We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely family evening experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fountain Chinese Restaurant - CLOSED

The Fountain Chinese Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
dorchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely family evening experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

lovely food,good price,we were made very welcome with our 3 children,we appreciated the waitress telling us about the fireworks in the town so we didnt miss them,will go again

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank seasoned t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    8
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bournemouth
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Up your game”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This used to be the only eat all you want chinese in town, and it was very good. With all food cooked to order instead of in troughs like some places. But it has had the same menu for as long as i can remember. (I moved to bournemouth in 1992 and i think it may have been here all that time)
Its time they upped there game as they now have big competition just down the road, and as not everyone likes trough food to offer this service with freshly cooked food should work in there favour. But it needs to be better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LilyDefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Standards are slipping.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have been dining here and recommended this restaurant for over twenty years, even when it was the Imperial restaurant. We booked a two large tables here last night. Firstly, the decor and carpets are looking tired and shabby. The place was full and the system was "creaking". I don't think they could cope with bringing all dishes together for the party. It was slowly appearing in drips and drabs, some not appearing at all and having to be re-ordered. The food was not up to it's usual high standard with many guests commenting that the sauces were very salty. I hope the Fountain's management can get their standards of service back to how they were. Maybe a small groups are more acceptable and easy to manage. As for the decor, there is no excuse why this can't be up to standard, The place is nearly always full and finances must be healthy. Overall, still good, but could be much better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnyfastgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Why did we Bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

went to this restaurant today for lunch (29th june 2013) with my wife, why oh why did we bother what an appalling meal which has left us feeling ill and ripped off.
the menu was extremely limited compared to the evening menu, the restaurant was empty apart from a waiter and a waitress they were nice enough but being rushed to finish our meal was off putting as they closed at 2 and we arrived at 1230. the appetisers were ok nothing special all deep fried which butchered any flavour that there may have been we asked if it was possibke to have salt and pepper squid with the appetisers which was approved we were not told about the additional charge though which was underhanded, the duck was not crispy but beyond tough it was in fact more like pork masquerading as duck, the mains came the egg fried rice was burnt the chicken and cashew nuts was rancid the chicken was clearly cooked from frozen as it was bitty and rubber, the sweet and sour chicken was cold the only thing that was any good was the shredded chilli beef which was warm not hot,
I can say that my wife and I will not be returning do yourselves a favour take a 2 minute drive down the road to winton and visit the dragon inn (opposite the Tesco express) all you can eat 100x better and you wont be ripped off for drinks.
hope this review has been helpful

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank alexf k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant - don't let surrounding buildings put you off”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Love this place. The menu is overpriced for individual items, but the buffet is well worth it.

There is no wastage fee and the staff will continue to bring out as you ask.

Crispy duck and sea salt squid is AMAZING.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank l1ttlelaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fountain Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing