just spent four days there and its great,staff are friendly and helpful,fast check-in all parts of hotel spotless,plenty of parking spaces, room was large,bathroom spotless,swimming pool clean and warm,nice garden,we stayed b&b the breakfast was fantastic,buffet style so much choice of hot & cold dishes as much as you want,staff remove dirty plates straight away.its a 10min walk to boscombe beach/ shops/pier through lovely gardens or 20mins to bournemouth pier/town centre along cliff path or along seafront.Will certainly go back to this hotel you cannot fault it for the money.please dont be put off by some of the reviews what a lovely hotel !

Room Tip: It was very hot during our stay and room 157 only had one opening window so we asked for a fan no pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michaelmccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I booked a 3-day break at the Carrington House for myself, my wife and our two granddaughters. Then I read some of the reviews on here and wondered what I had let us in for! I needn't have worried! Right the way through from arrival to departure, all the staff were very friendly and helpful, and made our stay a real pleasure. We booked a package that included B&B, dinner and a packed lunch each day, and it was very good value. We got a good-sized family room on the top floor, and all the meals were excellent, in terms of both quantity and quality.

I can't believe some of the things that people have written on here. OK, it's not a brand-new hotel, but so what! It's clean and tidy, it's comfortable, and what really makes it is the people who work there - they did everything they could to make our stay special, and I can't praise them enough.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We looked at this hotel's web site and it seemed great, unfortunately it did not live up to our expectations. We arrived at 11am, knowing we were early but planning to enjoy Bournemouth until our room was ready. We told the receptionist who assured us that we were OK to leave the car in the car park but said in a condescending manner "you do know that our rooms are not guaranteed to be available until 2pm" err yes we are not stupid!
We returned promptly at 2 only to be told our room wasn't ready for at least another 20 minutes, so much for the "guarantee". We passed an entertaining half hour watching others arrive to rooms not being ready. Checked again, no, still not ready. The excuse...we have been fully booked and alot of guests have checked out ( I now know why!). We were given complimentary tea and coffee. Another half hour passed and I noticed that other guests who had arrived after us were being told their rooms were ready. On enquiring it appeared that our room was infact ready and they had forgotten to tell us. To cut short my grumbles, the room was not the type we asked for, the hotel is like a maze of narrow claustrophobic corridors with lifts that don't go to all the floors without geting out and changing, the bedding is poor quality, the shower didn't work properly, the room was a sauna, the pool is dingy and the hotel is a much further walk from the beaches and town than is stated. We left after one night even though we had pre paid for two. Our advice, give it a miss there are far better hotels in Bournemouth and in the town centre.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mamaginanewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend visiting family. Although the hotel is dated, and getting to some of the rooms you definitely need to be good at map reading as you may need to use multiple lifts and ramps, for the money paid £65 per night bed and breakfast per room I can't really grumble. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable and the staff on the reception were very polite and helpful. The bar staff were a bit hit and miss and breakfast was a bit manic however there was a good selection. The location is good and there is a free car park. There is a swimming pool and a kids play area which was useful. All in all for the area it was good value for money

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barryfryus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Having booked this Hotel through ICE lOLLY I didnt expect too much given how much the Break was. 2 days B and B and Dinner on the first night with a bottle of wine for £104 for both of us seemed too good to be true.
We were more than suprised to find the Rooms were well equiped, and the food was excellant.
All in all this hotel is ideal for Boscombe or Bournemouth.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gary51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Old tatty and dirty. Bedrooms hot and noisy. Bathrooms old and dirty, shower useless, toilet handle broken away from wall. Light in room not working, two different sized single beds pushed together to make a double. Food tasteless and boring. Breakfast is a rugby scrum. Staff unhelpful and rude.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ajlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,065 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#58 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,903 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#35 of 66 in Bournemouth
987 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington House Hotel

Address: Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: $30 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carrington House Hotel, close to the town centre and all Bournemouth's top attractions, is situated on a quiet pine tree lined avenue on the East Cliff side of Bournemouth - perfect for a weekend break or short sightseeing trip. The hotel is close to both the railway and coach station and is only a ten-minute drive from Bournemouth Airport.There is so much to see and do in Bournemouth and its surrounding area, that you are bound to be back again and again whether it is a relaxing short break in Bournemouth that you are after, a cosmopolitan city break, or a weekend break for sight seeing and fun, Carrington House Hotel is an ideal base for all your activities.The hotel has 145 en-suite bedrooms, including 42 purpose-built family rooms plus conference and banqueting facilities for up to 700, a heated indoor swimming pool, table tennis, pool, table football and free parking for 85 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Carrington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing