We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BB in Bournemouth”
Review of Mountbatten Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountbatten Court
Ranked #37 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best BB in Bournemouth”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This really has to be the best BB in Bournemouth, great location and in easy reach of some of the best places in Dorset. Patricia and Andy are fantastic hosts nothing is to much trouble, the rooms are exceptional and so is the breakfast. The highlight of course is the toast, Andy has perfected perfect toast, it comes in white or brown and is served in a silver toast rack by himself. (our toast at home will never be the same again Andy) !!!!
If you are looking for an exceptional BB at a very reasonable price make this your first call you won't be disappointed. We have every intension of staying there again I just hope we can get in, once you have stayed here you won't want to go anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
46
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here 18th til 21 july, we cant praise the owners andy & pat enough, this is a wonderful house in a beautiful location, 10 min walk to uncrowded beach, clean clear sea, mountbatten court is a great place for visiting dorsets jurassic coast, rooms are clean & tidy, the room we had was en suite with great shower, big tv & blueray player, breakfast was excellent, owners pat and andy are genuinely great people, cant thank them enough for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fireballxl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was certainly like staying at home with Pat and Andy being a real Mum and Dad. Great location, lovely house. Andy helped carry bags up to our room. Nice rooms although we suffered a little in the extreme heat of this crazy summer. No fans or air conditioning. Granted my wife and I were offered another room if we wanted, separate from our girls which we appreciatively turned down.
Breakfast was good.
No eating takeaways in room!
Andy will talk you through the night on any subject. A real hard case, a bit Like John Cleese!
Stayed three nights.

Room Tip: avoid top floor if weather is hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I can't argue with the previous reviews of this B & B. Basically if you can get a booking you are very lucky. Exceptionally clean, great service, well appointed and well ventilated rooms which are of a good size, off street parking, free wifi, milk rather than long life for tea and coffee, good breakfast. I also have to mention the price is very reasonable, and the room I was in had an HD TV with blu-ray player. Unusually there was also a wallsafe in the room - which foreign travellers may appreciate more than the locals. You can even specify exactly what you want for breakfast like the number of sausages etc.

So why not totally perfect? Well a very minor point - you'll see from the two pictures of the room that the TV and Bluray is directly opposite the bottom of the bed. Unfortunately the board at the foot of the bed stops you sitting there and watching the TV - and the two chairs are a little hard to be sitting on for very long. As I said - minor - you don't come to Bournemouth to watch TV!

By the way if you are not a dog lover you need to be aware that the owners dog does occasionally wander into public areas and lies down in inconvenient places....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcw12kcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I wanted to take my mother away for a short break and I booked here because they had a ground floor room; I had another upstairs. Both rooms were very well appointed though I felt I did better than mum because the chair in my room was actually padded! (but a B&B which provides a chair is to be commended because most do not bother). I slept really well as it was so peaceful* - no traffic noise. The 'en-suite' was superb, new and very clean. Large TVs on the walls in the rooms, free wi-fi, soft carpets and a great breakfast to start the day. If you have a chance to go here then do not hesitate. The price was fantastic for the quality offered. [*The next door neighbour has a metal wind chime, which I detest, but I could only hear it in the bathroom if the window was ajar, so it didn't annoy me]. Friendly and obliging hosts. Excellent biscuits on the tea tray in the room!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinKettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I came from Toronto Canada and this was my first stop. Easy to get to, lots of things to walk too or get the bus too. Super comfortable, lovely cozy rooms.Beautiful neighborhood. Great hosts and home cooked breakfasts!
I would be lucky if all my B&B experiences are this great! Not to mention a fantastic rate.
I would love to come back some day. Thanks so much Pat and Andy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a quick stay with Andy and Pat. Cannot recommend them highly enough. Like a home from home. Lovely room, amazing breakfast and made to feel truly welcome. If you want to stay in Bournemouth and you are lucky enough to get in, choose the Mountbatten!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mean_Go_Getter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bournemouth
0.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
Grovefield Manor
Grovefield Manor
#9 of 50 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Living Room Bournemouth
Living Room Bournemouth
#15 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Inn in the Park
#48 of 50 in Poole
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
4.0 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#1 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southernhay B & B
Southernhay B & B
#89 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountbatten Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountbatten Court

Property: Mountbatten Court
Address: 16 Mountbatten Road, Bournemouth BH13 6JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Bed and Breakfast in Bournemouth & Poole, situated in the exclusive Branksome Dene area. Minutes wooded walk to local soft, sandy beaches, adequate off-road parking with CCTV security. Secure limited parking to rear (steel gates). En-suites, room safes, tea / coffee, biscuits. Internet access (WIFI and Wired) and wall-mounted LCD televisions (32" in standard, 37" or 42" in superior rooms). Brintons or Axminster (Devon) pure wool carpets, comfy quality beds in all rooms. Full fire alarm, emergency lighting, regularly tested. Breakfast freshly cooked, with (help yourself) cereals, fruit juices, etc. Close to Canford Cliffs Village and Westbourne, within walking distance or via local open-top bus (Seasonal). ALL rooms en-suite. ALL basins have DIRECT MAINS DRINKING WATER. NEW, PLUG IN CHARGER FOR ELECTRIC CARS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountbatten Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing