We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, missing a sparkle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booked to stay with my partner, unfortunately we had to change the date due to a car crash, the booking lady was very kind and helpful about this and was happy to hold the booking until we could find a suitable date. The room was small but cute and had a lovely huge window looking out to the sea. I didn't use the bar or restaurant in the evening, but as i walked through the staff were friendly. Check in was abit slow, they didn't seem sure of what they were doing. There was meant to be a bottle of wine on arrival, unfortunately this wasn't the case, i did call reception for this, however, it never turned up. I then asked for it on departure in the morning and she brought it to me in a cooler with 2 wine glasses! I would return as it is a beautiful hotel, just needs some fine tuning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reddy2524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 821 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Having read the reviews before booking, we requested a room on the 2nd floor. On arrival, they acknowledged our request but unfortunately did not have a room on the 2nd floor available - they did however say that we'd been upgraded to a sea view patio room. As it was a bank holiday weekend we appreciated this effort and we were only there for 1 night.
Friendly, efficient staff made the check in and stay really pleasant.
The location was excellent with wonderful sea views.
Loved the funky décor in the reception, bar and restaurant. The room however was disappointing, it was very small and cramped as was the bathroom and the toilet seat was broken. They thanked us for reporting this on checkout and said they'd have it fixed but I was surprised that the cleaner had not picked this up before we arrived.
I can understand why others recommended a room on the second floor as you could hear the people in the room above who came in at 2am in the morning and were up at 7am.
Breakfast was average - thought 9.30am was a little early to finish on a bank holiday.
Pleasant enough stay and would go again if we could be guaranteed of a bigger room on the 2nd floor.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a 2nd floor, sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We came to the beautiful cottonwood boutique and had a fabulas 2 coures meal. The staff was amazing and they made it a speacial evening for me and my family and friends! Thank you for outstaning hospatiltyx joyx

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joycox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I called in for dinner last Saturday without having pre-booked and having had our earlier plans cancelled. What a revelation!! The food and drink (especially the Long Island Iced Tea!!) were excellent - definitely value for money - but what made the evening memorable was the service, in particular that provided by Gemma, our waitress for the evening.
She was pleasant, totally accommodating, completely engaging and thoroughly efficient. It was, indeed, a rare pleasure to be served by someone who so clearly enjoys what she does but is also exceptionally good at the same time.
Our thanks and appreciation to all the staff at the Cottonwood - but specific thanks to Gemma for ensuring we had a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank anthonyp328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed over the long weekend and overall hotel was nice with lovely sea view.
Room had curtains which were too short. Waited an hour for maintenance to add extra curtains but issue must have been apparent before our arrival so I thought quite strange.
Internet/ wifi not working all weekend which was also disappointing.
Could hear people walking in room above and the door closing outside room was also loud. A refurbishment to improve the acoustics is overdue.
Based on price of room was disappointed with stay. Would not stay again.

Room Tip: Acoustics poor, consider this based on room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi_dan_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

My family (11 of us) stayed here for the bank holiday weekend and can honestly say that the staff couldnt do enough for you. We had 2 little ones in the party and the staff were amazin with them at dinner. From matej makin napkin animal's to the changin of food choices for them. :). Even lego at breakfast. Our room was cleaned everyday and presentation of food was very creative. Gr8 location overlookin the sea and even thinking of bookin next aug. All in all a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninoaddio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for just one night mid August. Found the decor in the main parts of the hotel lovely - if you're not a fan of pink you'd probably disagree though! The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel is great. Breakfast was super. The room is the reason for my average rating. We stayed ground floor and whilst it was a spacious and clean room, it was definitely not in keeping decor-wise with the rest of the hotel. I'd even say it was quite drab and dark. Also, the shower was not fixed to the wall so you had to hold it the whole time and there was no screen so the water went everywhere despite my best efforts. On the whole I'd say it's a decent enough hotel but I was quite disappointed with the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leop79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#29 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 67 in Bournemouth
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $57 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent panoramic views across the bay, the chic and recently refurbished Cottonwood Boutique Hotel has a superb cliff-top location. It offers a sun terrace, and an on-site restaurant serving locally sourced fresh ingredients. Free parking is available on site and free Wi-Fi is available throughout. The boutique hotel has 28 stylish rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, a TV and a hairdryer. Many rooms overlook the bay, and all have a private modern bathroom. The stylish Bar Vista, with its sunny terrace and garden, provides contemporary brasserie food all day. The Garden Restaurant offers refined and elegant dining using local, fresh ingredients from one of Dorset's leading chefs. Guests can enjoy a range of beauty treatments in the on site beauty parlour Beauty Essence, as well as live entertainment in the Bar Vista. The Cottonwood Boutique is located a 15-minute walk from the centre of Bournemouth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing