We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good break away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good break away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Booked one night at this hotel, excellent value for money, lovely position on cliff very pleasant walk down to the pier, dinner and breakfast was lovely great choice for the evening meal and all staff were very polite and helpful. We had lovely sunshine and found it easy to get around.

We will certainly return. Thank you to all staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathyd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Cathd4,

Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable time with us.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,719
    1,079
    333
    126
    75
See reviews for
611
1,580
128
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Have not visited the Cumberland for many years and was very pleasantly surprised how attractive the ground floor has been updated in the Art Deco style. We were there for 2 nights to visit my granddaughter who is at Bournemouth University and to see some friends. However Room 405, for which we paid extra, and which was described as " Executive", was a little disappointing. It looked good in the daylight, with a sitting area and balcony with sea view, but in the evening the lighting was poor, to the point that I could not actually see what clothes I had in the wardrobe when changing to go out! The radiators did not work and the hotel had to supply a fan heater. The bathroom was in need of a little updating and there was no bathmat supplied so I was afraid of slipping in the shower which is over the bath. However the staff were very helpful and tried to put these things right.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Sheila H,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay, and you found the staff to be helpful. That is what we are here for. I am sorry that you found 405 disappointing, and your comments are noted and will be investigated. Rubber bath matt's are readily available at request.

I hope this does not deter you from choosing the Cumberland again, and we look forward welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

What a great hotel, the staff are first rate, nothing was a problem, the restaurant very well run with excellent food and good choices on the menu, my compliments to the chef. The rooms were very tastefully decorated, and, as lovers of Art Deco we found the whole experience first rate, long may it continue. Great value for money. We will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side overlooking the sea are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoopybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear snoopybrook,

Thank you for your review. Great comments regarding the hotel and its staff. Just great to hear.

Thanks for the superb review.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was our 4th visit this year to this lovely hotel. We booked for a couple of days away, just to walk into Bournemouth, do a little shopping and have a relaxing lunch. We were so lucky with the weather as it was a lovely warm sunny couple of days. As for the weather at night, it was heavy rain and very strong winds. But who cares as we were watching the outside from the bar!

What we look for in a hotel is a friendly welcome, nice clean room, good food and comfortable bed! This is exactly what you get at the Cumberland! Every member of staff greets you with a friendly smile and hello. We had a lovely sea facing room with a balcony (thank you!). As for the evening meal, it is plain to see why the hotel recently won an award for it's food. My wife and I enjoyed a lovely 3 course evening meal and I had to struggle with the Bread & Butter Pudding with Custard! (Really, I did!) Lovely friendly waitress at dinner, from Rome Italy.

All in all, very friendly, good food and great value for money. As Arnie Schwarzenegger said in one of his films, "I'll be back!".

Room Tip: Sea facing room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Norman-B,

Thank you for your review. Your comments regarding the hotel and food are fab. Chef's portions are just, well lets just just say if you're on a diet, best you you skip the meals.

Thanks for great review, and we look forward seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We arranged our 1 night stay using Travel Zoo voucher (£69 dinner,bed & b'fast). What excellent value , if the offer is still available I would recommend it to anyone. The Hotel and staff were excellent and made our stay very relaxing even it was only one night. Will look for further offers so as to go back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank biffdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear biffdorset,

Thank you for your review. Great comments, thank you. The Travelzoo campaign was hugely successful for us, and have welcomed many new patrons to the hotel. We are pleased that you found the experience enjoyable, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at this great hotel for two nights visiting our granddaughter who is at Bournmouth university what a great stay.From the moment we arrived the staff could not be more helpful.We had booked on line and our allocated room was rather small so we managed to upgrade for an extra payment which was worth every penny room 208 was great..the food was excellent also the cleanliness we had dinner at the hotel which was also extreamly good fresh hot and good choice.We would certainly stay again.Thankyou to ALL the staff we could not fault anyone or anything.

Room Tip: We paid to upgrade to room 208 sea views spacious and quiet would recommend .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Jennifer C,

Thank you for your review. Your comments are just great. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and we look forward welcoming you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here on a one night DBB deal.

Quick, easy check in though receptionist did not mention that we needed to book a table for dinner(not a prob though as fortunately we checked in time!)

We were able to park in the hotel car park free of charge which is a huge bonus for Bournemouth.

All staff were pleasant.

Unfortunately this is where my positives end.

Whilst the public rooms have been refurbished to a high standard, the bedroom leaves much to be desired.
We upgraded to a superior sea view room. Yes, we has a balcony which I was determined to make the most of between the showers, but.......

The bathroom needs to be gutted and refurbished with a shower in place of the bath. The shower attachment was only able to be reached by anyone over 6 feet! No toiletries which is unusual nowadays.

Bedroom furniture was old and desparately in need of updating. Whilst there is one wall of 'modern' wallpaper, this was somewhat spoilt by the television cable trunking fitted
as an afterthought.

The rug looked grubby as did the two 'comfy' chairs and stool.

Soundproofing was poor and we could hear the occupants of the room above seemingly parading all night!! Though not the hotels fault we were accommodated below insomniacs!

It's a shame that so much time and money has been put into the 'downstairs' refurbishment and our supposedly 'superior' room was very disappointing.

Dining was satisfactory though I must admit was rather akin to a cruise experience--mass catering delivered at speed from the kitchen on trays ready for despatch to the diners.

In fact I think this stay was similar to my experience of a minicruise. If you like cruises then give this hotel a try---if not then maybe this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripper1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Tripper1984,

Thank you for your review. Your comments regarding the staff and hotel downstairs are great.
I am sorry you were disappointed with the 'upstairs'. We do have bathroom toiletries, we offer body wash and shampoo combined. This is attached to the wall. If I knew the room number, we could investigate the other issues you had regarding the bedroom.

Also my apologies for the insomniacs. If I could just quote our mission statement that is publicized on our website, as yes the ground floor of the hotel is very chic:
'We offer good quality, comfortable, 3 star hotel rooms. The standard of the public areas, dining options, facilities and services are often likened to a 5 star hotel.'

I hope that your experience does not deter you in trying us again, and if you wish, you can contact me or one of the management team and we will gladly manage your booking.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#39 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing