We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gilbey's Restaurant

Gilbey's Restaurant
Ranked #85 of 729 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $44
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gilbey's Restaurant in Bournemouth is situated in the Liston Hotel which is two minutes from the Cliff Top Gardens in Boscombe Spa. The large open restaurant with polished oak floor and wall murals of Edwardian days on the pier compliments the cosy bar and entrance hall with original features dating back to the turn of the century. Our food is modern English/French with some influences from the rest of the World. The large open restaurant with polished oak floor and wall murals of Edwardian days on the pier compliments the cosy bar and entrance hall with original features dating back to the turn of the century. Our food is modern English with some influences from the rest of the World.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Visited on a Friday night the place was packed. Our food was delicious, large portions and very tasty. Great service, will definetly return soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunshine7797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    39
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Exceptional Formal Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I ate here recently. This restaurant was nearby our hotel so we thought we would give it a try based on the reviews.

The restaurant is situated inside a hotel but this is no ordinary hotel food. On entering, it took us a couple of minutes to be greeted but after that the service was excellent. The food was delicious, very well presented and served with a smile.

It was a quiet night so the atmosphere was a little flat but that can happen anywhere

Whilst I would consider this to be more of a formal dining experience it is well worth a visit and rightly deserves to high up the list.

P.S. If you like Dido and Boyzone, this is a must as they only seem to have 2 cd’s on all night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shady Side, MD
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Gibley's is in the Liston Hotel and does not open until 7 pm. Before then the door is locked as it was when we arrived at 6. We rang the bell and they gave us a reservation for 7. The food, service and atmosphere were all excellent, and at £30 for two courses, a great value. I wish we would have had room to add in the dessert. They also have a Friday lunch offer of £12 for two courses or £15 for three courses. I also wish that we didn't live on the other side of the pond.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shelllady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Close to Michelin quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

My mother kindly booked a table for the family in celebration of me turning ... 22 again ;-) . The food was fantastic. The presentation was faultless and the flavours were delicious. Our family, not ashamed to share, all thought each others dishes were very tastey. In particular the trio of meat was extremely satisfying. My boyfriend and I have aquired a taste for michelin dinning ( although our wallets don't always appreciate it) so we were pleased to enjoy similar quality at a reasonable price. The only negative .... And it's a small one... Was the dated look and feel of the hotel but that realy shouldn't distract from the good service and the quality of food. My sister in law also ordered a cocktail and found this to be rather strong. The waitress was more than happy to exchange. I personally wouldn't have minded ;-). We have booked again for Father's Day and look forward to trying out some other dishes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyndseysaxdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Possibly the best food in Bournemouth, well Boscombe actually.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Trusting the glowing Trip Advisor reviews we tried this restaurant to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed as this was the best meal we have in the Bournemouth area. The staff, especially our man Isaac, were spot on, helpful, efficient and cheerful.
The décor is unusual and harps back to the seaside in the arts & crafts era. Not everyone's taste but we thought appropriate.
The £30 for two course with canapés, amuse bouche (New Forest asparagus on pea purée) and home made breads thrown in represented very good value.
Plenty of choice in each course. We had lamb three ways(interesting and very tasty) and quail (boned and stuffed) each with attractively presented vegetables. Faultless. Wished I had room to test the desserts they looked equally as good.
We had a very enjoyable evening and now need an excuse to go again before too long.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank middlechiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilbey's Restaurant also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Gilbey's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing