We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gilbey's Restaurant

Gilbey's Restaurant
Ranked #85 of 729 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $44
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gilbey's Restaurant in Bournemouth is situated in the Liston Hotel which is two minutes from the Cliff Top Gardens in Boscombe Spa. The large open restaurant with polished oak floor and wall murals of Edwardian days on the pier compliments the cosy bar and entrance hall with original features dating back to the turn of the century. Our food is modern English/French with some influences from the rest of the World. The large open restaurant with polished oak floor and wall murals of Edwardian days on the pier compliments the cosy bar and entrance hall with original features dating back to the turn of the century. Our food is modern English with some influences from the rest of the World.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great value, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Having heard good things about this restaurant, we had the opportunity to eat there recently. Easy to reserve a table via email and a prompt response via email. It was nice to wait in the bar area and order the food; we were led to our table when the food was ready. Very good portions, and we finally did not need to order a dessert after having the starters and mains. Next time it will be the mains and dessert!
Service was really good and the chef came out to the tables at the end of the evening to get personal feedback. Excellent overall.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Xchfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    39
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

After a poor experience elsewhere in the area we decided to come to this charming restaurant to celebrate our anniversary in a proper and well run establishment. Simply put, well presented and cooked to perfection our starters, main courses and puddings were all divine. The wine list is superb too. I would like to thank all the attentive and delightful staff here for making our evening a glorious and sumptuous occasion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lougreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Found this place through TripAdvisor & it was well worth the visit. We booked in advance for a nice meal out.
The atmosphere was great, it was busy, vibrant & the staff were fantastic, couldn't do enough to help without being obtrusive.
The food was served to a high standard, presented well & full of flavour. The desserts were fantastic, again a nice selection & difficult to choose between.
We live locally & have recommended to friends, we will be visiting again soon!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 946steveh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Booked this restaurant after seeing the Tripadvisor ratings, and so glad we did. Its out of the way but worth the trip. From the excellent range of Gins in the bar to the superb food on the menu its a culinary delight. The starters were all delicious and set us up for the delightful main course - most of us chose the Trio of Meats, which whilst not a traditional option was succulent and flavoursome. The desserts were a particular highlight, with all options of the same high melt in your mouth standard. The wine selection was also excellent, and very good value. All in all a superb evening of dining and very pleased we did so.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Don't be put off by the outside. There is work going on at the Liston Hotel but this won't affect your enjoyment in the restaurant. The restaurant itself is bright with a nice atmosphere considering there are no windows. Staff are friendly and very attentive, nothing too much trouble. This is matched by the food which is high quality. Value is also exceptional. We had set lunch menu (Friday) 2 (£12) or 3 (£15) courses with 3 or 4 choices for each course. Restaurant was busy but service was efficient. Highly recommended, we will definitely be visiting again.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilbey's Restaurant also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Gilbey's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing