We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below par unfortunately.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norfolk Royale Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Below par unfortunately.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I'm staying on business for 3 weeks and was given the impression this was a grand hotel. It's a shame because it is in a great location in the centre of town.
My first night was unsettled, twin beds pushed together as a double no great.
I reported that my room was cold that night and asked for an extra blanket in my room as the heating seemed faulty, arrived back later that day and neither the heating was fixed or a blanket in my room, back to reception and a blanket and electric heater was provided. Breakfast selection is okay but the English is not up to much.
I'm also glad I'm not paying for parking at £13 a night it's not cheap. The corridor floors squeak and moan as you travel through the hotel and the room needs some TLC. Lastly the tv channels are limited and not even the usual freeview stuff.
Given a choice I would try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikemay088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    630
    264
    110
    63
See reviews for
387
763
38
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chatteris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Once again enjoyed,what must be the best deal in the uk ..An excellent hotel that is well worth its 4 star rating.You may even see the odd celeb staying there .We did with the stars whom are appearing in the panto.
Excellent service ,in a central location.Food and room are all you would expect and more from thid prestigoud hotel.Have no doubts this is good and you wont be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Check your room is not next or opposite the boiler room.Can be a little annoying at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I booked a family room (2 adults, 2 kids) at this hotel for New Year's Eve 2012. We just wanted a room for the night with a plan to grab an early dinner with the kids and our expectations were not particularly high as we already knew that the hotel was heavily booked with people attending a gala NYE dinner/dance. From the moment that we arrived the staff, whilst rushed off their feet with preparing for the evening event, were attentive, friendly and great with the kids. We settled in quickly into a comfortable and spacious room, made use of the pool and spa bath facilities and then, hungry, headed down for some dinner. Unfortunately the hotel could not provide us with food on this evening, but as I said, we knew about the gala dinner in advance so no real problem...although it would have been nice to have been told at the point of booking that dinner would not be available, even in the bar. We headed out into what was a less busy Bournemouth town centre than expected (easy to find a restaurant with space - Zizzi in this case - even on NYE) and upon return to the hotel they were again all over us with welcomes, joking with the kids etc and invited us to join the midnight celebrations even though we were not part of the gala dinner package (we were, of course, all fast asleep by midnight but it was a nice offer!). Breakfast the following morning was excellent and upon check out, an offer to leave our car in the hotel car park until we were ready to return to London was a nice touch that finished off a very nice short stay which was everything that we expected, given the busy time that we were there. This place is totally family friendly and is easy to recommend. If using the pool save yourself time by getting the access code to the pool BEFORE going to the pool and be careful of how deep the pool is - it is a small pool with a very steep gradient half way along down to 2 metres.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RugbyRaccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harlow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Me and my partner traveled to the Norfolk Royale for a 1 night get away. The hotel reception is very nicely laid out with lots of places to sit and have a drink. And the 2 ladies that were working on reception when we was there were very helpful and kind.
We was allocated room 124 which was a lovely sized room with a massive 2 person bath and separate shower. we was also lucky enough to have a room at the front of the hotel so it had a little balcony/conservatory thing on it which was good bonus.
The hotel bar was nice not too expensive. we also used the hotels car park there which was £13.00 for the night. The was a nice but small little pool and jucuzzi and steam room.

The hotel is a very short walk from all major bars and resturants. we found a La Tasca just on the right of hotel that was very nice.

Didnt eat in the hotel but the food that we see did look nice, Only bad point is you can hear everyone walking round the hotel (especially children) so maybe a room on a higher floor maybe quieter other than that a perfect cheeky night away.

Room Tip: rooms over looking the front mean you get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielleparsons1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just returned from the Norfolk Royale and had to post what a great time we had. The staff are very efficient and friendly, the food excellent, and the location is so central. We returned for the 2-night new year's eve break a second time, panto included, and weren't disappointed. We'd visit again!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are fairly noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelwise020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have been here for two years at this time and we love it The hotel is very clean and maintained. The food is of a high standard very nice.And the service is the best we have found.The staff are all very frendly and helpful.

Room Tip: only two mins walk to town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

My experience at this hotel was a huge let down.
Not enough staff around, management lost in what they do.
I was so disappointed in this visit that will not be returning.
Christmas was over rated, not a quality product at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Royale Hotel

Property: Norfolk Royale Hotel
Address: Richmond Hill, Bournemouth BH2 6EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Norfolk Royale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bournemouth's premier AA four-star hotel, The Norfolk is Ideally positioned within a short stroll of the resort's major attractions - including its award winning gardens and golden sand Blue Flag beaches.Originally converted from two imposing Edwardian villas, The Norfolk Hotel today boasts 95 spacious and thoughtfully-equipped en suite guestrooms. The Norfolk Hotel's lounge and bar provide the ideal setting to relax and enjoy morning coffee, a new and innovative range of afternoon teas, or evening cocktails.Recently-introduced Friday Fizz events invite guests and non-residents alike to celebrate the start of the weekend with sparkling wines and Champagnes at half price between 4pm and 8pm.The lounge opens on to The Norfolk Hotel's impressive Art Deco verandah which, along with the hotel's secluded gardens alow visitors to eat, drink and be merry al fresco The gardens are also the Venue for The Norfolk Hotel's summer barbecue season which runs from May through September. From noon to 9pm, guests can lunch or dine in the summer sun or when the weather refuses to co-operate move into Echoes, the hotel's fine-sining restaurant. Guest facilites also include a glass-roofed heated indoor pool, whirlpool, steam room and sauna, while the Orchid Rooms Beauty Salon offers a wide range of beauty, holistic and clinical therapy treatments in a quiet and relaxed environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Norfolk Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Norfolk Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing