We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Setting, Fabulous House, Just A Perfect...”

Review of Houghton Lodge

Swimming Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming Pool
Houghton Lodge position 
and Back Garden Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Swimming Pool
Houghton Lodge position 
and Back Garden
Lounge
Snugly after a Long cold walkies!
Candle lit evenings
Dining and open plan Kitchen
Kitchen overlooking the Garden
Kitchen
Back garden 
There is also a half acre field for the use of guests just to the right
Games Room
Houghton Lodge right of image
Bedroom 4 (en-suite)
Aqua Room 
sleeps 2
Bedroom 3 
library room 
Sleeps 2
Bedroom 5 
Little lilac room 
Sleeps 2 
Double/Twin
Bedroom 2
. The Red Room  Sleeps 2-3 with extra single , plus  bed can also become super kingsize .
Lounge
Bedroom 1 (First Floor)
en-suite
Sleeping 2-4 
On extra sofa bed , suitable for 2 children or 1 adul
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bournemouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
daisydoo1...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Setting, Fabulous House, Just A Perfect Place To Stay.”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is my second stay here, my first visit was with a large group of friends and we stayed at Down View Farm, we wanted to come back as we so enjoyed the first time but just with a couple of friends and a little bit more calmer.
The lodge is simply beautiful, clean, and homely. We just love the village as well and surrounding areas. I have no hesitation in recommending this place and the owners are so lovely and helpful, everything again was perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2016
Thank You
So much Daisy for taking the time to write your review .
We do appreciate your kind comments .
it makes it all worthwhile .
You were a lovely group of people again the second time.
Please do come and let us look after you again.
Regards Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicisshop...
Southampton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't bother to stay here!”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed as a family in Feb 2016 for my father's 80th birthday, so it was a big celebratory trip for us. The location is picturesque but that is pretty much the only thing going for this place. By the way this is not anywhere near Bournemouth, it's about 30 miles away from there.

Our visit was riddled with problems (broken shower (only gave out cold water), curtain tie backs missing, temperamental tumble drier to name a few). Wifi was laughable - because they are too tight to pay for 2 routers as it was situated in the roof of the sister house next door. Yes,'we were those people who waved our phones in the air by the kitchen door & it still didn't work!

But the main problem was the heating broke down - pretty critical during February & having 2 OAPs & 2 children as part of our group. In total we were without heating in various forms for 6 days (out of a 7 day stay). & were not offered any alternative form of heating eg plug in heaters, until WE asked for it after 4 days. And it was cold. & other than having a wood burner to keep us warm in the living room, bedrooms were freezing. We were (reluctantly) offered an extra load of logs for free, however after that we were pretty much left to fend for ourselves, including being advised on how to start the boiler, which when the engineer turned up he promptly got an electric shock from.

For the considerable amount of money paid for our stay the customer service we received is WAY below par (& has got considerably worse since we left - the email's we have received from Lucy were shocking).

The reason that it has taken us so long to post this review is that we have been waiting for the promised compensation that was offered to us the day we left. Not surprisingly, this compensation has never materialised, despite numerous enquiries, & quite frankly I think we hold out more hope of hell freezing over.

So please take our cautionary tale as advice, save yourself the hassle, & expense, & choose somewhere to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2016
Please see Response above Same Party
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susan R
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spoilt holiday, boiler problems all week. Owners rude and unhelpful”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

BEWARE ,we have been patient in allowing Lucy and Matt, the managers 6 months to do the decent thing and compensate us for the spoilt weeks holiday we spent at Houghton lodge in February 2016 during one of the coldest weeks of the winter, which fell far short of expectations. We were a varied party of 10 adults and 2 children, among the adults were 2 seniors, and an epileptic(3 groups of people susceptible to cold). The place was rustic, a bit dusty but with great potential. From day 1 until day 6 the boiler packed up! A log fire was our only form of heating. 3 of the 5 bedrooms received no heat at all! They were freezing, with single glazed poorly fitting windows. After 4 days we asked for some heaters, 2 heaters came !! Apparently Lucy and Matt obtained these from friends! One couple, which included the epileptic adult left early due to the cold. The week was to be a memorable holiday to celebrate an 80th birthday, it was certainly memorable. Matt showed us how to try and override the boiler problem and restart it, but it never worked for long and after a second visit from the boiler man we were told not to touch it as he had a shock from it!!!!! 1 en suite shower never worked all week. A complaint I note that has been mentioned on many previous posts!! At the end of the week we were told we were lovely guests and some compensation would be coming our way for our discomfort and spoilt holiday. After 6+ weeks, nothing was forthcoming. On making enquiries , Lucy became evasive, threatening, rude and finally went off on a gobsmacking rant and to date we have not received one penny in compensation! Sadly Lucy appears to be totally devoid any personal handling skills. We will not be going there again, nor recommending it.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2016
During your stay with us i am sorry to say , the Boiler broke down .
The company was contacted straight away .
They were fully booked , but agreed under the circumstances to come out and fix it.
Meanwhile Matt came to see you everyday to make sure everyone was warm and you had enough logs ect .
There was no mention at all about the shower during your stay ?
This is a surprise to us even now ?
Matt every Day re-started the Boiler for you .
he got no Electric shock ?
We have spoken to the Boiler Company They know Nothing about their technician getting a shock ? there is nothing at all about that on the report we received ?
The technician came out repaired the boiler , it was in working order , we were there at 5 pm when he finished the Job.
at 11pm at night we received a call from yourselves , telling us there was no heating ??
We rallied round all our friends and got you all some electric heaters .
When we entered the property it was Steaming HOT !
WE put the heaters in the rooms for you .
First thing in the morning the company was called and they promised to come out again that day !!
You called a 10pm to say they had not been ?
we contacted them yet again and meanwhile matt once again brought extra logs ect.
We also made a booking at the local Pub for you all to have dinner .
You refused this ?
We cancelled the reservation.
The boiler man eventually turned up . We could not apologise enough to you all . For their negligence , we are in a very Rural area and these firms are few and far between here. We are at their mercy.
A Bird had flown into the Boiler after it had been repaired!!!
This was then repaired again.
On your Return home
There were a series of Threats unless we gave you monetary compensation , you were going to the Papers, Television,Trip advisor and the Radio?
This is also called Blackmail .
We offered to buy you all a Meal , we offered you compensation But you wanted more , and more threats ensued .
You have your Trip advisor write up .


r
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debsians
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Could do with a good clean and fixing of appliances”
Reviewed May 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Last weekend 8 girls stayed at Houghton Lodge. On initial inspection, the lodge looked lovely. However, on closer inspection, we did find a few things that made us realise we would not visit again. The lodge looked like it had not been cleaned properly. Bath mats were very grubby, and linen on one bed was marked with what looked like old blood stains. Lucky enough this was on the valance and not on the sheets we actually slept on!! The dish washer did not work properly and we could only use the top shelf of the oven which isn't ideal when there are 8 of you!! There are 4 ensuite/bathrooms, one shower did not work and another one was semi blocked so it overflowed!!! When we did complain to the manager/owner, she was very rude on the phone. So no I won't be recommending this place to anybody. The review from 2 Oct 14, seems to be close to the complaints that we found, however when on the phone to Manager, she said she had never heard of any of the issues being noted before, however she only had to look at Trip Advisor, hopefully these issues where addressed after the 2014 statement and the showers etc have broken again. I would hate to think that they had never been addressed since then. Lucky enough it didn't spoil our weekend. We normally go to Centre Parcs for our girlie weekends, but thought we would have a change, but next year it's back to Centre Parcs!!
Also you can only get wifi in the garden

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2016
We have been expecting this .
Trip Advisor is a Very Unfair Tool Perfect for Complainers .
The Guests in this case Who appear to be very clean conscious , left The Property and most importantly our Hot - Tub Absolutely filthy .
There was no mention of any problems to ourselves until the Sunday evening at 9pm .
The call lasted an hour !!
We need to know as soon as guests arrive if things are Not Working and we can deal with it straight away .
I was Not Rude to our Guest , I had to disagree with several matters.
As they were just terribly Wrong and untrue .
The cooker is perfectly working .
Showers on Inspection were fine ?
There was no Blood on the Vallance ?
We did find it stained on inspection .but it was NOT like that on your arrival .
Your call was about the return of your damage deposit which on the booking form states 10 -14 days .
We at your request refunded it 2 days later .
You should have been charged for the Filthy Hot -Tub and Filthy State of the House .
We have nothing more to say .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsBrake
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful find”
Reviewed April 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Myself and a group of 10 other ladies travelled here for our friends hen weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in what is a truly beautiful house. It has everything you might need, including a pool, hot tub and sauna. Without a doubt we would all return, and have discussed making this a yearly trip. The house is in the centre of a small village, there are shops in the nearby Blandford for everything extra you may need. You won't be disappointed.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2016
Thank You
It was a pleasure to have you all to stay .
And it will be lovely to have you all return .
Regards Lucy and Matt x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thorpecla...
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Theatre retreat”
Reviewed March 31, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

myself and 9 female friends and colleagues work in the stressful environment of the NHS operating theatres and we needed a post Christmas wind down and relax weekend. This was perfect. Just what rthe Dr. ordered. Set in beautiful countryside in a quiet location. We had a fantastic weekend enjoying the pool and hot tub, dispite the awful weather, We were upgraded to the farmhouse next door, Downside farm. We had tea and cakes awaiting us when we arrived and everyone was so friendly. Beautifully decorated and full of character. I can't wait to go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open fire, hot tub warm indoor pool with soft lighting
Liked least: having to wrestle with the heavy hot tub cover in a storm, in your wet swimsuit!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2016
Ladies it was our pleasure to give something back to you X
For all your hard work and dedication .
Where would we all be xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob15440
Devon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place for a group retreat!!”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed here for a weekend as part of a group of 11 in August 2015. This place was exactly what we were looking for (which is hard to find for a large group). The house was very clean and had all the mod cons. The facilities were great and we found that having the pool, hot tub and pool table etc we could keep ourselves entertained for the weekend without even having to leave the house. If I had one criticism it would be the lack of WIFI, however this wouldn't stop me coming back here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub and pool table
Liked least: No Wifi
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 20, 2016
Hello Rob
Thank You for such a Lovely review .
Wi-Fi is an absolute nightmare here, even infinity doe'snt work .
We are so sorry .
maybe keep us as a quiet retreat .
hope to see you again .
Regards lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing