We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing. Not as described when booking.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing. Not as described when booking.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We booked for a single Saturday night as needed to be walking distance to the O2 Academy. Externally and on arrival, it all looks rather depressing in the daylight, although reception was helpful and cheerful and decor in the bar and reception area is cheerful but all rather cheap. Bar service was poor and although a lovely view to the sea, the rooms were disappointing. The in-room guest information states 'already regarded as the latest word in chic, contemporary decadence' probably 3 descriptive words that I would not apply to the Cottonwood. I understand what they were trying for - but have missed it by miles. Breakfast was well presented with a nice selection of fresh fruit. All in all it is a cheap wedding venue party hotel - I now understand why we had to pay upfront when we checked in (a first) and why the bar staff were a bit rude when we wanted to put the drinks tab on our bill... I guess they have loads of people leaving without paying?

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view - it will take your mind off the filthy carpets
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allotmentbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    247
    138
    59
    40
See reviews for
124
359
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights at the same time as the Canadian guest and had a really different experience. The reception was warm and friendly and we were upgraded to a room with a sea view at no extra cost. The rooms were decorated with beautifully bright wallpaper, just the thing for a November stay! We found the staff polite and would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had an upgrade at no extra cost just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diana g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Avoid this hotel at all costs. It has the worst level of customer service of any hotel I have ever stayed at anywhere in the Western world!

The all Eastern European staff were lazy and could not deal with my noise problems emanating form the nearby Bay view Breeze Accommodation next door. It took 48 hours for a "manager" to do anything for me.

Terribly rude and impolite staff who felt as though they were doing you a favor by responding to your phone calls and requests to keep the noise levels down.

Rooms are tired (1960-1970) and dated and the sound proofing non-existent. The pictures on the web site are much better than the reality of the place.

Nothing positive to say about this hotel and the entire place other than to say it was like being in prison !!!

Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OttawaTravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I was a bit nervous after seeing the reviews on here by some people especially about the water pressure! I stayed for 3 nights in a single room, But due to the fact that my room was right next to the generator I asked to move the next day and they happily obliged and put me in a double at no extra charge. The Garden restaurant is superb and I definitely recommend going half board. As for the water pressure issues, the first room I stayed in had a fantastic shower , the second room had a bath and overhead shower, I don't understand what people are complaining about. It is an old building but there is still enough water pressure to enjoy a decent bath or shower in my opinion. Staff were very nice.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the building are near the generator. It is on until about 10 pm and on again at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have just returned after spending 2 nights at this charming sea front hotel..it was my daughters birthday and on arrival we were allocated a beautiful sea view twin room..it was on the 2nd floor no 33..tea/coffee facilities..flat screen tv..bathroom was small but clean and modern ..we would have liked an electric shower..the water took a long time to get through but was hot and plentifull..the breakfast was excellent continental or full english from the menu..the evening set 3 course meal was superb.. we upgraded to a bottle of wine for £8..we enjoyed a fabulous cream tea in the bar overlooking the sea ..the hotel has plenty of car space and is walking distance to the town centre along the sea front..or a taxi was £4..the staff were exceptional..from the receptionist..restaurant staff..bar and cleaning..they were polite..friendly and the attention to detail was impressive..a credit to the management ..overall.. i would recommend the cottonwood boutique hotel..it has a quirky charm of its own and is more than worthy of its 3 stars...

Room Tip: high floor.. sea view ..rooms near the stairs and lift can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daytime_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

very pleasant hotel,staff were invisible until i needed them ,room was very nice, breakfast was awesome and the evening meal deal £14.95 for 3 courses with a glass of house wine was superb,only a 20 min walk to pier and town centre, looking forward to next years visit .

Room Tip: old building so some floorboards are creaky,top floor sea view is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was our first stay at this hotel on arrival staff was helpful and showed us to our room we stayed at the hotel with another couple and booked two double rooms together when we arrived we thought we would be put in the same sort of room and same place but how wrong was we we had a nice room newly refurbished at the front with a sea view but the bath that was tiny and was unable to have a relaxing wash in and not a proper shower to compensate then the other couples room was at the other end of the hotel and was cold and decorated in the 70's not nice and wasn't a double it was a family room with three beds other than this let down overall good stay just shame about the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackc1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#38 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Property: The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent panoramic views across the bay, the chic and recently refurbished Cottonwood Boutique Hotel has a superb cliff-top location. It offers a sun terrace, and an on-site restaurant serving locally sourced fresh ingredients. Free parking is available on site and free Wi-Fi is available throughout. The boutique hotel has 28 stylish rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, a TV and a hairdryer. Many rooms overlook the bay, and all have a private modern bathroom. The stylish Bar Vista, with its sunny terrace and garden, provides contemporary brasserie food all day. The Garden Restaurant offers refined and elegant dining using local, fresh ingredients from one of Dorset's leading chefs. Guests can enjoy a range of beauty treatments in the on site beauty parlour Beauty Essence, as well as live entertainment in the Bar Vista. The Cottonwood Boutique is located a 15-minute walk from the centre of Bournemouth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing