We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“entertainment needed”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #55 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
South Staffordhshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“entertainment needed”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This was out first stay at the Queens. On the whole it was lovely. Our room was perfectly clean quite big with the added bonus of a balcony so we sat outside in the sunshine. The evening meal was superb. Beautifully cooked, presented and served, and a very good selection. All of the staff were polite and efficient.
The breakfasts for us were disappointing. We are "old school". We like to be served. Whilst we dont mind helping ourselves to cereals, standing doing your own toast is too much like being at home, and bacon and egg is never as good when its been standing a dish for a time.
The other disappointment was no entertainment at night, so after dinner we had to walk down the east cliff to one of the other hotels to find a bit of live music.
To sum up, for evening meal, leisure and room, this almost equals a four star, but we have had better breakfasts in 2 star

Room Tip: rooms on frot first floor have balcomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

Thank you also for your kind words about the high quality of the bedrooms and the excellent standard of food. I have passed this on to the team.

At breakfast we offer the choice of self service should this be required or alternatively we will serve any items. The restaurant team are on hand to help. I am sorry they did not assist you more fully.

We do have a wide selection of entertainers in the Hotel. I am sorry that we did not have any live entertainment over the duration of your short stay.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    358
    332
    204
    197
See reviews for
246
476
77
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Very good last minute deal, tremendous value with heated basement pool and spa etc all free, parking, excellent location in Bournemouth and pleasant staff. Don.t understand why they provide very poor beds.

Room Tip: Rm 117 is too noisy. Check beds first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triplehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

Many congratulations for being one of the lucky ones to benefit from a last minute special offer. Thank you also for listing some of the facilities that you enjoyed during your holiday.

I am sorry to hear about the bed. Rest assured if this had been reported to the Duty Manager we would have endeavoured to remove it and provide a mattress more to your liking. However, thank you for brining it to my attention now.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Thank you Queens Hotel for a lovely stay. People are very quick these days to write in and complain and not so fast to say well done and thank you.

The welcome was first class from a friendly receptionist which is a credit. Also it was nice being called by my name rather than referred to as a number. The bedroom was spacious and clean. The food... well, dinner was excellent with plenty of choice in a grand restaurant. While breakfast was self service and cooked well.

There are leisure facilities in the form of a gym and indoor pool, but we did not use them, but they looked OK.

I would recommend the hotel to others and I will be returning again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

This is a splendid review which I am very proud to receive. We do aim to use guests’ names, thank you for highlighting this. Thank also for recommending the cuisine.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed at the end of August and found that The Qeens Hotel is a nice place for a short getaway. The room was nice and the bed comfortable (pillows especially). Breakfast had a good choise. We used the Swimming pool and Sauna and enjoyed our stay a lot!
Would come back again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RV22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

I am pleased you found the bed comfortable and enjoyed the variety we offer at breakfast.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Having suffered the stress of the local Travelodge we found this hotel at a time when we almost abandoned our 43rd Wedding Anniversary celebration.
The breakfast was superb, and the evening meal even better!
The Staff were very welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

I am so sorry to hear of the problems caused by another Hotel in Bournemouth. Thank you for finding us and choosing to stay during such a special occasion.

Thank you for your kind words, which I have passed on to the team. I am absolutely delighted that we could contribute to you enjoying your anniversary.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Pleasant stay - helpful, friendly staff, excellent food - BUT the ramps up to the front entrance are for wheeling luggage ONLY! We were told that disabled guests must NOT use them to go up/down in wheelchairs or mobility scooters or even on foot as they are TOO SLIPPERY & DANGEROUS! There seems little point in having them if ALL guests have to use the steps - I suspect they are only there so that the "Hotel has ramps" box can be ticked!

Room Tip: All rooms are different - but not all have opening windows. Check this out if fresh air is important...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobblenoseWarwicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the excellent levels of customer service and magnificent food. I have passed your kind words on to the team.

The front ramps are able to be used by disabled guests visiting the Hotel. I have seen mobile scooters and wheel chair users utilise this facility. Naturally, because they are a ramp and they do have a gradient, a certain amount of care must be given. Thank you for identifying this. However, our policy is to always offer assistance and a member of the team is available to help should any of our guests require.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Having read some of the reviews here I booked with some trepidation through Late Rooms, warning my husband that it might be a bit basic. Nothing was further from the truth! On arrival the staff were extremely welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We were given a room on the first floor, quite near the bar but this wasn't a problem. The room was delightful and had been refurbished to a very pleasant standard. It was also very clean, as was the spacious and lovely en-suite. The shower was powerful, a joy. We dashed straight down to enjoy a swim and found the pool delightful, not too small at all as some reviewers had said. It was only 4 foot deep but that is not really a problem, you can swim easily. The sauna and steam room were an added bonus.

We would have liked to have had dinner but unfortunately the restaurant closed at 8.30 p.m. and there was not enough time. The menu looked appetising and a three course dinner at £22.00 was very reasonable. We did have breakfast the next morning, and could not fault it with a huge choice at the buffet. Very good quality. All in all a super break and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmareEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

Although it is our intention and we do try our hardest, we cannot seem to please everyone all of the time. There are occasionally some guests who unfortunately choose to not wanting to be satisfied and are determined to not enjoy their trip and I am sorry that you and other readers of Trip Advisor have had to encounter this.

It is a pleasure and very rewarding that you enjoyed the Hotel and its facilities, along with noting the excellent levels of customer service. I have passed these kind words on to the team.

The last orders in the restaurant are 8.30pm, but we do offer a 24 hour bar snack menu. All the food we have available is brilliant quality, thank you for commenting about this.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
120 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,968 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superb privately owned AA 3 Star Bournemouth hotel boasts 109 en-suite rooms and deluxe suites. It is ideally situated in the heart of Bournemouth's East Cliff, only a short walk from the busy town centre where you can find the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), the Pavilion Theatre, family friendly pubs and restaurants that cater for all tastes. We are a few minutes walk away from Bournemouth's Blue Flag award winning, golden, sandy beaches and Bournemouth Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing