We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't try it, it was closed at 7:15 pm”
Review of Giggi Gelateria

Giggi Gelateria
Ranked #4 of 18 Dessert in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $7
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Just want to mention that we went there salivating from all the excellent Trip Advisor reviews, and were very disappointed to see that it was already closed at 7:15 pm on a Monday night at the end of July. Most of that area except for the restaurants were closed. You would think this being a holiday town that they would have longer hours in July and August! Especially a gelato place, where people would go after dinner.

1  Thank busymothertoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GIGGI B, Owner at Giggi Gelateria, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear busymothertoronto,

thank you for wanting to come and try our product.

Unfortunately even though we understand your disappointment, after reading your review I would like to say that the issue you mention is completely out of our hands to resolve and therefore we don’t believe that this is something that should receive the score you have given.

Our business is located in the Burlington Arcade which has particular opening and closing times, therefore not allowing us to remain open after 6.30pm due to the arcade closing. This is something that we do not have any influence on and we therefore feel that it is unjustified to leave a negative comment.

At the same time you have seen that other High Street businesses are closing around the same time as you mentioned in your post and this is very common in UK high streets. We understand that as visitors you might have different expectations; however we would expect that customers understand and respect the local opening times.

To receive a bad review for this reason is unfair as it doesn’t say anything about our product and service and something we can not change.

Giggi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 220 of 480 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

Had medium 2 flavour cone. It was really good. Nice you can mix and match. We sat outside and enjoyed every bit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lynz001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I thought it was going to be good by the reviews here on trusty TripAdvisor. Good? Try superdooperfanbloomingtastic! Freshly made everyday, nothing processed about this in the slightest.

We had never eaten ice cream as good as this in the UK or the world! I admit I haven't been to Italy yet but judging by the queue and the large number of Italians running but also queueing up to eat the delights of the freezer says alot!

White chocolate ice cream to die for. But then so was the mint choc chip, and the strawberry, and the milk chocolate, and hazelnut. Many other flavours we didn't get to try, but they looked and I'm sure were as good as every lick that passed my lips!

2  Thank 885tomc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

The best icecream we have had in the UK. The pistacio is divine .. The other flavours were very nice too. The lemon sorbet was nothing to write home about.

Coffee not great, we asked for double espresso Macchiato but got something closer to a quadruple, with associated dilution in flavor. Too be fair though this might have been due to a communication error.

Overall highly recommended,in fact a must.

1  Thank urbanastronaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

If you fancy an ice-cream there's no better place to go. Proper gelateria......................well worth a visit at any time. Got to be the best ice-cream in town!!

1  Thank SnookyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giggi Gelateria also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Giggi Gelateria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing