We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Just gets better and better!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Westcliff Hotel
Ranked #50 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Just gets better and better!"”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just returned from my second visit and they have made vast improvements in the last year. The staff are extremely friendly and they even remembered me from last time which was a warm welcome. The food as always was to a very high standard and thoroughly enjoyable.

They've created a new cinema room, which was great for the kids when the rain came. They also loved the pool and leisure facilities.

We've already booked for next year and can't wait to see the next phase of improvements.

Well done New Westcliff Hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Martin, Lovely 5 star review, thank you very much indeed!! Glad you enjoyed all the facilities and approve of our refurbishment programme.

With best wishes and we look forward to seeing next year if not any earlier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    123
    79
    47
    49
See reviews for
97
209
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I booked some members of my family in the New Westcliff Hotel in August only to be greeted at reception by a very attrative & attentive young lady called Ruby , the food, service & accommodation were well above its 2 star rating . They all enjoyed it so much , on departure booked for Christmas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobile4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
A "brilliant" 5 star review mobile4, thank you. Delighted you were able to take full advantage of all the facilities that we have on offer and we look forward to seeing you and the family again at Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have just spent a week with friends and been greeted like a long lost friend by the staff
and management at the hotel,which I last visiited several years ago.New friends are made
on every visit and you can rely on having a great time with excellent food and entertainment
in an ideal position with every facility you could possibly want. It was the first visit by my friends
and they were most impressed by everything. I cannnot wait for my next visit.

Room Tip: first floor overlooking rear garden and bowling green
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rita h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi Rita,
Thank you so much for your fantastic 5 star review but most importantly it was GREAT seeing you again and looking so well. We all enjoyed reliving the old days with all the photos you had from all past holidays. I am delighted you all had a fantastic time and cannot wait to see you all again very soon and hopefully Frank will be well enough to come with you too. All our love to everyone in Cornwall and don't leave too long before visiting us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The New Westcliff Hotel, Bournemouth, is a fantastic place to stay. I wouldn't choose any other hotel to stay in around the area! Staff are fantastic and have been known to dress up as Tina Turner and other people and do a little comedy act at the nighttime entertainment after/during a singers performance! Such a great place, and it feels more like a home that a hotel :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EleanorandChloe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review Eleanor and Chloe and delighted you enjoyed your stay in. Hopefully we'll see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We got a room in the basement. Funny smell, worn down room and bathroom, very thin walls and a loud bang every time one of the neighbours closes the door. There must be better hotels or b&b's for £100/night in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdLibitumTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Owner at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
As the owner, I take all reviews, good and bad, most seriously and I try to deal with them in the most appropriate manner. This review bears little resemblance to our hotel – the description of the basement room as the hotel has no such rooms. I can find no trace of this Guest from AdLibitumTravel in our records. I can only assume that it is not a genuine review. If the person would like to contact me I would be delighted to have the opportunity to discuss their review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

sorry the review is a little late but it was worth the wait.
i stayed at the hotel the weekend of 19/07/13 to the 21/07/13 and i can say the hotel was worth the money the room was clean and the bathroom. the staff were friendly and the facilities were good ( pool and Jacuzzi ). the entertainment was a laugh. all in all it was a very comfortable stay.
very pleased

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Like they say "better late then never" :-) ... Glad you have enjoyed our fantastic facilities and hotel and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Having decided to make the most of the good weather I booked a mid week break at The New Westcliff hotel having stayed there earlier in the year when the weather was not quite so nice (thats an understatement).
We enjoyed our visit so much before that we didn't think the hotel could improve but the weather of course had so it was going to be a great week.
Well I was amazed. We arrived and were given a newly refurbished suite in the other side of the hotel as my partner is on crutches at present having had a little accident in the car. This suite was so beautifully refurbished and good impression was immediate as we walked down the newly decorated hallways and noticed all the rooms had stunning new Walnut doors with those electronic card operated locks. Opening the door our suite was superb with a luxury bathroom and balcony, flat screen TV etc etc. We had paid the extra few pounds for this room but trust me it was worth every penny. We made ourselves at home and then decided to celebrate with a drink in the bar. As we passed reception we met Rubina, the Manager who was so helpful when we last stayed. Rubina was thrilled with our reaction and later that evening when we had enjoyed a beautiful meal in the restaurant and returned to the bar for the evening entertainment the owner Paul made a point of finding us and thanking us for our feedback.
I can see why this hotel is so popular with the guests I have met when I have enjoyed their hospitality it is run by a caring team that go out of their way to make your holiday memorable for all the right reasons - Thanks you Paul, Rubi and your staff

Room Tip: Stretch your stay over the weekend if you can Bournemouth has so much to do and The New Westcliff is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Many thanks for your very complimentary review. We are always working hard to bring the hotel back to its formal glory if not better and is always nice to receive such feedback and appreciations. Thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#34 of 66 in Bournemouth
402 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,524 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#39 of 66 in Bournemouth
947 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Westcliff Hotel

Property: New Westcliff Hotel
Address: 27-29 Chine Crescent | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Westcliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful Victorian building is quietly situated in over an acre of grounds and gardens, yet within easy walking distance of all local attractions. New Westcliff Hotel has 53 en-suite bedrooms all of which have been beautifully refurbished to include colour televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial telephones, trouser presses, irons and hairdryers. Lift serves all floors. The hotel is open all year, not only to be enjoyed in those warm and hazy days of the summer. With our wonderful, much-envied facilities, we also make the ideal winter retreat for the weekend or mid-week break away. Our aim is to provide comfort in a tasteful yet relaxed environment. Our guests say it is our friendly atmosphere and sense of fun that brings them time after time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Westcliff Bournemouth
Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel Westcliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing