We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly... yet so proffessional with a great location!”
Review of Westcotes House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westcotes House
Ranked #26 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This lovely little guest house has it all. Superb sea front position with amazing views from our bedroom (room no.1). Ross, David, Graham and team are committed to the requirements of their guests and go that extra mile to ensure a most delightful stay.
Ross has amazing skills when it comes to cooking perfect scrambled eggs and yummy bacon sandwiches.
The location is convenient for restaurants and pubs within a very short walk and has easy access across the road to the superb sandy beach.
A great base for any activity in the area with tasteful and well thought out decor.
These guys are a real class act-we will be back.

Room Tip: A sea view room will cost a little more but it is well worth it. The vistas are fantastic.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daphne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Daphne, thank you so much for your lovely review. Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed the breakfast as well as the sea view from your room.
Hope to see you both again soon.
Ross, David and Graham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Westcotes House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 148 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

Absolutely LOVED staying at Westcotes house b&b this past weekend
Graham,David & Ross are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble
Fabulous breakfast!
If you want a gorgeous view , then I would recommend room 2
Brilliant location away from the crowds and a beautiful blue flag beach a minute away.
We will definitely be returning this summer...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smithhumbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Sue & Graham,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The 180º view of the sea (from the Purbecks to the Isle of Wight) from the dual aspect windows in room 2 is one of the best. We are delighted that you have reserved this room as well as our other sea view room for the 2014 airshow. Both these rooms provide great views, you won't even need to go outside to watch! We hope you will come and visit us again before then.
Best wishes,
Graham, David & Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A really warm welcome when we stayed here a few weeks back (sorry to be so late writing our review), lovely owners, lovely room (a tad on the small side but to be honest in such a lovely setting, right on the sea front, and dog friendly, who cares if it's a bit on the small side?!) Great breakfast, beautiful communal areas - we wished we were staying longer than just 1 night! Also great value. 10 out of 10. thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We love having guests bring their special pooches with them :-) and stay with us in our dog friendly room. Not many guest houses welcome dogs, so we are glad you found us. Really hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes,
Ross, Graham & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is my second visit to Westcotes House and I cannot wait to go back! The hosts are incredible, the rooms and facilities impeccable and the breakfast is to die for, especially the scrambles eggs and smoked salmon. Made to feel very welcome and treated as part of the family opposed to a guest. The self-serve bar feature is particularly unique and another welcoming, friendly touch. Perfect location, right on the beach with cafes/ restaurants and bars all within walking distance. Highly recommend this B&B in summer or winter, you must try it if you are ever in the area.

Room Tip: The 2 sea view rooms have panoramic views of the sea but all of the bedrooms are wonderfully light a...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Nicola,
Thank you so much for your review, it makes all the difference to know our guests are having a good time. Glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, from the breakfast to the location of the guest house right on the cliff top of the sea front.
Hope to see you again,
Ross, David & Graham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Staff was extremely welcoming, thoughtful, helpful and warm.
Breakfast was a real treat -- with lots of choices and any personalized preferences readily taken into account.
Deck area was wonderful, especially with the unusual sunny weather that we enjoyed during my stay!!
Thanks Ross and Graham for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adriana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Adriana,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is so motivating to hear that we are getting things right for our guests. We loved having you to stay and hope you had a safe trip home. Please return again really soon. Will try and reserve good weather for you again!
Best Wishes,
Ross, Graham & David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here for three nights with my sister and mother. We found Westcotes House an excellent and comfortable place to stay. A warm welcome from Graham, David and Ross set the bar high. The breakfast quality and choice was the best I have tasted at a B & B, and far better than many hotels. I would recommend this place to anyone and off road parking makes it easy to use and handy to visit local attractions

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Sarah,
Thank you for the great review. We are so pleased you and your mother & sister enjoyed yourselves and the facilities we have to offer, here on the cliff top, on the sea front. Off-road parking for each of our guest rooms makes life much easier for visitors especially given our location right by the beach.
Hope to see you all again.
Best wishes,
Graham, David & Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Having stayed for three nights at Westcotes House, I would recommend it to anyone heading to Bournemouth. The location is amazing as it's really rare to find a Bed and Breakfast establishment directly on the seafront in this area and it is wonderful to look out from the hotel and have nothing but sea and the coast stretching for miles. In fact in our room, you could lay in bed and look out across the sea!
This place is so beautifully (and stylishly) put together that it feels like a boutique hotel and the attention to detail and little touches that make all the difference are a credit to the owners.
The guys who run the place are attentive and there whenever you need them but never too obtrusive so that when you sit in the lounge or enjoy the great breakfast you feel like you a at home and can really relax.
Having a well stocked bar area and being able to help yourself to a nightcap after a busy day was lovely.
Our room was delightful and had everything we needed for a really wonderful weekend.
We'll be back!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms with the sea view are amazing - or if you want to take along your dog, there's a room for...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Hi guys, thanks so much for your great review. Glad you had a good time and enjoyed the guest house and our location here on the sea front. The views really do make a difference to visitors, even if the weather isn't great. We look forward to seeing you again :-)
Best wishes,
David, Graham & Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bournemouth
0.2 mi away
Alexander Lodge
Alexander Lodge
#19 of 133 in Bournemouth
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Breeze Lodge
Southern Breeze Lodge
#9 of 133 in Bournemouth
346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#10 of 133 in Bournemouth
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cherry Tree House
Cherry Tree House
#1 of 1 in Southbourne
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#15 of 133 in Bournemouth
71 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Rosscourt
The Rosscourt
#5 of 133 in Bournemouth
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcotes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcotes House

Address: 9 Southbourne Overcliff Drive | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $94 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character guest house on the sea front in Southbourne, Bournemouth. On the Overcliff near Fishermans Walk and next to Grand Avenue. We have 6 en-suite rooms, 3 with stunning sea views across Bournemouth Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Westcotes House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing