We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graduation visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed at the Cumberland Hotel for our granddaughter's graduation from BU. We found the hotel warm and friendly and the staff were all absolutely delightful and there was a very happy atmosphere. The building is in the Art Deco style; there are several different places to sit and meet friends all in that same style of décor. Our bedroom was 211 - a glorious room with a huge bed and a balcony looking out over the sea. I had the best night's sleep ever. Other members of our family had bedrooms that were not as spacious as ours but all were spotlessly clean.
We had breakfast - buffet style - and dinner - waitress service - and both were excellent.
I would recommend this hotel very warmly and if you are lucky enough to get room 211 you'll see what I mean. MorningsideJill

Room Tip: If you like to watch the changing seascapes choose room 211
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Morningsiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanNell, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear 2Morningsiders,

Thank you for your review. Glowing review regarding the hotel and pleased your experience was an enjoyable one.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,254 - 2,260 of 3,652 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

Apart from the pool being too cold in the sister Hotel next door I cannot fault this Hotel and its staff they are polite helpful very attentive food great rooms spotless décor great lighting wonderful all about attention to detail here had a few nights and what a joy!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room its well worth it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlesworth100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear charlesworth100,

Thank you for your review. Great compliments regarding the hotel. Great to hear your experience was enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is my third visit to the Cumberland hotel for afternoon tea. Staff were very attentive and were very willing to assist in anything you wanted and the food was lovely, especially the pastry and cakes. Had an enjoyable relaxing afternoon with friend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Jane D,

Thank you for your review. Such great compliments regarding your afternoon tea.

We hope you'll visit again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Staff very polite,helpful and welcoming. Room was very big, comfortable bed, very clean and well presented. Breakfast was good. Fantastic value for money. Noisy from the room adjacent bathroom

Décor is very bling and a bit cheap and tasteless but I guess trying to be art deco themed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMR1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear DMR1961,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear your experience was enjoyable.

Please visit again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations in more ways than one. Our room was clean and spacious, staff were friendly and attentive and the food was amazing in both restaurants. Best of all was the décor - if you're a fan of Art Deco, then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Sea views would be amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lev01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear lev01,

Thank you for your review. Awesome review, thank you.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

My date of visit is actually December 2011. As friends ditched me for night out I decided to book a single room. Some search ended up with this hotel an I booked a single room. I loved the view of the beautiful beach. The cosy bed just made it perfect. £29 for B&B was awewome. I had to wait till 2pm to get my room so it wasn't that great. Another thing that annoyed me was the bathroom door. I still have the post card with me with the picture printed. The morning breakfast was amazing. Proper full English breakfast. I loved the arrangement of the buffet that I implemented the same at my workplace. The flow was perfect..
It was my first experience to spend a night solo...but I am glad I did it.... thank you

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
4  Thank SaurabhSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear SaurabhSal,

Thank you for your review. Glad your solo night had such a positive impact. Great feedback, thank you.

We hope you will visit again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Had a great time at this hotel we went for the weekend they had a faulty tower night the food was very good and the breakfast was excellent I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Bournemouth the hotel entertainment was very good looking forward to going back

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raymond748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear raymond748,

Thank you for your review. We have had such great positive feedback from our Fawlty Towers weekend. Great comments, thank you.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,108 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $60 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing