We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Enjoyable Week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Westcliff Hotel
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Rotherham
2 reviews
“A Very Enjoyable Week”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I returned on the 20th after a very enjoyable 7 night stay. We had two rooms, a double for ourselves and a single for my wife's cousin. All three of us were very pleased with the rooms and delighted with the standard of the menu in the restaurant. Without exception, the staff were pleasant and helpful and there was a general happy atmosphere. The public areas were pleasant and comfortable and the air conditioned entertainment room was a bonus in such unusually hot weather. We will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_brian_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, which is very much appreciated and i am pleased that you had the opportunity to support our evening entertainment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    121
    76
    44
    47
See reviews for
90
203
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford Kent
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

To fully appreciate the content of this review you will probably firstly need to refer to my previous poor review dated 21st September 2012.

We have just had four nights staying in the brand new Branch Suite which for those who know the hotel is situated where the cinema used to be, a new cinema is being built but has yet to open.

It must be said that the Branch Suite is absolutely lovely, all brand new and built to a very high standard with a nice bathroom with Jacuzzi bath, separate shower etc. The bedroom is large with a comfortable bed, separate sofa bed, and all very smart in terms of furniture and soft furnishings, sadly although virtually brand new, previous occupants had already stained the carpet and chipped one of the mirror style bedside cabinets.

The balcony is still very much work in progress but once finished will be a pleasant place to sit and relax.

The rest of the hotel is still gradually being updated and although most of the public areas are fine the dining room carpet is very grubby and needs changing as soon as possible.

The food is excellent, the staff are fine and owner Paul is doing a great job updating the hotel, it certainly needed it.

To sum up a great break at a very reasonable price, keep up the good work Paul and we will be back!

Room Tip: The new "Branch Suite" is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dawnandkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Many thanks for your generous review. We have taken great pride and effort in refurbishing the Branch Suite into a fantastic modern room with all the comforts from home. Unfortunately the Carpet got damaged by our first customers but you will delighted to know that is in the process of being changed together with the new balcony being fitted to which some garden furniture is awaiting to go there.

The dining room will be decorated before Christmas when hopefully we should be able to close for two weeks given the amount of work required but in the mean time we do try and carpet clean as much as we can but intense stains are hard/impossible to remove.

Glad you have enjoyed our fantastic food and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a great 3 night break. Lovely hotel, good food, nice staff and great facilities. Swimming pool and Jacuzzi are highly recommended. We stayed in a honeymoon suite which was nice, if in need of a little updating. Didn't partake of the evening entertainment as we were so tired after spending the days on the beach (which is a nice walk from the hotel). Staff were very friendly and a special mention has to go to Eddy who seemed to be everywhere - a real asset to the hotel. Having read some negative reviews I was apprehensive, but there was no need and we will definitely be going back sometime.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Owner at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Many thanks for your generous review, and your 5 star award. I am delighted that you have enjoyed some of our exceptional facilities and hopefully next time you will be able to dance the night away with one of our fantastic cabaret acts.

Have passed your comments to all the staff especially Eddy who was taken by your kind comments. The hotel as you know is going through refurbishment and the honeymoon suite is definitely on the list :-). Pleased to know that you will return to see us soon with hopefully some sunshine.

Many thanks and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldkflower
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My 3rd visit to the New Westcliffe, highley recommend for all ages. Great facilities, bedroom and location. The breakfast are good along with good choice of menu for evening meal. Good service and frindley owner who takes pride. More alterations will I'm sure lift the star ratings to 3-4. Pool, sauna, etc... excellent and clean. Will be going back again.

Room Tip: Room 27 was a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldkflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Owner at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Delighted to read that you both enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the trouble to write your excellent review and we wlook forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Fabulous food, great staff - all friendly, efficient, helpful and so polite and pleasant. We upgraded our room and it was great! The cinema was being refurbished so we didn't get the opportunity to assess this, although as the weather was good we probably wouldn't have bothered anyway! The leisure facilities - indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna were great, we don't play bowls but the facility was there if we had wanted to. We shall definitely be returning and would certainly recommend it to our friends and family. The position was ideal, we used the buses and the bus stop was just a short walk away, walking to Town Centre was easy and pleasant. Far better than you'd expect from a 2 star hotel. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Room Tip: ROOM 7 IS BRILLIANT. Most of the rooms have just been refurbished, I'm sure they are all mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Owner at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you Terry and Trish for your fantasic review - our team were really delighted to be mentioned in such glowing terms. Glad you enjoyed the experience and we hope to see you again soon. I am also delighted to inform you that our new cinema is now fully refurbished and running.

Many thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

food is excellent, very friendly hotel, well equipped rooms, very clean, friendly staff have spent lots of holidays here over the years, highly recommended,hotel is totally being refurbished to a very high standard, excellent pool and jacuzzi, for a 2 star hotel it is very good value and exceeds expectations ,also offers good deals throughout the year

Room Tip: honeymoon suite highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Owner at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Many thanks Jean and Ken for taking the trouble to write such a lovely review. Looking forward to seeing again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon cambs
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have just got back from a stay here, We booked via telephone and was an easy process. All staff were efficient and friendly. The food was lovely and presented to a standard far higher than the 2 star awarded. Our bedroom was dated and a bit flouncy for my liking, but as the hotel is getting refurbished so i'm sure it will be fantastic when finished, It is a great base for local attractions. I wouls recommend going to Swannage on the bus(sit upstairs and take in the lovely views and gorgeous houses. We also took the steam train to Corfe Castle which is also a must.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesHuntingdoncambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Many thanks for your review which is very much appreciated. The hotel, originally The Duke of Westminster Summer Residence, dates back to 1851 but I hope you will agree that the new refurbishment works brings the hotel well into this century but yet keeping some of the original features. So pleased you have enjoyed a few of the local attraction.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#34 of 66 in Bournemouth
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
393 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#29 of 66 in Bournemouth
260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Westcliff Hotel

Property: New Westcliff Hotel
Address: 27-29 Chine Crescent | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Westcliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful Victorian building is quietly situated in over an acre of grounds and gardens, yet within easy walking distance of all local attractions. New Westcliff Hotel has 53 en-suite bedrooms all of which have been beautifully refurbished to include colour televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial telephones, trouser presses, irons and hairdryers. Lift serves all floors. The hotel is open all year, not only to be enjoyed in those warm and hazy days of the summer. With our wonderful, much-envied facilities, we also make the ideal winter retreat for the weekend or mid-week break away. Our aim is to provide comfort in a tasteful yet relaxed environment. Our guests say it is our friendly atmosphere and sense of fun that brings them time after time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your New Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Westcliff Bournemouth
Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel Westcliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing