We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs polish!”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #54 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here a single night for a christmas party despite only living about 10 mins down the road! Thought it would be preferable to a taxi home.
Our first room wouldn't open so we were moved elsewhere. The central section of the hotel was very warm and the outer wings quite chilly. The room was a bit dated but comfortable.
The event that we attended was overall well presented. Food was average and wine a reasonable price. The downside with the food was that, having been notified of a dietary requirement (no dairy, pointed out to the waiter directly) they offered a cheese plate for dessert!!?!
Hotel itself was pretty quiet despite there being three large parties going on and the buffet breakfast was plentiful and well cooked.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dunk_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

Thank you for visiting us for a Christmas Party. I am pleased you enjoyed the event; nevertheless I am most disappointed that the restaurant team reacted poorly to your dietary requirements. This is unusual and contrary to the efficient service they normally offer.

I am pleased you enjoyed your breakfast which is a wise option after a busy night’s entertainment.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss any of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,109 - 1,115 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

Really enjoyed the hotel! Lovely staff, breakfast was good and it played a nice setting for my best friends wedding.

You can't really fault the hotel - has a good pool too but I couldn't use it due to being fake tanned up! But my dad said it was good!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

Thank you for your kind words that I have passed on to the team. It was a beautiful wedding, and I am delighted that you enjoyed it.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss any of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Would agree with an earlier contributor that, as we helped make up one of the three coach parties booked in over the New Year (4 days/3 nights), the Hotel was certainly stretched, Whilst this was apparent at times, we thought the staff coped quite well overall. We were on the first floor and though the room was nothing to write home about it was reasonable apart from some odd noises which were apt to disturb one at night time, plus the fact that the balcony door could not be locked and the bathroom could do with an update. however others in our party who were on the third and fourth floor seemed satisfied. With regard the entertainment on New Years Eve i.e an Elvis impersonator - who seemed to go down quite well - and a piper accompanied by a drummer, were also appreciated by most, though it would have been preferable if they could have made an appearance at midnight and not an hour earlier. Guess it must be extremely difficult to try and satisfy everyone but if you are with friends and prepared to make allowances, this helps to gloss over certain aspects. Other than New Years Eve, the Hotel arranged a variety of other sessions for the coach parties which were all O.K. Hotel well situated for the sea front and a fairly easy walk into Bournemouth for the shops and gardens. Possibly a bit unfair to try and review the Hotel over a hectic holiday period but, whilst we would not rush to make another booking at Queens, we would not write it off. Should also add that my partner enjoyed the hotel swimming pool.

Room Tip: From our experience it would sem preferable to try and avoid the first floor rooms, especially those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

The Hotel was popular over the New Years period; in fact the whole of the Christmas season has seen many guests celebrate with us. I am pleased that the team contributed successfully to your enjoyment.

I am pleased your partner enjoyed the leisure facilities.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss any of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hotel very nice Bedroom was warm,clean with tea and coffee replenished everyday. Meals were excellent and there was a good choice. Entertainment every night was also good . New Year's Eve was excellent with an Elvis Presley lookalike. Overall the whole trip was very good. Apart from the squeaky floor boards would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front on second floor and it was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilacjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

Thank you for your kind words that I have passed on to the team.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss any of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Booked the Queens for New Years Eve 3 night stay but checked out after 2. There were 3 coach parties staying at the time and resources were stretched to the limits. Food was cold on occassions and on others ran out and had to wait some time for more to arrive. Our first room was small and shabby and when we moved to a slightly better room on the 4th floor we had to put up with the noisy lift !
The staff i must say were friendly and helpful on all occassions.
Our shower was slow and intermittent and we had no hangars at all on arrival .
The entertainment for New Years Eve was bad with a bag piper playing for half an hour at 10pm.Surely 1 tune at midnight would have been enough.
Needs an update in rooms and management i feel.
Wouldnt go back im afraid.
On a plus good location for stroll to beach and staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Hard to say we had noisy room near lifts. And friends had a big room which was extremely hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank curtbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

I am sorry that the first bedroom was not acceptable, but I am happy that the front office team arranged for a more appropriate bedroom. I am disappointed that the food temperature has been highlighted. The quality and service of meals has always been and I have every confidence it will continue as one of our strengths.

I have passed your kind words about the customer service to the team.

Entertainment is subjective, which is why the New Years Eve performance of Elvis was augmented by a Scottish Piper and disco music. The Piper and Drummer played for around ten minutes after which several audience members shouted out requests, before Elvis recommenced for his second set.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss any of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here a couple of days ago and enjoyed our stay despite the awful weather. The room was lovely despite the size of the bed am sure it was made for midgets. The bar also closed early despite there being people in the bar area which was a shame as we wanted more drinks, we felt we were in the way of the bar staff going home. We have not experienced this before as we have stayed here many times over the last year. Breakfast was also cold which was not what we are used too from this hotel. Shame!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watts100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that the bar staff did not explain to you that we can serve drinks to residents through out the evening after opening an account.

I am disappointed to hear that breakfast was not at our usual standards; I can assure you this will not happen again.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss any of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Hotel staff excellent and food very good, but our stay was disrupted because of thin walls and creaky floors which kept us awake as we could clearly hear others talking. We know it's not the hotel's fault that people talk all night, but it would be better if we couldn't hear them or the floorboards.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiRay263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

I am sorry that you were disturbed in the evening. You should not have to experience this, and as such we do request that our guests are conscientious of each other.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss any of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,065 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,571 reviews
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $51 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superb privately owned AA 3 Star Bournemouth hotel boasts 109 en-suite rooms and deluxe suites. It is ideally situated in the heart of Bournemouth's East Cliff, only a short walk from the busy town centre where you can find the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), the Pavilion Theatre, family friendly pubs and restaurants that cater for all tastes. We are a few minutes walk away from Bournemouth's Blue Flag award winning, golden, sandy beaches and Bournemouth Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing