We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Overall good”

Review of Houghton Lodge

Swimming Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming Pool
Houghton Lodge position 
and Back Garden Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Swimming Pool
Houghton Lodge position 
and Back Garden
Lounge
Snugly after a Long cold walkies!
Candle lit evenings
Dining and open plan Kitchen
Kitchen overlooking the Garden
Kitchen
Back garden 
There is also a half acre field for the use of guests just to the right
Games Room
Houghton Lodge right of image
Bedroom 4 (en-suite)
Aqua Room 
sleeps 2
Bedroom 3 
library room 
Sleeps 2
Bedroom 5 
Little lilac room 
Sleeps 2 
Double/Twin
Bedroom 2
. The Red Room  Sleeps 2-3 with extra single , plus  bed can also become super kingsize .
Lounge
Bedroom 1 (First Floor)
en-suite
Sleeping 2-4 
On extra sofa bed , suitable for 2 children or 1 adul
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bournemouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bellsfood...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overall good”
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Overall we were pleased with our stay at Houghton Lodge. The house catered for all our needs, we loved the large living room and plenty of large sofa seating was a huge plus for 4 families staying at the Lodge (the photos online don't do that room justice!). The facilities are good, numerous bathrooms, outdoor space, hot tub and use of a pool. The enclosed garden leading from the kitchen is small, mostly patio and the hot tub, with a small lawn area, however there is access through the gate to a neighboring field and footpath taking you up to see some horses, which is great for kids - plenty of space there for kids/dog to run around which is really great.
The pool is clean and warm, but our only downside on this is that it did feel like we were intruding on the Downview Farm property, as you have to walk through their back garden, right past their windows, to get into the building where the pool is. Also, they can see the pool directly from one of their living areas, (the pool building directly joins to the Downview property with large full length windows, albeit with vertical blinds connect the two) and also viewable from their other garden (no blinds), so it didn't feel too private. Blinds on the pool side of the windows may be a good addition for those guests from Houghton Lodge to use when in the pool, to make it feel more like ‘your pool’ for the 4 hours per day you are allowed in it, to stop guests in the other property nosying at whats going on in the pool. For the price for the accommodation, it is a shame the pool is only to be used by Houghton Lodge 4 hours a day too (only in the morning), however it was made clear in the T&C, it is just a comment to say you pay a premium for a pool but 4 hours isn’t much, but for our needs, it was fine. Just something for other guests to consider.
Overall though, a pleasant stay! Many thanks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2017
Thank you for your thoughts.
The back Garden that you walk through to get to the Pool is no mans land .
Downview farm guests , have large gardens and patio at the other side of the house.
The windows you walk past are the utility room and formal dining room which is only used in the evenings not 8.30am in your swim time .
You would not have been disturbing anyone.
There are blinds for privacy ???
WE do make it VERY clear that Houghton Lodge has the pool from 8.30am - 12.30pm .
This is the 4 hours you seem unhappy about ?Yet you knew the times when you booked ??
You do not mention the Hot-Tub and Sauna that Houghton lodge has in their private garden 24/7 .
We have been running these lets for 15 years and I am very pleased to say , you are the only guests to be unhappy about the Pool .
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us .
Hope to see you again.
Lucy and matt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saraharri...
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hen party”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Had a fantastic stay.every thing there to keep everyone happy. Definitely stay again.already thinking when can it be.x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2017
Thank You Sarah
We are thrilled that you all had such a good time .
Cant wait for you to all come back .
Lucy and Matt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W L
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overall a relaxing break.”
Reviewed April 30, 2017 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Location good and lovely pubs in the area, annoying that a few things were not explained before arrival ( ie ) wifi and I did find Lucy quite rude at times, my main problem was the booking in the first place after several messages left and emails finally I had a response.
The house and facilities are good for group bookings.
The owners do need to accept constructive criticism they are not as professional as one should be.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2017
I am so sorry but we do not have a record of your stay with us in 2015 ?
I think you may have the wrong house ?
It is now 2017 ?
Please by all means do contact us , we will be only too pleased to help you .
Regards Claire Donovan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xjokx
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect weekend”
Reviewed December 7, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A large group of family all gathered at Houghton Lodge for an early christmas celebration. Everyone instantly felt at home, there was plenty of space for everyone and kids never got bored. The owners had set up a beautiful Christmas Tree and laid the table all ready for our festive feast.
The area was beautiful and many of the group enjoyed some lovely walks. Garden was enclosed to keep children and dogs safe. Plenty of toilets and showers so no one had to wait. Very comfortable, very cosy and we cant wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2016
Thank You Jo
For that lovely review .
We are so glad you all had a nice time .
It will be a Pleasure to look after you all again.
Merry Christmas xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy J
Thurnham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed November 21, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Fantastic house! Clean, well equipped, warm and cosy. Perfect for a family celebration or group of friends. The owners are lovely and put a great amount of effort into ensuring that guests feel welcome. I would love to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2016
Thank You
Joy for taking the time to write your review .
Your Group were a Pleasure to serve .
We would more than Welcome you all back to stay with us x
Lucy and Matt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 10, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the place
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2016
Thank You So much To all of you for being such lovely Guests.
Glad you found the beds comfy.
Look forward to having you all to stay again.
Regards lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Borislava...
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed October 10, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have just got home from a wonderful Girlie Break at Houghton Lodge .
We were quite a Demanding party of Girls and Lucy and Matt were absolutely Brilliant and catered to our every need .
Nothing was too much trouble .
The House was spotless , as was the Pool and Hot-Tub .
The Area was Perfect for Pubs and long Walks .
And we had a Wonderful Pamper Day With the lovely Beauty Therapists .
Thank You Lucy and Matt for a Well needed Break .
See you next year xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2016
Hello Ladies
How lovely of you all x
You were no Trouble at all , it was a Pleasure to look after you .
Look forward to your next visit .
Lucy and Matt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing