We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed several times and strongly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norfolk Royale Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stayed several times and strongly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

EXCELLENT food, staff, rooms, rates.
What more can one ask for lovely lovely and again lovely x
On one stay i had a fault that needed to be dealt with and they dealt with it immediately and also compensated me which wasn't needed,but appreciated never the less.I will always return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffy1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    632
    264
    110
    63
See reviews for
387
766
38
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed overnight in this hotel with Hubby over the May Bank Holiday. What a lovely hotel, staff very friendly and helpful, Hotel well maintained and Superb food. Leisure facilities in hotel well maintained and very clean. Our room was a Deluxe room and was superb . Perfect location for town centre and a short stroll to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stepdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
360 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

I have stopped at the Norfolk Royale on a few occasions on business in the past few years, and the most recent occasion was in February 2014.

The rooms I have stayed in have always been very spacious and this occasion was no exception - a big double bed with lots of space around it; a nice chair to relax in; a desk area to work at and a big flatscreen TV. In terms of the bathroom facilities, I was located in a ground floor room and so it was disabled-friendly. In fact it was so well laid out it was perfect for able-bodied and disabled alike - lots of room to move around, and a fully adjustable shower. And all very clean and tidy. What more can you ask for?

I decided to head out for dinner, but breakfast the next day was great - self-service buffet style although very friendly waiting staff bring your tea/coffee and toast. The quality of the breakfast items was very good and plenty of it.

What can I fault? Well, I can't say I'm enamoured about the hotel's underground car park. The fact it's free is great but the entrance/exit is very tight for big cars - on the way in I clipped my wing mirrors and on the way out I some how managed to damage a front alloy wheel...not great. Nevertheless, would I stay again? Definitely!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rothwell8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

My sister and always try and spend our birthdays together so I took her to this hotel as part of a deal. The hotel was great. Really close to everything. Food really good. Pool was a bit dated. Room was brilliant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night over Easter in a family room and it was perfect. Hotel is in a great central location and is clean and well presented.
Used the pool with my little boys which was excellent.
Parking is a little expensive but good.
Would definitely stay again!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MatONtheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Don't know who's idea it was, but the hotel is very pink outside!
Reception staff and check-in were very efficient. The suite was large, but in need of a refurb (creaky floors in particular). The room was on the front right as you look at the hotel, and heavy lorries seem to use the road by the side quite early in the morning.
The lady in charge of housekeeping clearly has a huge job, but she deserves a special mention for keeping everything ticking over smoothly.
Breakfast was a standard buffet, with particularly good sausages, but weak coffee.
Swimming pool is a bit shoddy.

Highlight - without a doubt - was afternoon tea. it's worth coming here just for that.
Location is very good, short stroll to shops and restaurants and not far to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iamnotanumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Norfolk Royale. The hotel itself is in a decent location and the car park price is good value considering your car is locked away in a secure underground car park. The room was clean and acceptable. Some of the staff were brilliant. A special thank you to Stephanie - Reception Manager for a very professional yet helpful approach. Very informative of local attractions. Unfortunatly we did have a slight negative experience with one of the porters. Resturant staff were good. We will return to bournemouth but not sure we will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandamie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Royale Hotel

Property: Norfolk Royale Hotel
Address: Richmond Hill, Bournemouth BH2 6EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Norfolk Royale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bournemouth's premier AA four-star hotel, The Norfolk is Ideally positioned within a short stroll of the resort's major attractions - including its award winning gardens and golden sand Blue Flag beaches.Originally converted from two imposing Edwardian villas, The Norfolk Hotel today boasts 95 spacious and thoughtfully-equipped en suite guestrooms. The Norfolk Hotel's lounge and bar provide the ideal setting to relax and enjoy morning coffee, a new and innovative range of afternoon teas, or evening cocktails.Recently-introduced Friday Fizz events invite guests and non-residents alike to celebrate the start of the weekend with sparkling wines and Champagnes at half price between 4pm and 8pm.The lounge opens on to The Norfolk Hotel's impressive Art Deco verandah which, along with the hotel's secluded gardens alow visitors to eat, drink and be merry al fresco The gardens are also the Venue for The Norfolk Hotel's summer barbecue season which runs from May through September. From noon to 9pm, guests can lunch or dine in the summer sun or when the weather refuses to co-operate move into Echoes, the hotel's fine-sining restaurant. Guest facilites also include a glass-roofed heated indoor pool, whirlpool, steam room and sauna, while the Orchid Rooms Beauty Salon offers a wide range of beauty, holistic and clinical therapy treatments in a quiet and relaxed environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotel.de so you can book your Norfolk Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Norfolk Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing