We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be going back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Westcliff Hotel
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Guernsey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Won't be going back”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were dingy and pokey. Bathroom you couldn't swing a cat in. Shower mechanism so stiff had to get my husband to work it. Sarcastic and patronising receptionist cum barman (called me love which l hate). Whole place needs redecorating. Room was directly opposite ballroom where noisy cabaret was going on. Wifi connection free but rubbish. Breakfast disappointing but restaurant staff were nice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwickham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    121
    76
    44
    47
See reviews for
90
203
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Paid £138 to stay at The New Westcliff Hotel for one night (family of 3)......completely over-priced and a waste of money....old room on top floor with tiny bathroom. Toilet broken.....sarcastic receptionist 'fixed it' whilst we were out and on our return explained (in his words) that he had done a 'botched job' and if there was any problems during the night to "take the lid off the back of the toilet cistern and lift the ball-cock valve manually" !!!! I explained we had paid £138 to stay in the room, therefore shouldn't be carrying out plumbing in the middle of the night....he said there was no night porter and, in an extremely rude and sarcastic manner, said "well if you want me to come and fix it at 3am, I won't be at work tomorrow" - implying that our only option was to make do............Throughout the night, there was drunken shouting and screaming outside until the early hours of the morning; the room was musty and old; there was no fire safety/exit routes instructions in the room (we were on the top floor of an old building!!)........The breakfast was disgusting - one piece of bacon, one sausage and sloppy scrambled egg which resembled yellow porridge.........For £138 per night, we were thoroughly disappointed and will not be returning!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elis392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffe Woods, Kent
Level Contributor
239 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had booked at the New Westcliff for the saturday evening of the Bournemouth Airshow w which I guess would have increased the price for the room. We had no problems booking in although we had to park in the hotels rear car park. Our room was compact and crowded with furniture. The chair by the door was covered in sand and there was hair and other bits on the carpet. The two bed base parts were not connected together and the headboard was not connected to the bed. One of the windows had a catch missing so the window so it could not be closed. In the morning the shower had to be run for about ten minutes before the cold water ran luke warm. The breakfast also was average. Throughout the staff were friendly and helpful. It would seem that the housekeeping needs to be improved and the reporting of faults in rooms. A small tip for those using the rear carpark after dark, take a torch with you as the keypad entrance has no lighting. I am glad that Johnsonessex had an enjoyable stay but experiences and expectations can be different for each and all are entitled to an opinion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinG_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my friend and two young children. The rooms are fine if not abit old fashioned but very clean. There is a lift but unless you want to take a big detour up a hill to get to the other side of the hotel there is no other access for pushchairs or wheelchairs and the lift only just squeezed me and my pushchair in. They gave us a family room but it was next to the bar where they hold evening entertainment although this goes off at 11 sharpe it's not good when you have two young children trying to sleep as it was terribly loud. The biggest problem was the wifi. It would not connect to any of our phones, laptop or iPad on the first night and when we asked reception he said we'd have to go up to the bar area to try it and really couldn't of cared less. It did work in the 2nd morning for half hour but after that nothing the whole stay. The staff are nice but I would of expected more from a 4* hotel and will be trying somewhere else for next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles5ox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked to stay for 4 night for the air show, was surprised to read some of the review some people's put about the hotel, to my opinion some people should stay at home and don't go on holidays, when we arrived at the hotel we were welcome by the friendly staff who explained to us what we should know about the hotel like dinner & breakfast time and all the rest the hotel offer, explain to us how to get into town & beach so we were well impress, then we check in into our room to find a nice clean and decent size room, decor need a bit of update but we realised that the hotel is under a huge refurbishment with new decor, doors etc.. We understand this thing do take a while to be done ,and will look fantastic when all completed. We really enjoy our evening meal & breakfast with a variety to choose from, well done to the chefs team and the friendly waiting staff, the hotel got a cinema and got evening
entertainment Annie Shepherd was really good, we did hear from regular guest shame that Eddie was not on to do he's Tina Turner or Dolly Parton impression!! We hope to see it in future visit. So we would like to say thank you all at the hotel for our lovely stay, we will come back to the New Westcliff Hotel best value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnstonessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your "lovely" review and will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.Hopefully we can get Dolly or Tina booked in for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

From the website it looks like a very posh and lovely hotel, however when we arrived, the receptionist was very rude. He gave us our key, and I went into my hotel room to find it in an absolutely foul state. It had not been cleaned at all. There were crumbs in the bed, mould on a pillow, red stuff on the floor in the bathroom and it had a foul smell. When I told the receptionist, he was very indifferent to the state of the room. He merely put his head in the door and went 'oh.' I complained to the manager, but received nothing back. The room took 2 hours to clean and we were given a cheap bottle of sparkling wine as a repayment. The bed was very creaky and was clearly on its last legs. Overall, a very poor hotel. Would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zoejtyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Owner at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Apologies JoejTyler for your disappointing stay - Unfortunately as explained to you and a simple human error the housekeeping department had not serviced the room after the departure of the previous guest that morning. As the hotel was full we were unable to move you to a different room therefore we had to call our Head Housekeeper back in to service the room. As you are aware this is not the standards of the hotel as you also had room 14 which was completely cleaned and serviced to our standards. However I was very disappointed to see your review nearly 3 months after your stay and after we gave you a discount on your bill as well as a bottle of bubbly for the small inconvenience caused.

This was a complete over side from our housekeeping team and for that I sincerely apologise, but I felt that we dealt with the situation accurately and affectively and to your satisfaction after we discussed and discount was apply to your account.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at The New Westcliff again this month. We had a really comfortable sumptuous bed and a delicious breakfast. The hotel staff are always helpful and friendly and the accommodation is great value.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you RGCampbell for your lovely 5 star review. Glad you had another "Comfortable Stay" and hope to see you again soon.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#35 of 66 in Bournemouth
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#54 of 66 in Bournemouth
393 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#29 of 66 in Bournemouth
263 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Westcliff Hotel

Property: New Westcliff Hotel
Address: 27-29 Chine Crescent | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Westcliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful Victorian building is quietly situated in over an acre of grounds and gardens, yet within easy walking distance of all local attractions. New Westcliff Hotel has 53 en-suite bedrooms all of which have been beautifully refurbished to include colour televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial telephones, trouser presses, irons and hairdryers. Lift serves all floors. The hotel is open all year, not only to be enjoyed in those warm and hazy days of the summer. With our wonderful, much-envied facilities, we also make the ideal winter retreat for the weekend or mid-week break away. Our aim is to provide comfort in a tasteful yet relaxed environment. Our guests say it is our friendly atmosphere and sense of fun that brings them time after time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your New Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Westcliff Bournemouth
Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel Westcliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing