We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bournemouth Beauty”
Review of Westcotes House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westcotes House
Ranked #29 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed here last summer for 2 nights with my then boyfriend, we had such a fantastic stay, Ross and the guys are so so sweet, and incredibly helpful. You can tell they love what they do and it shows in every aspect of the house. I would absolutely recommend this delightful place to anyone. The morning view over the sea is spectacular and the Bacon sandwiches are to die for!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dreamcometrue21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review from your stay last year and we really hope you'll come back and see us again this year. Thanks also for your comments on the view - it is a great view to wake up to and we are really lucky to be right here on the clifftop. Glad you liked the bacon sarnies - there's plenty more here when you are next in the area :-) All the best, Ross, Graham, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 150 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Only stayed for one night but really enjoyed our stay at Westcotes House
Ross and Graham were very helpful and friendly.
The house is decorated to a high standard and the breakfast was excellent. Near to beach with off-road parking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you for leaving us such a nice review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll be able to stay longer next time. Being right on the seafront does make a difference; we're probably the only remaining guest house in Southbourne with direct sea views. Fortunately we've got enough parking here for all our rooms which does make it a bit easier as it can be pretty busy trying to park here in the busy summer months! Thanks again for the review and really hope to see you again. Ross, Graham, David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have just arrived back home after a very pleasant stay at Westcotes. The hosts were really welcoming and friendly. House is stunning, beautiful decoration, very clean. We were in room 4, or the red room. Comfy double bed, shower room, TV and tea, coffee and water.
Very close to the beach, opposite the house and then down the path. We walked into Bournemouth which is a couple of miles, but perfect on a lovely day.
Breakfast was lovely, Ross was very attentive and good selection of hot or cereal and fresh fruit.
We def recommend and will certainly stay again when in the area!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Huntsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. It really makes a difference knowing that our guests have had a good stay. Thanks also for your nice comments on the style of the house; we've tried to make it friendly and welcoming. Being right on the seafront makes life very convenient when using the beach or the promenade to walk into Bournemouth or beyond and we're pleased you had a good time. Hope you come back again soon, Ross, Graham, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a very successful stay at Westcotes House last year and therefore did not hesitate to book again this year. We were lucky enough to have Room 2 with its gorgeous views and bay window. And everything was just as we remembered from last year - friendly and welcoming hosts (thanks Ross and Graham), lovely breakfasts (and a pretty, light-filled breakfast room), superbly comfortable rooms (and beds) and all in all an outstanding experience. The house is spotlessly clean, welcoming, beautifully furnished and so well situated, with easy access to the beach. There is a great bar/lounge area where you can enjoy a drink and sea views and also an outside terrace, ideal for a sunny day. Next time we will definitely book for longer as we certainly did not want to leave after just 2 nights.

Room Tip: Room 2 has brilliant sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Prius_Peregrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you so much for leaving us a review again this year. It was great to see you return to us and we're really pleased that you had a good time. Hope that you will come back to Westcotes House again soon. Best wishes, Ross, Graham, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed one night at Westcotes house and despite the driving rain had a fantastic time! The house is in a great location, a stones throw from the beach, and on the inside is both very well kept and very homey. With all the amenities you could ask for, an absolutely fantastic breakfast and the most welcoming owners we have ever encountered it can't be beat. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank geo0117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamdpatterson, Manager at Westcotes House, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thanks for the lovely review....and next time let's hope for better weather! Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we'd love to welcome you back again when you are in the area. We're so lucky to be right here on the cliff top seafront and we're glad you found it convenient for everything. All the best, Ross, Graham, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Me and a friend stayed here in February, but only just got around to writing a review.
My friend was running behind and I was greeted by Ross who welcomed me in to the guesthouse and showed me to our room (room 5) which was clean, well presented and very comfortable. While waiting for my friend to arrive, Ross chatted to me about the guesthouse, places to visit and eat, and things to do in the evening. It was nearly 10.00pm by the time my friend arrived and the two of us went to the bar to get a drink. We were served by David, who again was very friendly and helpful. Me, my friend, David and Ross sat in the bar area and chatted for over an hour. The bar is a small room, but very quaint and like the rest of the house, very clean and well presented. There was a nice selection of wines and spirits to choose from too.
The Breakfast room is well lit, and yet again well presented; the food was good and was served promptly. There is a nice selection of breakfast options including cereal, and my favourite, bacon sandwiches which set us up for the day ahead.
We stayed for 2 nights, slept well both nights. The beds were comfortable and soft. The showers were hot and very refreshing in the morning. The whole house has a traditional yet modern feel to it. We were made to feel very welcome and found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. If were in the area again we will be booking in to Westcotes House.

Room Tip: The front facing room has an amazing sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Richard84_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here with my wife for 2 nights and was made to feel welcome from the word go by Ross who could not do enough to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The views from room 2 were amazing. The place was spotlessly clean and the food was great.
We will defiantly be returning to see if it is as amazing to visit in the summer as it was the spring.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bognorchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#2 of 131 in Bournemouth
428 reviews
2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,691 reviews
2.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
3 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcotes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcotes House

Address: 9 Southbourne Overcliff Drive | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $50 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character guest house on the sea front in Southbourne, Bournemouth. On the Overcliff near Fishermans Walk and next to Grand Avenue. We have 6 en-suite rooms, 3 with stunning sea views across Bournemouth Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Westcotes House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing