We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd stay at this fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westcotes House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westcotes House
Ranked #26 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2nd stay at this fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

The hotel is run by some charming young gentleman who couldn't do enough for us grey haired ladies :o). It was our second stay this year and we look forward to more visits next year. The decor is very modern, stylish and fresh and the themed coloured rooms are tastefully kitted out. The views are stunning and it's a perfect friendly homely hotel and I would recommend this hotel on the clifftop to anybody. Thanks for a great break boys, Carol and Pat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
53
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I spent a week at Westcotes House, and found it superb in every respect.

I stayed in the Pantone grey room, with magnificent views out over the bay, and all the small things - which make the big difference - were there. Ross and Graham were flexible over my need to have an early breakfast each day; they helped me out with some emergency washing; and there was obvious style and elegance in the room and throughout the house.

I look forward to my next trip to the area, and recommend Westcotes House utterly.

Room Tip: My room, overlooking the bay, was excellent: Pantone Grey
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Thanks once again to Ross, David and Graham. LOVE your scrambled eggs so much!! The modern décor still makes Westcotes the best place to stay in Bournemouth. Will definitely be back with our new dog in the summer for walks along that sandy beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Breakfast was gorgeous and the service first class. The location is stunning with great views both to Poole and the Isle of Wight. Even though there is no evening meal, there are loads of good places to eat withing easy walking distance. The atmosphere in the Hotel is relaxed and the decor is stunning,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahJane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at this B and B.

Westcotes House is situated in the very pleasant area of Southbourne which is around 3 miles from Bournemouth. This is a much more laid back area compared tho the hustle and bustle of Bournemouth. The area attracts families and older holiday makers.

Westcotes House is ideally sitatuted on Southbourne Overcliffe Drive and has excellent sea views from the rooms that face seaward. We had room number 1 which had an excellent view as did room 2 that we also looked at.

The guys who run this place are a class act and it was really was a home away from home. We were made really welcome and nothing was too much trouble including advice on where to eat. Our room was clean and very comfortable and we slept well on the two nights we stayed.

The premises are decorated to a high standard with a modern clean feel and very tasteful. The honesty bar is a nice touch and unexpected in a small establishment.

Breakfast was not the typical full English but rather a selection of other offerings and I would recommend the scrambled eggs which were excellent.

Suffice to say we have already advised our dates for next year and can't wait to return.

Thank you guys for memorable stay the memories of which will keep us going through the Winter months and see you again next year.

Room Tip: Request a sea view room, there are only two so book early if you intend to visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I stumbled across this B&B whilst looking for a weekend break. Where to begin? From the moment we booked, every care was taken by the hosts to ensure our stay was all we hoped for, from the benefit if their wisdom and knowledge of local restaurants, to little extras in our beautifully created room. This did not feel like staying at a B&B, but staying in a much loved & cared for home, We met two of the hosts, who are such genuine lovely, down to earth people. Such a homely relaxed breakfast experience with food made to order ( delicious by the way) unlike many other regimented experiences I've encountered in the past.
I would definitely recommend Westcotes House the attention to detail, honesty bar, fantastic location, right on the seafront, Wi-Fi, are all well & good, but ultimately it's the people that made our stay a memorable one, because of their passion and want, to make us feel at home. Thank you Ross, Graham & David. We very much look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wishes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nick776
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Westcotes House during the Bournemouth Air Show after getting they had a cancellation.

Once we arrived we relieved a warm welcome and were shown our room just off the main hall way downstairs. The room was immaculately clean and well equipped. Being in a ground floor room off the main reception area there was some noise in the morning but nothing serious and we were prepared to hear people walking past. The breakfast was well organised with eat as much as you like fruit, cereal, yougart and fruit juice. The bacon sandwich went down well on both mornings.

Overall very impressed and will happily book again. Thanks for an enjoyable weekend Westcotes!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nick776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Beach Lodge Guest House
Beach Lodge Guest House
#2 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexander Lodge
Alexander Lodge
#13 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southern Breeze Lodge
Southern Breeze Lodge
#6 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mory House
Mory House
#3 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#39 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#25 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcotes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcotes House

Property: Westcotes House
Address: 9 Southbourne Overcliff Drive | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character guest house on the sea front in Southbourne, Bournemouth. On the Overcliff near Fishermans Walk and next to Grand Avenue. We have 6 en-suite rooms, 3 with stunning sea views across Bournemouth Bay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing