We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful treat for the whole family.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2010

What can I say about our stay at the Norfolk Royale in Bournemouth other than fabulous.
I have stayed at this hotel a number of times but this was definitely the best stay yet.
The location of the hotel is perfect. It is near all of the amenities, the beach and the lovely gardens but still has a quiet location. The hotel itself looks beautiful and we were lucky enough to have a balcony which is the perfect place to sit and relax after a busy day on the beach. The weather was also perfect and the children thoroughly enjoyed the beach hut provided by the hotel (it really did make a difference to the beach experience).
The staff were very friendly and made us feel very special, bending over backwards to meet our needs.
The food at the hotel is fantastic and they have a great childrens menu.
If you feel like a treat ask Krystian the wine expert to make you his very special sangria. Which he serves with a warm smile.
We will be returning again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 28Jasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,967)
There are newer reviews for Norfolk Royale Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,798 - 1,804 of 1,968 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2010

Stayed for one night over the bank holiday with my husband 3 teenage children & my parents both in there late 70s.We had standard rooms and all were modern, large and of a very high quality. Each bedroom were very clean and the beds very comfortable. The rooms were at the back of the hotel so no noise. The hotel staff were very friendly and the maids were all pleasant. Breakfast was very good, plenty to choose from and very hot. Coffee & tea was served at our table. Overall i would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and would definately return in the future. Anyone who complains about this hotel must be extremely fussy.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jue59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

My partner and I only visited the hotel for dinner with a view to booking a holiday here at some point in the future. The menu looked tempting but the food was a great disappointment. For a 4 star hotel one would expect high class cuisine. This was definitely not. My partner's mixed grill (a strange dinner option) was overcooked, the lamb chop was extremely small and the chips were what I would call pub standard. My small pieces of trout were also overcooked and were accompanied by a cold potato salad in what could have been a mass produced sauce. The green beans were excessively al dente. The Cointreau coffee was good but why a subsidy for my partner's cheese and biscuits that he chose instead of the dessert ? Tables were too close together and staff were almost too intrusive in their questioning of our appreciation of our dinner.
The lounge and surrounding areas were fine but the food is an essential part of a hotel's viability and this was not 4 or even 3 star standard in our estimation.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank artichoke87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

I was a bit shocked to read the previous review as I was extremely pleased with the hotel - and I am a very critical person. The breakfast was an excellent buffet choice and most definitely not cold. In the evening we ate in the hotel restaurant on the ground floor. I did see the brasserie that the other reviewer was talking about which is across the road from the hotel but I didn't realise that this was evan part of the hotel and not sure why they ate there when the hotel restaurant is within the hotel. Anyway, food was perfectly fine but I would recommend you eat earlier rather than later as it does get very busy and the guests who came in later were waiting a long time to be served. This certainly does need to be improved upon. The hotel receptionists were very pleasant on arrival and during the stay. The room was spacious with an excellent shower. They do have the fan in the bathroom constanly working and it is loud which can be irritating but it does go off at 10pm. We only had one child staying so the hotel had raised somehow the top bunk making it unavailable to sleep in. However, from a H&S issue, this then made the bottom bunk quite dangerous as when folded, the edge of the top bunk was only a few inches away from my son's head and he banged his head 3 times in the night. I will be emailing the hotel about this. Therefore, if there are 3 of you in the room, ask them to make up the top bunk before you arrive. The swimming pool is small but warm. As you can see from the hotel website, it is situated in a glass dome in the garden. This can make you feel like you are being watched from those in the garden and that you are in an aquarium. My husband said the sauna was one of the best he had used. There is also a good steam room. The garden is very pleasant with rattan furniture everywhere. Perfect for my afternoon earl grey tea moment. We had no problems with pigeons as on our balcony, they had installed metal spikes to stop the problem. Another good point is that they have a Wii that you can hire - perfect for after dinner with children if it is too cold to have a walk. Yes I agree that the underground car park is a lot of money and I think this should be free. It's quite scary when you drive in as you have to stop on an extremely steep slope before pressing in a code to open the iron gates. The location is excellent though - right in the town and a short walk through the gardens to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WINSTONSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

This hotel has a few problems:

1. It charges extra for just about everything - even coffee after the evening meal! I don't drive, but if I did, I think I'd be a bit dismayed at the daily charges for parking on-site.

2. The food is pretty bad. For example, the self-serve cooked breakfast was stone-cold. I complained... I was ignored.

The evening meal was like something a drunken student might have cobbled together. My wife and I ended-up eating out.

3. The dining room is quite crowded and has no atmosphere.

According to the Royale's own site, their "Echoes" dining room is a pleasant, cosy, convivial place. It is not.

4. It is situated (no fault of its own) opposite a church refuge of some kind. It was a little disconcerting to see about 20 vagrants lined-up outside the place, as we made our way to a bar one evening.

5. No air conditioning.

6. Pigeons had twice made their way into our room. I suspect that this is not uncommon, and explains why the windows open only about 1.5 inches. Not narrow enough to disuade the pigeons, though.

On the positive side, it was reasonably clean, which is more than can be said for the restauarant manager's jacket. I think it was the grubbiest I have ever seen, tramps excepted.

A big disappointment. Was glad to go home.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

I stayed at the Norfolk Roayle for 2 nights with one of the nights being a Murder Mystery evening.
The Hotel was lovely and the standard of the rooms was excellent. We were a large party of 25 and everyone had a great trip and didnt have any complaints.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and hte Murder Mystery evening ran very well.
The location was ideal, only 2 minutes away from the centre and close the beach and the beautiful gardens.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FearnFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Enjoyable one week stay near the centre of Bournemouth. Club rooms very good, although would benefit from air con'.

Good standards of cleanliness throughout hotel. Garden and public areas comfortable and pleasant. Pool clean but cold, jacuzzi lovely.

Food was very good, but many supplements for dinner (coffee, vegetables and cheese & biscuits)

Own car park - always got a space, but a little tight!

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaddingtonsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,034 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Royale Hotel

Address: Richmond Hill, Bournemouth BH2 6EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $87 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norfolk Royale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bournemouth's premier AA four-star hotel, The Norfolk is Ideally positioned within a short stroll of the resort's major attractions - including its award winning gardens and golden sand Blue Flag beaches.Originally converted from two imposing Edwardian villas, The Norfolk Hotel today boasts 95 spacious and thoughtfully-equipped en suite guestrooms. The Norfolk Hotel's lounge and bar provide the ideal setting to relax and enjoy morning coffee, a new and innovative range of afternoon teas, or evening cocktails.Recently-introduced Friday Fizz events invite guests and non-residents alike to celebrate the start of the weekend with sparkling wines and Champagnes at half price between 4pm and 8pm.The lounge opens on to The Norfolk Hotel's impressive Art Deco verandah which, along with the hotel's secluded gardens alow visitors to eat, drink and be merry al fresco The gardens are also the Venue for The Norfolk Hotel's summer barbecue season which runs from May through September. From noon to 9pm, guests can lunch or dine in the summer sun or when the weather refuses to co-operate move into Echoes, the hotel's fine-sining restaurant. Guest facilites also include a glass-roofed heated indoor pool, whirlpool, steam room and sauna, while the Orchid Rooms Beauty Salon offers a wide range of beauty, holistic and clinical therapy treatments in a quiet and relaxed environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Norfolk Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Norfolk Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing